We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple huts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Simple huts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

These were simple huts with soft mattresses and surprisingly not too cold at night. There were screens for bugs but one was broken. Despite being in a malaria zone, there were not many mosquitoes to be seen. We picked this camp due to its proximity to game. We did not hear any lions roar in the night but our lion sighting was close to the camp. The night ride, which was recommended to us, sadly lacked a lion sighting but we did see hippos, civets, jackals, porcupines, and rhinos. Of note, there was only a communal kitchen in our entire compound although we had our own grill to use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    292
    164
    53
    21
See reviews for
158
326
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

After spending 3 nights at Lower Sabie we were slightly disappointed when we arrived at Satara. The communal areas (gardens, reception etc) in the camp feel a bit "tired". Staff were efficient but not overly friendly. Staff at the car wash were extremely unhelpful and should rather give their jobs up for people who want a job! Pool and jungle gym area for the kids to play. Kids loved the open air movies every night. The Mugg and Bean was lovely. Their staff were well trained and friendly. Meals were great, and a stunning view of the waterhole was the cherry on the top. Well stocked shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PorterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our family spent two nights at Satara as part of a Kruger trip in July.
1. Game viewing - "Everyone says" that Satara is one of the best spots for game viewing and we agree! The landscape around Satara is more open than elsewhere in the park - in out two nights we saw lions, elephants, rhinos, jacket, buffalo, giraffes, zebras, wildebeest and lots of other smaller stuff.
2. Accommodation - We stayed a 5-sleeper family bungalow that was very spacious with a huge very well equipped kitchen, a nice big stoep to eat on. Overall comfy and clean.
3. Restaurant - The newly-opened Mugg and Bean had the same menu as everywhere else and was fine for a toasted sandwich in the morning.
4. Swimming Pool - even in July it was warm enough for my 3-year old daughter to swim one day in the well-maintained pool.
Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The five-sleeper bungalows are huge and very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHANNESBURG_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas texas usa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here two nights with teen son on month tour of Southern Africa. We loved this camp and stayed in one of the cottages which was spacious, comfortable and clean. Enjoyed both night and morning game drives offered through the main office, seeing leopard, lion, cheetah, hyena, and lots of other terrific game sightings. Our guides were exceptional on these drives. We had several good meals in the restaurants but evening meals were cooked in the well-equipped kitchen and braii of our cottage. By the way, we did not have reservations nor had planned to stay at this rest camp but our rental car broke down in the middle of an afternoon drive between camps and we had to be towed (by the kindest, most giving Australian couple) to Satara, the nearest rest camp, and we were graciously accomodated by the wonderful, kind staff here. Car rental company got the new car to us at this camp and off we went our African adventure. We loved visiting with all the great fellow travelers in the cottages near us, great communal feeling in the evenings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank prissyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I like Satara a lot - we had a bungalow with outdoor kitchenette (no oven, but there is a braai). It was spotlessly clean and as described on SanParks website. Great location for wildlife viewing. Everything was good!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have stayed here many times, previously camped which is ideal for kids growing up - especially if you get a spot right next to the fence - you can hear all the animals at night. We stayed in a 2 bedroom hut in section D of the rest camp. The hut had 2 bathrooms & a large kitchen with all the appliances & utensils you could need. The rooms were huge & clean. The staff were all super friendly & we had a filling breakfast at the newly built Mugg & Bean. A previous reviewer said that this camp is 'new'...it's actually been around for many years (I've been coming for 30 years & my parents for over 50 years!), it's not on a river but this is perfect for attracting antelope to the open plains where the big cats come to hunt. We saw 2 immature lion & leopard in the space of an afternoon near Satara. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Section D was great or if camping book a spot on the fence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Satara Rest Camp in June. Once in D and once in E. Night reverberated with lion roars when we were in E. Saw Hyena (not to mention Impala, Kudu, Zebra, Giraffe, wildebeest) right around the camp. Both bungalows in D and E worked well. D once looked newer and the shower/toilet were very new. All worked are expected.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
43.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
67.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#78 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#124 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#45 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#50 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
140.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Property: Satara Rest Camp
Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing