We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to go on safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I had a delightful stay at Lukimbi earlier this month. The setting of the lodge in the hilly southern part of Kruger is absolutely stunning. My guide Steff was really informative and has a very nice way abiut himself, and our tracker Stranger had great senses for find the animals. The service was always very friendly and personal and I felt well taken care of. Also the accommodations themselves are heavenly - I love the touch of having an outdoor shower, and the view from the balcony out over the forest made for a few very relaxing afternoons of just staring off into the bush. I hope to come back with my parents next year !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tijn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. A very well run lodge with superb food and offering a comprehensive bush experience. Experienced rangers and trackers are knowledgable and committed conservationists. Besides the game drives they offer bush walks.
It is a fairly small lodge, beautifully situated and the rooms are large and private. Loved the outside shower and bath and toilet with a view.
All the staff work well together to offer you a really special experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gillmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on our recent trip. The location and the setting were awesome and game was plentiful. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our ranger and tracker (Darren and Stranger) were the best! Fearless Stranger went off on the trail of lions and leopards...but thankfully came back each time. Darren's enthusiasm is infectious and he made sure we saw everything we possibly could, even taking us on an unscheduled drive to a wild dogs. We saw the big 5 twice over!

The food was a let down, especially lunch, which was a selection of cold salads which were all a bit bland. However, dinner on BBQ night was fab, variety of game and lovely veg accompaniments and a malwa pudding to die for. On the other two nights dinner wasn't great. The wait staff were friendly, a little too uncomfortably so for our liking...e.g. being asked if the food was good by three different waiters at three different occasions...during the starter.

On the whole as we went for the game we came away happy. However, we cant agree that this is a five start lodge - the 'comfortable' furnishings and uneventful food is not what we'd say is 5 star, especially when considering the rates.

We struggled with the tipping guidelines suggested by the lodge compared to what we've seen to TA - the 'other staff' tip was nearly twice as much as for the ranger! We ignored their guidance and went with TA suggestions instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

From the first moment of the warm welcome, to the last moment of the fond farewell, this accommodation was exceptional. There were only five guests and we were treated like royalty. The dining room is cleverly designed, so that each table could feel reasonably private. The tables were beautifully decorated, the food fresh, varied and local, and the service sensational.

Each morning we woken at 5 for a 5.30 game drive. The vehicles are comfortable, and the ranger and tracker very knowledgeable and competent. They found such a variety of game, including the very rare black rhino, and a pride of lions we visited on each of four drives. They positioned the truck well so we had a great viewing location.

Breakfast after the game drive was again fresh and beautiful then there was a walk offered, perhaps down to the river to watch the hippos. But it was also a good opportunity to sit on the deck of your beautifully appointed room and watch the impala or elephants go by.

The afternoon game drive at 4pm went to another area of the park to see different animals. Then after a freshen up, a wonderful evening meal.

It was all perfect.

Room Tip: They are all magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Lukimbi ... The food was good, the staff could not have been friendlier, the game viewing did not disappoint and the lodge + rooms are attractive. A good value for money 5 Star Kruger Park travel option ... An elephant visited our unit and stood 2 meters away from our stoep (porch)

Room Tip: The executive suites have plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This place and most of all, its staff, are amazing. We recently had a 3 night stay at Lukimbi and I can not say enough about how wonderful the entire experience was. The lodge is an excellent accommodation, smart, comfortable luxury, without being pretentious, something we did not want while out in the bush. stunning views from our room and every detail though of. for instance, every evening when we returned to our room after an outstanding dinner, we were greeted by a "Bed Time Story" which was either an African camp fire story, local folk lore or something of that nature. We never had to worry about being on time for the game drives, setting alarms, all of that was taken care of for us.

Stef and KK were our ranger & tracker and their knowledge of the animals and surroundings as well as their care for visitors and friendliness was the best we could have hoped for. Everyone at Lukimbi was so friendly and the service, food, atmosphere surroundings, all made this a trip never to forget.

Thank you Lukimbi, we will definitely recommend you to all. ps- the animals weren't bad either- saw all "Big 5" + more. Aamzing

Room Tip: all rooms looked amazing and had great views - be sure to get up early enough for the sunrise from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a beautiful lodge with excellent accommodation and food. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating of all requests.
We stayed in a Premier Suite with it's own plunge pool, separate lounge, 2 indoor showers and 1 outdoor (which we used every day).
Game viewing was great, we got to see 4 week old lion cubs (first in all our years of going to Kruger and Sabie Sands) so was an unforgettable moment.
Our ranger Bryon and tracker Mike were excellent.
We were originally booked for only 2 nights but were so impressed with the lodge that we extended our stay.
Also had the best massage ever in the SPA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette312595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 176 in Kruger National Park
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £579 - £747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing