We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice - loved it!”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect choice - loved it!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Entering Kruger from Orpen Gate we started seeing wildlife straight away. We thought Satara was a perfect choice of camp. The accommodation exceeded our expectations with everything we needed provided in clean, comfortable accommodation. We were impressed with every aspect and the Mug&Bean is certainly an asset if it suits to eat out. Also highly recommend the Sunset Drive as the driver/guide was excellent and very interesting. Prices were exceptionally reasonable as well - very unusual in other places around the world!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    312
    178
    56
    21
See reviews for
167
357
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Restaurant was very good had lots of options. We had a two person hut. They had a outdoor show going on that night that both adults and kids loved. Everything was super clean. Reception staff were fantastic. You could comfortable walk to all areas of camp. The morning walk was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Satara is a new camp in Kruger. The accomodiation rooms are clean and new. The trees and planted plants are small so inside of camp is not so green if you compare the other camps in Kruger. There is no river or lake wiew in the camp area so people eat only under the trees in the restaurant

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank demircanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been lucky enough to visit Kruger Park since 1995 and Satara remains by far my favourite rest camp.

Views may not be as spectacular from inside the camps as at Olifants and Lower Sabie, but once outside the camp gates, sightings are more plentiful and just as spectacular.

You are far enough from Skukuza that seeing other cars on the roads is less frequent - and as a consequence, unlike the Lower Sabie and Skukuza areas you do not spend a lot of time wasted in the logjam of traffic at every good sighting.

There is a greater variety of game to see at Satara and excellent and reasonably priced morning and night drives.

On my last visit, I commented that the accommodation had seen better days but is clean and comfortable - it is apparent over the last 18 months that there is a good programme of improvements ongoing to all public and guest facilities.

When told that food was now franchised to Debonnair Pizza and Mugg & Bean I wasn't sure how this would fit in to the homely feel of Satara Rest Camp but now whilst prices have risen, the quality of food and service also has.

In addition the camp shop has now doubled in size and is very well stocked.

Finally, thank you to Martin the Ranger for an excellent night drive.

Room Tip: Try to book a room by the camp fence - you wake up to wildlife almost outside your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
362 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We just stayed for one night at the Satara Rest Camp and also here the restaurant had just been renovated. It lacks the great views of Olifants or Lower Sabie rest camps.

Again reasonable accommodation. We used Satara in transit from Lower Sabie to Olifants Camp.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Satara Camp on our recent safari. There were three of us traveling together & we had a three person room. The rooms were fun, with an outdoor sink and cooking area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was clean & the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy8012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Satara. We were travelling with a group and were fortunate to have a roaring bonfire on the evening of our stay, which really added to the experience, as did our morning bush walk. The service in the restaurant wasn't too good which meals being mixed up and the service exceptionally slow. Our dinner was only luke warm by the time it was served. All in all a good experience in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
35.2 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
286 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing