We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the first moment of the warm welcome, to the last moment of the fond farewell, this accommodation was exceptional. There were only five guests and we were treated like royalty. The dining room is cleverly designed, so that each table could feel reasonably private. The tables were beautifully decorated, the food fresh, varied and local, and the service sensational.

Each morning we woken at 5 for a 5.30 game drive. The vehicles are comfortable, and the ranger and tracker very knowledgeable and competent. They found such a variety of game, including the very rare black rhino, and a pride of lions we visited on each of four drives. They positioned the truck well so we had a great viewing location.

Breakfast after the game drive was again fresh and beautiful then there was a walk offered, perhaps down to the river to watch the hippos. But it was also a good opportunity to sit on the deck of your beautifully appointed room and watch the impala or elephants go by.

The afternoon game drive at 4pm went to another area of the park to see different animals. Then after a freshen up, a wonderful evening meal.

It was all perfect.

Room Tip: They are all magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
188
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Lukimbi ... The food was good, the staff could not have been friendlier, the game viewing did not disappoint and the lodge + rooms are attractive. A good value for money 5 Star Kruger Park travel option ... An elephant visited our unit and stood 2 meters away from our stoep (porch)

Room Tip: The executive suites have plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrochar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place and most of all, its staff, are amazing. We recently had a 3 night stay at Lukimbi and I can not say enough about how wonderful the entire experience was. The lodge is an excellent accommodation, smart, comfortable luxury, without being pretentious, something we did not want while out in the bush. stunning views from our room and every detail though of. for instance, every evening when we returned to our room after an outstanding dinner, we were greeted by a "Bed Time Story" which was either an African camp fire story, local folk lore or something of that nature. We never had to worry about being on time for the game drives, setting alarms, all of that was taken care of for us.

Stef and KK were our ranger & tracker and their knowledge of the animals and surroundings as well as their care for visitors and friendliness was the best we could have hoped for. Everyone at Lukimbi was so friendly and the service, food, atmosphere surroundings, all made this a trip never to forget.

Thank you Lukimbi, we will definitely recommend you to all. ps- the animals weren't bad either- saw all "Big 5" + more. Aamzing

Room Tip: all rooms looked amazing and had great views - be sure to get up early enough for the sunrise from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a beautiful lodge with excellent accommodation and food. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating of all requests.
We stayed in a Premier Suite with it's own plunge pool, separate lounge, 2 indoor showers and 1 outdoor (which we used every day).
Game viewing was great, we got to see 4 week old lion cubs (first in all our years of going to Kruger and Sabie Sands) so was an unforgettable moment.
Our ranger Bryon and tracker Mike were excellent.
We were originally booked for only 2 nights but were so impressed with the lodge that we extended our stay.
Also had the best massage ever in the SPA.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Great accommodation, everything you could want including an outdoor shower and a soaking tub with views of the African bush. Outstanding food, better than most high-end restaurants in any major City. Quality service, the staff is professional and friendly, they know what they are doing! I stayed in one of the more remote cabins (E5) which was great because I felt like I was really in the bush and didn't hear any sounds coming from the main lodge. I recommend doing both the walking trips during the day and the game drives, in fact, do every activity you can - they are all awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JB4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Everything about Lukimbi is amazing, from food and wine to location to room quality. But the most amazing thing is the people. We stayed for three nights with our two children (7 and 10) and somehow the team managed to achieve the almost impossible of keeping us all happy all of the time, whilst still allowing us to enjoy being a family together. Our ranger and tracker (Byron and Stranger) were fantastic, answering endless questions and teaching all of us loads of things while also going above and beyond to achieve amazing sightings. The kids also had some time during the day just with the ranger and it was apparent very quickly that they did not want us to be a part of this special time! There is only one problem with Lukimbi and that is that you have to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was one of three safaris we did in Africa and Lukimbi was our favorite of them all. The staff truly handled us and our needs very well and they have created what we thought was the perfect experience. We had early morning and late afternoon drives to maximize the animal interaction. The guides were knowledgeable about everything from the animals' natures to the plants and the status of the park's animal population to the impact of the weather to, well, everything. And believe me, we checked. Guide books and Wikipedia verified it all. Our room (hut number one) was just wonderful. A big bath and comfortable everything. We could watch the animals at the watering hole from our soaking tub or from our tree shaded balcony. The morning we left, we abandoned our packing to video a pack of seven elephants, including two babies, come down to drink and play in the water.

We saw the big five several times in addition to cheetahs and lions and leopards. Apparently this end of the park lends itself to that. We also took a walking tour to the river one day and witnessed two male hippos in an ongoing pitched battle over the herd. Storks and eagles flew overhead while we videotaped it. Lots of impala, giraffe, kudu, mongoose, etc.

The food here was excellent and the service very impressive. These people know what they are doing and all of them (guides to front desk to wait staff to cleaning) work together to ensure your visit is as perfect as it can be.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a watering hole view so it probably doesn't matter. We were the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#24 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Property: Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing