We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

What a great place to stay. We stayed in the Narina Lodge, we were there 2 nights and would have loved to have stayed longer. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Beautiful accommodation and the setting was just great. With the animals so close, even had a leopard with a impala kill in a tree right at our walkway and elephants at our verandah. Recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    23
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
86
190
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This was probably the nicest place I'll ever stay in my life. The lodge is breathtaking-- we arrived on a rainy day, and the sight of the lodge with the misty river behind it was a memorable one. The rooms were top notch-- fantastic bathroom, can't beat the view while you're in the tub, in the shower or in your private plunge pool. Romantic mosquito net enclosed bedding, and comfortable leather furnishings throughout.
Food was quite good-- we had a vegetarian in our group and she got personal attention from the chef as to her dietary needs. One complaint as to the selection of wines-- complimentary wines included one red and one white-- a dismal selection in a country with such great and affordable wines.
Really enjoyed the safaris-- knowledgeable and personable guides. We took advantage of the walking safari and enjoyed a unique perspective on the African bush. The setting, however, right on the Sabi river was so amazing. Hippos calling all night long-- we even witnessed two males fighting for territory just off the main deck of the lodge. Guides stick around during the day and are keen on chatting with guests. I was impressed by how much the guides enjoy and appreciate what they do.

Overall a high-class lodge with a lot of attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannieschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Just spent a weekend at Tinga Narina with friends and business partners, wow what a fantastic time. I have been to Tinga a few times, and I enjoy every time as if it were my first.
The staff are fantastic and friendly and do their best to make you relax and regenerate.
The trackers and rangers are fantastic, I have spent a fair amount of time in the bush and have been to some places where the rangers do not have a clue, or assume that all guests are foreign and would not know better, not so at Tinga.
The rangers have extensive knowledge about the bush and are not fixated on showing you the big 5, there is so much more out there. A bush walk is always recommended, never, will you feel more at one with your surroundings, your feet on African soil, your ears abuzz with the sounds of the wild and your nostrils filled with the scent of the African bush.
Thank you all at Tinga, can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stayed at Tinga Game Lodge for two nights before spending another two nights at Selati Camp. Our experience at Tinga was not as satisfying as that at Selati. The staff seemed to be going through the paces trying to be welcoming but there was a stiffness that we detected. The problem may be that the property had just been bought by a nearby lodge the week before causing some unease in the people working at Tinga. We enjoyed our game experiences but did not like the fact that you occasionally see a car driving along the Kruger main road. Also at Selati they use more open vehicles, which allowed us to go off road and truly into the bush, sometimes mowing down some shrubs along the way.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

In February 2010 we were staying for three nights at the Tinga Private Game Lodge. It was a wonderful experience. A well suited wooden open main building tastefully furnished in an old colonial style. At a generously well designed and maintained lodge we had the comfort and privacy we were looking for. The place was absolutely well managed. Special attention was granted to us at any time and we very much appreciated the warm personal atmosphere. Not to forget the friendly and professionally organized game drives. To make it short, the stay at Tinga Lodge was all the money worth and we will come back whenever there is an opportunity. We may congratulate the entire team and wish it a long lasting good future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonatanHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Very nice, beautiful, clean, good, friendly, calm, relaxing, intresting, excellent, ..... just perfect!
No other comment. Nothing else to say.
Thank you very much to all the lodge staff and rangers for our best stay in South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We went to Tinga as it was recommende by a local friend as being a great place to see game in a short amount of time. The food and accommodation are fantastic and the setting is incredible. Our guides could not have been more helpful in looking for game we wanted to see and they were very successful. We saw numerous Lions, Leopards, Elephants from very close.

You also meet great people at a small lodge like Tinga.

It is expensive but not much more expensive than the less luxurious game parks.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howards_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
6.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
33.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
18.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge

Property: Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Address: Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Tinga Private Game Lodge)
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kruger National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion Sands Tinga Lodge - along the Sabie River within the Kruger National Park - is subtle, sophisticated and serene with grand open spaces. The main areas are double volume, opening onto a wooden deck. With just 9 luxurious suites, each located in an utterly private spot overlooking the river, you are treated to the ultimate African luxury experience. Each of Tinga's suites has a bathroom with in-door and outdoor shower, separate lounge area with minibar, private plunge pool and deck, 24 hour air-conditioning and a range of luxury amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinga Private Game Hotel Skukuza
Tinga Private Game Skukuza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing