We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Tinga Legends Lodge in January 2012 for four nights. I am a jaded New Yorker who has traveled the world (all 7 continents), but Tinga Legends is honestly the most wonderful place I've ever stayed. The chalet, with its completely private deck and plunge pool and its ultra-luxurious bathroom, was spectacular. Mosquitoes were surprisingly not a problem at all (we never saw any), but our bed was still draped in a billowy net every night, which only added to the romantic atmosphere. We also both got great massages on our deck. The food was plentiful but also high-quality with the menu changing every day; my favorite dish was the impala loin. One night, the staff even surprised us with a candle-lit dinner on our own deck after we got back from our evening game drive. And speaking of the game drives, they were fantastic. Our ranger, Alfred, was extremely knowledgeable, and taught us so much about the animals we saw (we saw all of the Big 5) but also about South African culture, politics, etc. Once day I mentioned that I hoped to see hippos up close, so he grabbed his rifle and took us on a private walk to the river, where we saw so many. In addition to seeing animals on the game drives, we saw many vervet monkeys scampering about the lodge, and elephants strolled right by our chalet one afternoon. Every night, a guard escorts you to your chalet after dinner, just in case there are any animals lurking about, and one night, there were actually hyenas on the elevated walkway. Overall, the whole experience was so unforgettable. And I cannot recommend Tinga Legends highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyorker1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    23
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
92
196
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at Tinga from 12/22/11 - 12/26/11 as part of a Tauck tour. Upon departure we realized that our in-room safe had been broken into - cash taken & credit card numbers stolen (thanks VISA for the fraud alert!!). Many others in our group had the same experience. Apparently it was an inside job as there was no indication that the safes had been tampered with. We understand that Tinga is now in the process of upgrading security. Until we realized we were victims of theft we had a fabulous time at Tinga. I hope they are able to determine which staff members were involved. It's disheartening to think that perhaps the guide & tracker we liked so much could have been involved in stealing from us. Only other negatives - bugs, bugs, bugs (I suppose should be expected), air conditioning that couldn't keep up, an absolutely filthy plunge pool that remained so even after we requested it be cleaned.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same. Some are quite a walk from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 0Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Leuenberger, Manager at Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hi Karen and Trip advisor Readers

We would like to thank you for your honest review of our property. The Credit card Theft issue at Tinga during your stay has been a severe blow to Tinga Game Lodge and we have since made changes on how we operate.

Three Staff members who were suspected for being involved with this incident have been removed including one in a management role. It saddens us to know we had criminals working amongst us and we are relieved that we have managed to identify the few rotten individuals. We have some incredible people at Tinga as you have experienced for yourself and are very proud of our stellar crew.

Our room safes have been removed and we are currently using a centralized safe based in the Front Office to store guests valuables. Only one individual has access to the keys to the safe. This system is widely used by hotels and game lodges worldwide and we feel that Guest’s valuable property will be 100% safe going forward.

Theft at our Lodges is simply an unacceptable practice and we have had this challenge as a #1 priority over the past few months and will continue to be vigilant in the year ahead, particularly during tough economic times, such as the Great Depression. Success in this regard is a non-negotiable, as it protects Guests’ property and ensures that their memories of stunning Tinga are positively unforgettable but also it ensures all the honest, good staff at Tinga are protected too!

We sincerely apologize for the distress caused by this incident and can assure you we have done our utmost to stop this from happening to any of our guest again. Please contact us should you need any more information (Nick@tinga.co.za)

Regards

Nick More
Tinga Director

and

Nick Leuenberger
Tinga Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent our last 3 days of our honeymoon there and it was beautiful. The good was out of this world and they never stopped feeding you! It was amazing. The room was stunning, and whatever you do u must use your private plunge pool. It was nippy when we were there so they heated it for us. It was great... Sipping wine and looking at the Sabie River. What an experience.

It's an all inclusive stay except the stuff in your room. Just as an FYI.

The only negative comment I have is that we were disappointed about the safari aspect. It's not the resorts fault but it's located in Kruger park and in Kruger you are not allowed to go off roading and you are on a tar road for a lot of the safari. Having done a safari in a private reserve all I can say is that when we go back to SA I will never do Kruger. Tinga does have a private concession area but it's not huge. There is talk about letting tinga guests use Sabi Sands priv reserve. If that happens then YES!! Tinga will offer not only luxury but great game viewing. All in all Tinga was one of the most beatuiful places to stay but falls behind on game viewing.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktoriatedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I was not very keen to go to the Kruger National Park, I did not know what to expect. I thought maybe we shall do just one game drive. From the moment we arrived at Narina Lodge we felt so welcome. I did not go to be impressed we were overwhelmed all our expectations was exceeded. At the end we went on all the game drives did not miss one, we saw plenty of game. The game ranger and spotter was very knowledgeable. My husband enjoyed a massage in the comfort of our own room. Made good friends with other patrons also staying at Narina. The last night was a highlight the boma that was set up in the veldt and we were joined by the guests of Legends lodge. A traditional barbeque was served and there was traditional dancers we experienced real bushveld hospitality in style. We never felt unsafe, it was a most enjoyable and relaxing stay. The rooms was of the best we have stayed in, my best travel experience by far.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was there for the second time now and can only say it's incredible. After staying in both lodges, I feel it doesn't make much of a difference, both are excellent. Maybe the likeliness of seeing the animals in front of your window is a little higher in Narina due to the Sabi river flowing just behind the lodge.
The obvious need for the daily Safari routine with one game drive in the (very) early morning and one in the afternoon, let's you immediately forget what you have left behind at home.
We have booked our stay through BushBreaks and saved a lot of money by doing so.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodBoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have traveled all over the world, and by far, have never had a better vacation! Tinga Legends was everything it said it was, and much much more! Game drives, accommodations, staff, meals far exceeded our expectations. The lodge and rooms were exactly as pictured and we received everything as promised. Saw the Big Five three times in three days! All I can say is that our experience was remarkable. The only negative - three nights was not long enough. Will definitely return and will plan a longer stay this time. Thanks to John at Lion World Tours - his service and that of Lion World are commendable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljjl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at Tinga Legends and had an absolutely wonderful stay. The lodge and the rooms are spectacular and the service was second to none!

This is a well hosted lodge making sure everyone is comfortable and happy. The staff was amazing, the food was great and the game drives were awesome.

We saw everything we hoped for and more.

We booked through Lion World Tours and would not hesitate to recommend them as they were on the ball!

We are very well travelled and consider this one of our best travel experiences ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
784 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#31 of 174 in Kruger National Park
555 reviews
13.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
443 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Property: Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Address: Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kruger National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Sands Tinga Lodge - along the Sabie River within the Kruger National Park - is subtle, sophisticated and serene with grand open spaces. The main areas are double volume, opening onto a wooden deck. With just 9 luxurious suites, each located in an utterly private spot overlooking the river, you are treated to the ultimate African luxury experience. Each of Tinga's suites has a bathroom with in-door and outdoor shower, separate lounge area with minibar, private plunge pool and deck, 24 hour air-conditioning and a range of luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinga Private Game Hotel Skukuza
Tinga Private Game Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing