We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best EVER outdoor adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best EVER outdoor adventure”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

From start to finish my experience at Lukimbi Safari Lodge at Kruger National Park was excellent. The management and staff were very accommodating providing top notch meals, lodgings and animal safaris. Aside from the safaris we were also provided with a wonderful setting and service in celebration of a 10th wedding anniversary.
My compliments to Zane, our ranger, and Norman, our spotter, for the amazing safari drives and for their knowledge and expertise. As an animal lover, I particularly enjoyed seeing the animals co-existing in their natural habitat. My unforgettable moments will consist of being only meters away from a pride of lions and the closeness to rhinos, giraffe, elephants, leopards, cheetahs, hippos, hyenas and water buffalo to name a few. I was astonished at their peaceful and non-aggressive nature as they 'went about their day'. Bird and reptile enthusiasts will also enjoy this trip. A great trip I will not forget. Congrats to Sean and Shelley, is it a boy or girl?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
188
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lukimbi offers high quality,exquisite meals, unique chalet accommodation, fantastic animal viewing and attentive, customized service. We spent our 10th anniversary at the lodge, whereby the we were treated to an extra special evening which will not be forgotten.
As well, I particularly enjoyed the optional walks to explore the area on foot but in the safety of the rangers accompanying us. Zane, Shaun and the team made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajarycaminando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Krueger's southern concession, Lukimbi Lodge, is a little jewel set closest to Johannesburg within a 5 hour drive from the airport. True, you can spring for an additional flight cost from Joburg to Kruger's Mpumalanga International Airport (KMI) on a small puddle jumper, but the drive takes you through a mosaic of landscapes ranging from the breadbasket of Mpumalanga to the mountainous forested regions as you approach Makelane. Once you've crossed the Crocodile River and enter through the Makelane gate, you're just a short distance away from this luxury resort set amongst all of the wildlife that Krueger park has to offer. And, what wildlife we were able to experience with the assistance of our lodge guide (Andrew) and tracker (James).

You might call it a charismatic megafaunal jackpot. In a single day in the confines of the concession's sector we were lucky enough to: rest with the rhino, a family unit of which the mother wasn't particularly eager to have us around as we confronted them off road in the early morning; watch a semi-courting ritual of two leopards (yes, I did say leopards) in a Marula tree not 20 meters from our vehicle; find the lone dugga boy, a Cape Buffalo who had moved past his prime and now is on his own; encounter a young, male elephant in musth along the roadway, dripping testosterone and wearing a darkened stripe on his face, the result of tearing from his temporal glands, always a sign of potential aggression; and find a pride of 11 lions resting amongst the veld at sunset just before it was time for all of them to move on for a night on the town. In addition, we made our way down to the Crocodile River around noontime to watch the, what else, crocs and hippopotamus lounge in the waterway. The BIG 5 in a single day? Incredible. If the lodge's internet connection had been up-and-running, we all swore to buy a lottery ticket.

The winnings from a lottery ticket would help to pay the cost of full accommodation at Lukimbi. Yes, it's expensive. Few South Africans can afford even a single night at this lodge which means that, yes, the clientele is mainly from abroad. And, yes, there are other ways to experience Kruger National Park. But, if you're looking for a high end, luxury accommodation with an engaging and attentive staff, a learned and exciting set of guides and trackers, an excellent chef, kitchen (some of the best meals we've eaten at private game reserves since living here) and waitstaff, and a setting that places you in the middle of the park without fences, Lukimbi Lodge should be high on your consideration list. All we can do is thank you, Lukimbi, for a memorable experience that will never be forgotten. More private reserves and game parks in South Africa should look to your management plan to learn a few tips-of-the-trade to provide their visitors with similar experiences. If anything, the one down side to a stay at Lukimbi is their policy to charge for all drinks, including water and pop, when, in effect, the cost of admission is sufficient for an all-inclusive stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at Lukimbi three nights and it was not enough.My husband and I we are frequent travelers,and for many years I didn't had this feeling that you feel so sad when you have to leave.I feld that I could stay much much longer at Lukimbi.
Everything was great, the lodge,the food,the bush and the rangers. Zane and Stranger were very friendly patient and they knew very well the bush and the animals.Thank you guys, you introduce us to a different world, world that we didn't knew about and it is was fantastic.Know I had the "virus" and I would like definately to return.

Room Tip: All the deluxe suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recibehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We spent 3 lovely nights in early April. The lodge is spectacular, the setting so remote we watched a herd of elephants having a snack right off our deck. The suite we had came with its own pool and was a decadent cottage. The food was top rate, the staff so nice. This is one of the only places in Kruger where you can stay and venture off roads to get up close to the aninals. We followed a male lion within just metres of him, we saw rare wild dogs. The most unique thing we did was go with the rangers for a hike down to the Crocodile river. Here we sat on giant rocks at the water's edge and saw 4 metre long crocodiles, saw 13 hippos in the water and after a while two elephants came nearby for drink. It was a very unique expience to be so close to the animals and not be in a vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had a very pleasant few days at Lukimbi , everything was excellent except the fact that ordering of drinks is very hit and miss with no signing for orders and due to this human error is bound to kick in ...when it was brought to their attention that we had been charged for a number of things that we categorically did not have , they did not apologise , just said they would refund the wine as we were not alcohol drinkers ...the remaining over charged items were not even mentioned . In actual fact an apology would have been better than a refund ...but no such luck :-(

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I do not have a chance to compare Lukimbi to another safari lodge,while this is my first and the only experience with safari in Afrika.But I am sure it is one of the best;
-Perfect location,
-Good service,
-Very well organised,
-Rangers +++
-Intersting food,
-Deluxe chalets,
-Very good setup for our 6 year old boy ,
-Animals,4 out of 5 bigs,( just missed the leopard) !! Lions incredible, zebras and impalas fantastic.
I would recomend strongly ..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihsan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#22 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Property: Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing