We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in a unit overlooking the river. Lovely views and ample lawn for the kids to play on. The camp itself is looking really good and one can see that management are paying attention to the small details that often get overlooked. Staff were efficient and friendly. We really enjoyed having a coffee on the beautiful deck at the Mugg and Bean restaurant, overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river directly is lovely
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PorterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
There are newer reviews for Lower Sabie Restcamp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed in a bungalow overlooking the river. Great views of the river and we were able to see hippo. Magical place. The bungalows are maintained very well and have all the facilities required. Check in staff were wonderful and ensured our friends were right next door to us.

The area is very well looked after and tidy. Braai (bbq) areas right outside the door. All that you need in the kitchen for self catering. Very comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Stayed in bungalow BG2.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in a brand new bungalow (76) which had hot plates, microwave, braai area, utensils & fridge. The trick with all the rest camps are to check before you book - the website can lack information especially with a rest camp like Lower Sabie which is currently undergoing upgrades to their existing accommodation...some bungalows offer only the bare necessities which is reflected in the room rate. The shop is fully stocked with food & disposable utensils plus the restaurant (Mugg & Bean) is situated on the Lower Sabie river with a huge deck overlooking the river - hippos & leopard spotted while we were there. Booked a morning walk which turned out being the best encounter with lion I have ever had! Came across a pride of lion which had 19 cubs! Saw a few rhinoceros & had very knowledgable guides - Citi & Travis. Highly recommend this rest camp although it can get insanely busy during school holidays with day visitors entering through the Crocodile Bridge gate 30km away i.e. stay away during the day!

Room Tip: Bungalows 85-75 & 23-15 have fantastic views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this camp. It is a lovely spot and the view from the restaurant area in particular is stunning. Every aspect exceeded our expectations and our accommodation overlooking the river (and an easy walk along the fence to the restaurant) was everything we hoped for. On the Sunset Drive we had a great trip with a very good driver/guide who gave excellent descriptions of aspects of interest with regard to the bird and animal life we were fortunate enough to see. It was a great experience overall which we loved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lower Sabie Restcamp benefits from a fantastic location on the Sabie River bank. We had very basic accommodation - even though we booked about 5 months in advance - without kitchen facilities and shower or toilet.

We were very fortunate that the restaurant had just been renovated - and the renovation has been very well done indeed. They server good food here - and you can also be very decent coffee or cappucino here.The rstaurant offers fantastic views on the river.

One of THE things to do here is to go to the Sunset Dam, 40 seconds away from the gate, just before sunset and enjoy the views and animals.

All in all - for us, with the renovated restaurant - one of the best camps in Kruger Park.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and choose a bungalow or hut with river view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in tent no 9 in early June 2014. It wasn't the tent we requested and was set in the bush with no view but did have a lot of birdlife around. It is quite close to Sunset Dam and each evening (4) the Baboons moved through . The fridge was in a cage and we locked the cage as well. There was a notice about the Baboons. They managed to open the fridge of a nearby tent through the cage as the fridge door opened on the same side as the cage,unlike ours. The tent was comfortable but chilly at night and the sounds of Hippos at Sunset Dam were nice to hear at night. The outside kitchen was well equipped and a braii was attached to the small deck. We did have to put the deck's blind down in the afternoon as the sun was really hot and a little bat flew out of the folds so we were careful to roll it up so that the bat had a home when it returned. The bathroom was very clean and was tiled.
The food at Mugg and Bean was very good quality and varied and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussietraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After our first visit last year, with a bad experience with the baboons, we again decided to stay in one of the tents at Lower Sabie. We were prepared for the baboons this time, but unfortunately no warning signs or notices anywhere to be found, like last year. Other camps in the park do a better job, when it comes to this. The tent and bathroom were clean. The restaurant, a Mug & Bean, was open. Staff at the reception was friendly. This was the only camp with a refurbished restaurant that was open fortunately. Last year we didn't think the food was that bad at all, but this year we can absolutely say the food was great! Staff still unsecure, but very pleasant and friendly. We've never seen a restaurant in the park as busy as this one. We were pleasantly surprised that the sunset gamedrive was done by the same guide as we had two years ago at Olifant Rest Camp. We had a really good gamedrive then, and we had a really good gamedrive now. He's really trying to find the animals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid_en_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
467 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
23.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#48 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#132 of 175 in Kruger National Park
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £87 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing