We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping - Lower Sabie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
Certificate of Excellence
Ventersdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Camping - Lower Sabie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We camped in Lower Sabie for 3 nights. The ablution facilities are clean and looked after. Stand is a bit more private than in the rest of the Park. The change of the restaurant to a Mug and Bean was the best move the Park could have done. The verity of animals to see around Lower Sabie is great and you can see the big 5 in one day if you're like. The shop is well stocked and there are fresh products available daily. The staff is friendly and helpful. We went on a Night- and Moring drive. It is worth the money to do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tienie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    235
    102
    40
    16
See reviews for
117
294
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lower Sabie Rest Camp is in the south of the Kruger Park, on the banks of the Sabie River. We stayed in a safari tent on the edge of the camp (overlooking the river) for 1 night. Would have liked to stayed longer, but the camp was fully booked so we headed over to another camp the next day.

The accomodation is pretty good for a camp in the nature. The tent seemed well constructed and contained a bedroom with two single beds, a separate bathroom, and an outside kitchen + patio as well. On the patio there is a braai area which where we cooked a mail with supplies we got from the camp store. It was a nice way to end a long day of game-searching, dining outside while it is getting dark and you hear the wildlife coming alive around the camp. If you are really light sleeper, the hippo's will keep you up though.

Check-in at the campsite was fairly effortless. We got in just before gate closing time (18:00). We had payed the accomodation up front by creditcard (prices are not so expensive either) and only had to pay the conservation fees at the desk. We were able to pay the fees for our entire stay in Kruger at once (saving us from going through this routine again at the next camp). After that we got the key and a map of the campsite, and could drive to our tent.

as game-spotting and sleeping in do not really combine (to say the least) we got up at 5:00 AM, admired the sunrise from the patio, and were on our way by gate opening time at 5:30. As the reception is not open this earlier to check out, you can deposit your room key in a safebox near the gate, so this was well organized also.

For us game-viewing was particularly good in south Kruger, in the area around the camp we spotted all of the big 5 + loads of Zebra, Impala, Kudu, Hippo, wildebeast, crocs, and so on. Obviously whether or not you spot much game in a certain area has to with many factors, so it could be that we were just lucky. one of the most notable sights that morning was a troop of lions with their young hanging out about 5 meters from the road.

All-in-All we were very happy with the accomodation and location of Lower Sabie, and if we return to Kruger (and we will for sure, one day) we will try to stay in Lower Sabie again.

Room Tip: The Safari tents on the edge of the camp overlooking the river are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank J0epMeloen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in a unit overlooking the river. Lovely views and ample lawn for the kids to play on. The camp itself is looking really good and one can see that management are paying attention to the small details that often get overlooked. Staff were efficient and friendly. We really enjoyed having a coffee on the beautiful deck at the Mugg and Bean restaurant, overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river directly is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PorterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed in a bungalow overlooking the river. Great views of the river and we were able to see hippo. Magical place. The bungalows are maintained very well and have all the facilities required. Check in staff were wonderful and ensured our friends were right next door to us.

The area is very well looked after and tidy. Braai (bbq) areas right outside the door. All that you need in the kitchen for self catering. Very comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Stayed in bungalow BG2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in a brand new bungalow (76) which had hot plates, microwave, braai area, utensils & fridge. The trick with all the rest camps are to check before you book - the website can lack information especially with a rest camp like Lower Sabie which is currently undergoing upgrades to their existing accommodation...some bungalows offer only the bare necessities which is reflected in the room rate. The shop is fully stocked with food & disposable utensils plus the restaurant (Mugg & Bean) is situated on the Lower Sabie river with a huge deck overlooking the river - hippos & leopard spotted while we were there. Booked a morning walk which turned out being the best encounter with lion I have ever had! Came across a pride of lion which had 19 cubs! Saw a few rhinoceros & had very knowledgable guides - Citi & Travis. Highly recommend this rest camp although it can get insanely busy during school holidays with day visitors entering through the Crocodile Bridge gate 30km away i.e. stay away during the day!

Room Tip: Bungalows 85-75 & 23-15 have fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this camp. It is a lovely spot and the view from the restaurant area in particular is stunning. Every aspect exceeded our expectations and our accommodation overlooking the river (and an easy walk along the fence to the restaurant) was everything we hoped for. On the Sunset Drive we had a great trip with a very good driver/guide who gave excellent descriptions of aspects of interest with regard to the bird and animal life we were fortunate enough to see. It was a great experience overall which we loved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lower Sabie Restcamp benefits from a fantastic location on the Sabie River bank. We had very basic accommodation - even though we booked about 5 months in advance - without kitchen facilities and shower or toilet.

We were very fortunate that the restaurant had just been renovated - and the renovation has been very well done indeed. They server good food here - and you can also be very decent coffee or cappucino here.The rstaurant offers fantastic views on the river.

One of THE things to do here is to go to the Sunset Dam, 40 seconds away from the gate, just before sunset and enjoy the views and animals.

All in all - for us, with the renovated restaurant - one of the best camps in Kruger Park.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and choose a bungalow or hut with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#119 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
41.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#42 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Property: Lower Sabie Restcamp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing