We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Shonga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Shonga
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I visited Camp Shonga with my daughter and some other friends. The visit was all that I imagined and more. The tents are set up beautifully. The food is never ending. The tour guide (Sofiso) was engaging, friendly and knowledgeable. The staff was accommodating and flexible, and always made me feel safe.

Yes, there are flies and bugs, but you are in an isolated camp on safari, so it was nothing that we did not expect. The only issue we had was that it was too relaxing. There was no opportunity to burn off all of the calories that we were eating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grazemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    18
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at camp shonga and loved it! We saw so many elephants we stopped counting. Also hyenas, leopard, hippos, rhinos, zebras, giraffes, and monkeys right outside our porch! The room was beautiful and we especially enjoyed the "treehouse" deck and outside shower. Late September had great weather- no rain, temperatures in the high 70's low 80's. It wasn't yet green, but saw lots of animals. There are only 5 rooms so it always felt private. Food was great at all meals- Henry and staff were welcoming and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Thank you to all the kind staff at Camp Shonga! We had an great time and enjoyed every minute of it! Jaluka, our tour guide was excellent! Thank you for making our holiday a memorable one! R&J

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R777_J777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

My business partner and I stayed at Camp Shonga for 3 nights as a reward for hard work over the last 5 years. We were very lucky to be the only 2 people in the camp for 2 of the 3 days we were there. The setting is beautiful, very peaceful and secluded. The size of the camp means that you really feel as if you are away from everyday life. Whereas it is not as luxurious as some of the other 5-star lodges, it feels much more authentic. The rooms are fantastic, with an outdoor shower and your own private deck. The food was good and Hendri took great care of us. Sifiso, the guide, was exceptional - I hope his knowledge, insight and ability to work with people is noticed by the owners of the lodge. His customer service and ability to read people really stood out and made it such a great trip. He made us feel that it was a "real" experience, as opposed to being in a zoo where you can just order what animal you want to see - at the same time, he went out of his way to track game and, due to him, we had an amazing sighting of a leopard just as it was about to leave the road on one of the night drives.

If I could offer any constructive feedback about my experience at Camp Shonga, I would say the following: a little bit of a clean-up of the common areas would help, hot and better quality coffee would work for me, as well as a bigger selection of wine. They have only one white and one red wine, neither of which is fantastic.

However, all in all, a great experience and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safari-mad_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Camp Shonga for three nights in August and it was a fantastic experience. The people at Camp Shonga are really what made it so memorable for me. From our first greeting to our last farewell, the entire staff made sure we were well taken care of and thoroughly enjoying our stay. The meals were incredible and seemingly never-ending. The room was very comfortable and private. The game drives with our guide Sfiso were amazing. We had the luxury of being the only ones on three of our five game drives. Sfiso was very knowledgable and made an effort to find everything we wanted to see. In the end, we only had the leopard to check off our list and he went above and beyond to find one for us. Which he did! I was actually sad to leave because we met such wonderful people and had such an incredible time at Camp Shonga.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpls&beyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World-wide Traveller
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Luxury tent, from a bygone area with all the gimmicks (leather couch, gas open fire, outdoor shower, colonial bath tub)… OK, only problem is that plumbing needs some refurbishment and it is difficult to get warm water without boiling or freezing. But also give all your thanks to the thatched roof above the tent which keeps the temperature cool during the mid-day, and think about all the people who took a “real tent safari” and forgot that the tent is boiling under the sun. Food can be hit or miss, but breakfast is always superb. It is NOT a private reserve, but instead a concession within Kruger, so you are more in a real park than a glorified zoon. The price to pay (in order to keep the environment sound) is that if you see a leopard 200 meters away from the road, your driver will not drive into the bush – so take good binoculars with you, always! There are plenty of gravel drives so you can still explore all the way, and far away from the herds of tourists. You will likely see all the game, maybe a bit less than in the private reserves or in Masai Mara, but the bush remains a roulette, and this time I hit the jackpot as we saw a gang of lions after sunset killing and eating a poor wilderbeest – something quite exceptional!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLouisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We arrived at Camp Shonga within 36 hours of arriving in South Africa from America. We were looking for a relaxing safari in the African bush, but were treated to so much more. Who knew one could receive royal treatment on a safari. From the cooks to the staff and everyone at the camp, we send our greatest thanks to making our trip memorable and one of the greatest events of our lives.

Camp Shonga was accessible from JoBurg and we arrived in early evening with enough time to catch the evening outing with Simon, our guide for the next two days. Simon's knowledge of Kruger National Park and his passion for the habitat made our time with him and the other guests great. Simon was a wonderful safari host. We learned so much about him and his family that we experienced not only history of the park and its animals, but the history and culture of a native South African.

The camp staff was great, especially Golden. The hospitality he showed us made us feel like part of his family and truly felt like we were in his home.

I highly recommend Camp Shonga to anyone visiting SA.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
2.6 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#94 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
56.8 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
57.7 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#43 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#53 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Shonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Shonga

Property: Camp Shonga
Address: Shishangeni Lodge, Mpanamana Concession, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Shonga 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Shonga is situated in a 15 000ha private concession in the south-eastern section of the Kruger National Park. The borders of the Kruger Park reserve concession area are the perennial Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Camp Shonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Shonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing