We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be a 6 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
MIAMI, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be a 6 star!”
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We have traveled extensively, always first class, and Lukimbi impressed us. It was decadently elegant and luxurious. the food was outstanding and the wines were lovely.

The staff made us feel like family . They could not have done more for us. I should mention that I have MS and use a wheelchair.
We saw the big 5 and more.
Can't wait to go back!

Olga and Les R.

  • Liked — Luxury and comfort plus view.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OMROTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
106
188
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

we stayed at the lodge for three days i thought that the rooms were very nice i really liked the outdoor showers and the bathing tubs .The breakfast was very nice however the dinner and lunches lacked variety and after the first day one got a bit bored with the food. Our ranger natasha and tracker jacob were very competent at their jobs and we were lucky too see lions on each day we went in the bush however they didnot volunteer any information and had to be constantly asked questions i feel that they should be more informative about the flora and fauna.

The staff who served us were excellent especially gillean who was exceptional.
All said and done it was a memorable experience and i would definately reccomend a stay here

  • Liked — the safari rides in the morning and afternoons
  • Disliked — the lack of variety of food and lack of information about the animals and the flora and fauna
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank joesidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2008

We stayed at Camp Jabulani our first 3 nights on Safari in SA so had a rude awakening at Lukimbi.

It is hard to describe any one thing:

The cold buffet at lunch was disappointing and too exotic
The housekeeping was ok, but no more then ok
The bedding was of low quality and I genuinely never felt like rolling over and going back to sleep
The rangers were bored and clearly going through the motions
The strict schedule (found at many lodges) makes you wonder if you are on holiday

The place is slightly drab and really makes you wonder what all the fuss is about. I was very disappointed in Abecrombie and Kent for putting us here, especially when we asked to move and the next hotel said we were the third guest in the last two months who had made that move!

The only bright spot was the dining staff who could not have been nicer.

  • Liked — The dining staff
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smithsinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I just returned today from my stay at Lukimbi and it was fantastic. Really a superb lodge! It really is about the the big and small things. The big: we saw such an amazing array of animals - elephant, lots of lions, rhinos, hippos, buffalos, antelope, worthogs and the very beatiful girrafes. Sometimes the elephant would come to visit the lodge so you could see them grazing while having breakfast or a shower (in the outdoor shower - there is one inside too). On the small things it is about the people at the lodge and they make the experience fantastic. The rangers really know their stuff and try and make each game drive a different one. I went with Dale and Natasha and both we excellent - good sense of humour too. The hospitality is fantastic and they go out of their way to make their guests happy. For example, I got to the lodge just after the afternoon safari left and after I checked in they rushed me to meet up with the range rover so I could enjoy the experience. Also, I was checking out late so they let me have my room until I left at 3pm. But is more about the little touches of care in the service that makes this a 5 star place.

I thought the room was spectactular - very spacious indivual huts on stilts with a terrace overlooking the bush (and lots of elephant sightings), a bathroom with a view, outdoor shower and an comfy bed. They do a great job on food too with lots of variety and really tasty. The menu changes every meal so it is always new and great tasting. The lamb chops and kudu are fabulous!

Lukimbi definitely exceeded my expectations!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazell Terrace
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We visited here as part of our honeymoon and it was fabulous! The service was impeccable and the standard of food was very high indeed. There was a chance to taste some of the more, say, unusual meats during the hot buffets and outdoor Braai.

The lodges were excellent, comfortable beds, a big window by the bath so that you could soak and look across the view. We saw a party of Elephant, quite literally at the bottom of the garden!

The safaris were excellent and well organised. We weren't lucky enough to see Lions, but did hear a couple of 'Roars!' while taking our evening Sundowner drinks.

A trip to remember, definitely.

  • Liked — Abundant birdlife, saw most mammals except Lion and Black Rhino.
  • Disliked — The toilet with a glass front to it! You don't need to look at the wildlife ALL the time!!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney_Parade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We have just returned from a 3day stay at Lukimbi. Having arrived from Cape Town where we'd stayed at the excellent Cape Grace Hotel, the rooms at Lukimbi seemed rather basic.
It is winter now and the rooms are cold with heating from a wall hung air cond/heater unit. The heater in my room did not work. It was below zero outside!The floors are cold cement with no bedroom slippers provided and no shampoo in the bathroom, except for some orange liquid in an unmarked bottle.
The game drives were exciting to the kids as they had never seen wildlife in a natural setting but the ranger seemed bored and gave no information other than the names of the animals sighted.
We stayed at Lukimbi because the travel agent said this was the only lodge that took kids below 12. Well I'll have to wait till they get past that age before we go on safari again as my husband refuses to stay here again!

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — poor management
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#24 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Property: Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing