We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgent lodging with bonus wild life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This private game lodge in Kruger National Park has it all: Spacious and first class accommodations, good quality food and libations and the reason to be here in the first place: wild life from dung beetle to lion.
Sean and Shelley and their team strive to make your safari a memorable experience. Despite the rainy season and the bush lusciously green we enjoyed our twice daily game drives and optional bush walks. Morning drives are interrupted by tea / coffee breaks. In the afternoon there is chance for a sun-downer. Thanks to radio contact between the various teams we were able to cap our sightings with a lion kill that was outside the private concession surrounding the lodge. Our team made every conceivable effort to successfully track the big five for us.
The individual villas have a sleeping and sitting area and a private deck. The spacious bathroom boasts a free standing tub with a picture window, indoor and outdoor showers and there is even a loo with a view.
The meals were expertly prepared to satisfy all but the most sophisticated palates. Breakfast after morning game drives are buffet style with a small à la carte offering. Buffet lunch is also served in the al fresco dining area with choices for carnivores and vegetarians. Dinner choices are usually from the menu with the occasional open pit cooking, weather permitting. The wine cellar is well stocked with a large selection at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

As a travel agent I can only give the highest rating to this property, after researching 45 game lodges this one came up trumps!

Departing Johannesburg to Nelspruit Airport for a 2 hour transfer journey I am bound for Lukimbi Safari Lodge. The Kruger National Park is South Africa’s premier wildlife destination, covering 19,485 square kilometres. It is one of South Africa’s oldest reserves. The region is one of the best areas for bird watching with over 500 species recorded. The reserve has more large species mammals than any other African reserve and is home to the famous Big Five. It is home to one of the largest remaining Rhino populations in the World. The park also has a large population of Elephants and Lions. The Kruger National Park has great weather year round.

The Lukimbi Safari Lodge is situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park. We stayed in luxuriously appointed accommodation that has a distinctly African feel. Once you have settled in, head out on an afternoon game drive. These are conducted in a specially adapted safari vehicle and are led by knowledgeable guides who will help you track down animals; including members of the Big Five then in the evening enjoy a delicious safari inspired meal around the campfire.

A gentle knock at the door and a fresh cup of coffee herald the start of a new day. After a light snack, set out on a morning game drive, tracking African wildlife with the help of your guide. During the warm hours around midday, you can relax on the deck and see what wildlife comes down to the river or enjoy a good book. Cool off with a dip in the refreshing waters of the pool or have a siesta. In the late afternoon you will head out on another game drive. The service here at the lodge was outstanding, meals are all inclusive and the drink prices are still way too cheap not to indulge with a few between conversations with the staff and fellow guests.

My accommodation is to die for, a large double king bed that is netted for the evenings, spacious 2 piece lounge, open balcony and a bathroom that’s bigger than my apartment at home, there is a bath the size of a swimming pool right on the window overlooking the waterhole and if you are lucky enough like I was you may see a herd of Elephants come for a drink whilst drinking champagne. After 3 days here I had spotted the Big 5 a few times over and more, I was never disappointed at any time until the time having to leave saying farewell to our service staff and heading back to Nelspruit Airport.

Room Tip: Request a cabin closee to reception if you dont like walking to far or elderly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lapewesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were 3 couples visiting SA from the US. We stayed at Lukimbi as part of our trip. We were thrilled with the experience. Driving up to the entrance we encountered a herd of Elephants on the road. As soon as we arrived and looked out beyond the open deck, there was a single elephant. Amazing way to start. The arrival was great and efficient. The lodge was spectacular ( we have been on 6 safaris in Africa and these accomodations were the best!) and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were so nice, and the decorating was the nicest we had seen. On the drives with Zane and Joesph, we saw everything. Zane was fantastic and he was so knowledgeable about the animals and the land. We truly became friends with him. He showed us what we wanted to see and sundowners were great! The food at the lodge was so good and the staff so friendly, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I would go back for sure. We all had a wonderful time and will never forget Lukimbi!

Room Tip: They were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chasvwilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Most exquisite lodging and staff you can dream of. The game watching was natural - phenomenal and naturally intimate. Sean and his staff's respect for nature made this the highlight of our 20 days in Africa. Nothing could be better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had three fantastic nights at Lukimbi Safari Lodge. We have seen a lot of good places around the world and it's always the same difference that makes the difference - The people. Excellent service, very knowledgeable rangers and trackers, great private lodges and excellent food. Our ranger Andrew and the tracker James gave us some great and wild experiences. To be highly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I cannot in good faith call our space anything but a suite...room does not do it justice. It was spacious, clean with huge windows that game us views of the wildlife. Definite WOW factor there. The meals were good with good options. I especially loved a lunch they did with all sorts of vegetables, calamari and salads. After being at their sister lodge, Idube, it is hard to compare the game drives given Kruger Park's restrictions, but we did have a very nice visit and saw a good number of animals. There is plenty of space to play games and hang around. Wished they had wifi somewhere on the property!

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyfamily_of_4_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed at Lukimbi in November 2013 for 4 nights and was impressed with every aspect of the experience.

Lukimbi offers it's guests 2 games drives each day. One at 5:30am and the other in the late afternoon. On top of this they also offer a mid morning game walk. The game drives were superb and provided me with an unforgettable experience. Our Ranger, Darren, and his tracker, Stranger, were both knowledgable, personable and enjoyable people to be with. They did a great job of locating animals and explaining their actions and how they lived. Darren and Stranger also remained in radio contact with other rangers/tracker from the lodge and shared information with each other as to specific locations of animal sightings. During my 4 days at Kruger I saw at least 2 dozen rhinos, 2 dozen elephants, male and female lions, a leopard, many zebras, countless cape buffalo, hippos, wild dogs, hyenas, a large variety of bird, monkeys, a pangolin ( a very rare anteater type creature ) and herd upon herd of impalas. During each game drive we would take a break to stop and stretch and have drinks. The vehicles used for the game drives were large, comfortable and covered which is important as it rained some and at other times the sun was very strong.

I would suggest staying a minimum of 3 - 4 nights as the game drives can be hit or miss ( free roaming animals do what they want after all ) and it took all of our drives to see the "Big 5".

The staff at the Lodge were fantastic and were quick when dealing with any request.

The suite I stayed in was excellent. The suite looked out onto a large wilderness area and a watering hole. On one morning there was an elephant hanging out right behind my suite at the watering hole and on another morning a hippo jogged past my suite. For someone from a large North American city these were somewhat surreal sights. The suite itself was great. The bed was comfortable, the suite had lots of room and a large deck for relaxing. The only negative was the mosquito netting for the bed was obviously old and had small gaps in it.

The meals at Lukimbi were all very delicious and prepared by a top notch chef. Although the variety wasn't huge what they did offer was on par with any meal you would find in any higher end restaurant.

I would recommend Lukimbi to anyone wanting to experience a top end safari experience.

Thank you Darren, Stranger and all of Lukimbi Lodge for an unforgettable and completely enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 176 in Kruger National Park
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pondoro Game Lodge
Pondoro Game Lodge
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £579 - £747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing