We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must on ones "bucket list"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tinga Narina lodge for 4 nights in December to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. Staying at Tinga was by far the most magical holiday we have ever experienced. The weather was absolutely perfect and we spent afternoons lounging on our deck next to the pool while viewing the wild game on the spectacular Sabie river and listening to the peaceful sounds of the African bush.

From the moment we arrived at Tinga we were treated like royalty and what ever we needed someone was there to provide it to us with a smile. All the staff were very professional and friendly in attending to our every need.

The game drives were so much fun and we longed for each one. We were lucky enough to see the all the "Big 5" thanks to our excellent and knowledgeable ranger and tracker Alfred and Isaac. It was especially amazing to see a mating pair of leopards which we have never seen in all our years of travelling to the Kruger Park.

And then there was the food...oh the food...! Amazing food, we longed for each meal which was almost every couple of hours, you definitely wont experience hunger at Tinga. Each meal with starters, mains and desert was truly out of this world. Our taste buds were exploding with excitement with the variety of foods and tastes spread before us, like beautiful artworks. Especially amazing was the Impala kebabs and Gemsbok steak! Amazing!

Tinga was so tranquil, when we were in our suite we felt like the only people on the planet with all the wild sounds of the bush surrounding us.

Many thanks to all the staff at Tinga for a great job and an amazing holiday we will forever treasure in our memory banks!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have spectacular views of the river and are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. The staff were very attentive and treated us very well. The room was super with floor to ceiling windows and a view of the Sabi River. The meals were wonderful and we saw all the big animals just fee from our range rover. Our ranger and tracker were wonderful. Loved the outdoor dining at night. We had a fab barbeque dinner one night. the staff sang and danced for us. It was our anniversary and the chef prepared the best chocolate and butter cream cake I have ever had. The staff decorated our room with flowers and drew a bubble bath with roses in it. We were just amazed and delighted. It was the trip of a life time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank washashorecapecodma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Really enjoyed the stay here ... was treated royally ... always a warm 'welcome back'. Staff always attentive.
Would say the ranger is key here ... had Jono who was excellent ... He listened to the jungle; watched tracks and the bush ... saw 'big' animals 15 feet - 30 feet away ... elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hippos, water buffalo, lionesses ... enough for us.
Birds have history! plus owls & monkeys or baboons. Two drives per day 6am & 4pm. Private roads & off-road for big 5.
Room was sumptuous, expansive, appointed. Windows galore to the bush and river beyond. At night, no walking w/o staff.
Food ok or breakfast or salads .... can't say the same for dinner ... grilled meats no good ... too often burnt.
The animals are close and personal ... not a herd on the sengretti ... shhh, look around!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tinga Lodge (Legends) from Oct. 10/12 to Oct. 13/12. From the moment we checked in we were impressed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. A wall of sliding glass doors and windows allows you to view the Sabie River. There is also a large deck area with a plunge pool. The main lodge has two huge double-sided fireplaces with plenty of comfortable sitting areas. The meals were excellent in terms of quality and variety. In addition, the staff are exceptional. Now, for the important part, the game drives were unforgettable. Our ranger, Joe, was very knowledgeable and every drive was a learning experience. Not only did we see the “Big 5” but with the help of tracker, Chris, we also saw animals we had never heard of. The lodge was amazing and, thanks to Joe and Chris, the game drives were the experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed at both Narina and Legends lodges. Comparable to one another and both are very nice. Service was excellent. Disappointing game drive because, unlike truly private reserves (e.g., Mala Mala, Lion Sands), we had to stay on Kruger roads. The only game we could see we're those that came to us. Never saw a single lion, but saw elephants, leopards, etc.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Oceantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_Leuenberger, Manager at Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Hi There

First thank you very much for your honest feedback! We appreciate the comments and hoped you enjoyed your time with us at Tinga!

I apologize that you had the experience of driving on the public roads. During March we were still recoverig from the massive flood damage we had earlier in the year. The connecting Tinga bridge in the concession was damaged and our road network on the concession was seriously affected.

We have managed to repair all damage cause by the natural disaster.

Our regular game drives take place on the private concession exclusively and we do not drive into the public part of the Kruger National Park unless guest request a day trip into the park. Our vehicles have non roofs or sides and we are also able to go off road for key species.

Once again, thank you for your comments, it helps us deliver a better product to our guests.

Sincerely

Nick Leuenberger
Tinga Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Did not see a mosquito but lots of animals. Our ranger was Alfred, a celebrity of sorts, who was most informative. We got very close to the animals, within 25 feet in many cases which I found frightening (I hit the floor of the jeep on one occasion) although everyone else was okay with the closeness.This is a small game lodge, not bustling with people. Greeted with washclothes, hot water bottles and blankets in the morning. Antelope in back yard, splash pool. Good amenities, service. Lodges were spacious. Completely stocked bar included (how can they make money with that?) although I found the food lacking. Just a personal preference. I don't drink, but enjoy good food.

Room Tip: Ones closes to the main lodge are better. A ranger has to walk you to and from your room after dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I can't think of one thing that is not absolutely right about this place! We stayed in the Narina Lodge & it was slightly better than Legends. The food was fantastic, the Staff wonderful & obliging, the Game Drivers excellent. As for the "rooms" ... Superb...HUGE beds, ENORMOUS Bathrooms (with heated floors & baths by the window where you watch the animals pass right by), a very private Plunge Pool on your deck as well as an outdoor shower. The Lodge is literally in the Riverbed - you can throw the curtains open, lie in bed & watch the Elephants lumber past. Saw the Big Five on our first Game Drive. The Sundowner Cocktails & morning Coffee on the Drives were a hit! Hope to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
13.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
432 reviews
16.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#31 of 175 in Kruger National Park
584 reviews
33.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Address: Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kruger National Park
#2 Spa Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £1,143 - £1,514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Sands Tinga Lodge - along the Sabie River within the Kruger National Park - is subtle, sophisticated and serene with grand open spaces. The main areas are double volume, opening onto a wooden deck. With just 9 luxurious suites, each located in an utterly private spot overlooking the river, you are treated to the ultimate African luxury experience. Each of Tinga's suites has a bathroom with in-door and outdoor shower, separate lounge area with minibar, private plunge pool and deck, 24 hour air-conditioning and a range of luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinga Private Game Hotel Skukuza
Tinga Private Game Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing