We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Satara Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Satara Rest Camp
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We travelled to Satara for a day visit. We did not visit this part of the park before and was looking forward to it. The view of the waterhole and the animals there, were great.But this is as far as it goes.We ordered breakfast and was terribly disappointed. My children did not touch their burgers and my breakfast was just awful. The mushrooms tasted days old and the bacon looked so un appertising. The service was appalling. This is the kruger park. Surely the standard should be very high considering we are gearing up for 2010. I love the park and have visit on many occasions. we have no complaints about Skukuza and Lower sabi. But Satara, I dont think I would want to visit you again. While we were on holiday at Hoedspruit we ate a lovely restaurant called the Safari club at the Raptors View Estate. The service and the food was exemplary. Someone at management level should visit the establishment and take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
There are newer reviews for Satara Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed in one of the small cabins in Satara and found it to be clean and accomodating. Compared to the canvassed tent from the previous night it was downright luxury. The kitchen it outdoors, but the cabins are in a circle around a large courtyard where plenty of others are cooking and grilling, and since the camp is fenced you have little chance of animals bothering you.

Although areas south of the camp might be a little better for wildlife viewing, this camp is still a great location and we saw rhino, hyena, a jackal, and many other animals within very close proximity to the camp. The water hole nearby had more animals than we saw anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Would recommend like my other two camps we stayed in. Very affordable and clean, friendly people. Good area to see Lions, Cheetahs and also Wild Dogs.

Good facilities and great cheap price, if on a budget you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
Thank aussiescotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

Satara Camp, 30 September 2008
Satara camp area is one of the best game viewing areas I've even been to in South Africa (and I've been to many!). Just a few km outside of Satara we stopped at a waterhole where we could admire lions, giraffes, zebra, elephants, wildebeest and kudu. Amazing stuff! When arrived the camp, we were given lovely chalets with ensuite bathrooms. It was quite basic but one goes to Kruger to see wild animals and not so much stay in luxury. The food in the restaurant is served in buffet style and was ok. The food in all Kruger restaurants in pretty much the same. In the evening it's worthwhile to go and have a look close to the fence because you'll have a chance to see leopards close by, as we did. We also saw upclose an elephant. Good to have the fence! After a good night rest, we enjoyed breakfast in the camp's restaurant. One can choose from a menu or have the buffet again. I choose to have the Greek breakfast with feta, scrambled eggs and pita bread. Very well presented but a bit much for me.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Satara rest camp has a camping / caravan site and also accommodation in rondavels which are arranged in circles of about 25 rondavels per circle.
Each rondavel has a microwave, fridge, cutlery, crockery.
The only problem we encountered was, we arrived after dark and we were given a map of the park and a cross on the map to tell us where our hut was located.
Unfortunately, the park is not lit at night and very poorly sign-posted....so it took us 20 very frustrating minutes to locate our accommodation.
Accommodation is adequate

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Satara serves the purpose- cheap, clean bed, clean linens and prime location. Though we didn't hear a single lion roar at night or spot predators near the camp, we were quite happy with our stay. Our bungalow had a kitchennete with fridge. Satara rest camp has a cafeteria that opens at 7am.
We took the evening game drive- it was nothing great. The park service driver/ranger barely gave us any information and was no help whatsoever when we spotted animals. After seeing private game drives, the Kruger game drives are very ordinary- but its good value for price.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
2  Thank YpsiRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2005

The dawn/morning game drives are much warmer and allow you to see baby lions while the parents are still out hunting. All meals are buffet style, and the round individual thatched rooms/huts are great for 1-2 but too small for 3 adults. Most beds are meant for only 1 person, and bathrooms are small, but the huts are arrnged in circle camps and have great trees. Each includes a refrigerator and an outside bbq grill.

A new birding area/oasis on the way from the rooms to the main section is filled with hanging bird's nests, and the grounds are filled with hopping hornbills. The evening game drives are very cold, so bring extra blankets (they sell out early, so try to make reservations in advance). Ask if you can bring extra lights, as only one is attached to each truck. Ask your guide to talk a lot, or it's a long, quiet ride.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LDSPd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
41.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
67.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#131 of 175 in Kruger National Park
51 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#55 of 175 in Kruger National Park
306 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#44 of 175 in Kruger National Park
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satara Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satara Rest Camp

Address: | 48 km from Orpen Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £67 - £811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satara is a busy camp, and not without reason. It is situated in an excellent game viewing area, with the bush relatively open and the animals plentiful and diverse. The camp itself has a rustic charm, with the bulk of the accommodation set out in a series of circles. Satara is well wooded and the bird-life is prolific. At night the clink of fruit bats is fused with the chirping of cicadas and crickets. The calls of owls and nightjars add to the symphony that is punctuated intermittently by the whoop of hyena, the screech of jackal and the roars of lion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Satara Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing