We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bush holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Langebaan, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great bush holiday”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great bush holiday with friendly staff ,starting with Merissa on arrival to Andrew and James our tracker and guide to Jaco the chief and all bar and cleaning staff that make you feel most welcome and nothing seems to much for them ,the food was exccelent ,booze prices very reasonable , suites and all rooms well furnished and clean,definatelly will go back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    36
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
113
195
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lukimbi was a splurge and truly worth every coin. If your experience is like ours, you'll enjoy a five-star time, treating yourself to a lodging and safari experience guided by highly professional, warm and engaging staff who truly treat clients as family.

Our safari drives and bush walks were fantastic, headed by our fearless Ranger and Tracker, Zane and Stranger. Aside from their tremendous skill in guiding us through the bushlands and sharing their deep well of knowledge of flora and fauna, they prepped a lovely table and poured beautifully when it was time to pause for our late-afternoon sundowners! Many, many thanks to them for superb and unforgettable explorations of the Big 5 and much, much more!

Our lodge accommodations were beautifully done, remarkably spacious and well appointed with a deep tub as well as the ultimate treat: an outdoor shower. Sigh, who would want to leave? Dining was delicious and carefully prepared, with Chef Kaitlyn emerging from her kitchen to check on our dining experience. (Don't be shy about asking her how she prepares some of her stellar dishes.) If you are lucky enough to be there when pumpkin is in season, don't forget to try her pumpkin stew!

Sean and Shelley manage a wonderful staff who lavish a high level of attention on guests. I can only say that after a short stay at Lukimbi, my world view has shifted!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I have just posted my review on Idube where we spent two nights previous to our stay at Lukimbi.
The transfer from Idube to Lukimbi is 3 hours and this after a morning drive can be very tiring. We went through the Paul Kruger gate and drove down the Kruger to the lodge. The drive itself once in the park is very nice.
Lukimbi itself is a very luxurious we'll staffed lodge. It is geared very much to the European clientele. The rooms are amazing, so nicely done and to look out onto the river bed is heaven. The staff and guides where all great - our guide Gideon and tracker Michael were superb. I think the main problem was the time of the year we were there which is at the end of summer and beginning of winter and as such the bush was very thick which made game viewing very hard and we did not see much. We did see lion, leopard, white rhino, elephant and plains game however it was very sparse which made the game drives a bit tedious. We personally felt that the night drives were a bit long and decided to opt out on one and spend the day relaxing.
The food at Lukimbi was excellent! Top class but once again not the true bush experience of a braai (barbecue).
All in all we enjoyed ourselves, very relaxing but if you are after game and less luxurious I would recommend their sister lodge - Idube in the sabi sands.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thank all the staff especially Brighton (the stand in bar tender) who was very friendly and showed me some of the resident snakes in the camp.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We started our 14 days Easter holiday with a 3 day safari here at the Lukimbi Safari Lodge. We were 9 people (2 families and grand mother) from the age of 6 to 75 sharing 3 lodges. We all had such a wonderful time. The lodges were large enough to room all 4 in our family. The service was outstanding from all staff. We loved the food, healthy, tasteful and nicely presented.The pool area was very nice for relaxing in between safaris and bush walks. Lyborn showed us around the wine cellar and made sure we made excellent choices in wine.
Our ranger Kim and tracker James were both so wonderful and gave us many special experiences at the game drives, including seeing all of the big 5.
Our warmest recommendations is hereby given for this superb lodge!.

Room Tip: We stayed in W1, W2 and W3 which were close to the main buidling. With kids and grand mother we foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our first safari experience and most definitely will not be our last....yes we're hooked thanks to our stay at Lukimbi Lodge! The staff were incredible, from Miriska who greeted us on arrival, to all of the wait staff and Lyborn, the bartender with a big personality and excellent taste in wine choices from his private cellar! Our Ranger Andrew and Tracker James were exceptional! Andrew was a wealth of knowledge, friendly and fun! They both ensured we didn't leave without seeing the Big 5, with James spotting the elusive Leopard perched in a tree just before nightfall on our final evening! Rare animals, birds and reptiles there was an endless supply of things to see and learn. What a phenomenal experience it was! Thank you Andrew!
The rooms were spacious and clean with an amazing view. The food was delicious with plenty to choose from to suit your taste. Definitely would like the shortbread recipe!
Overall we could not have hoped for better! Lukimbi lodge will not disappoint, we look forward to a return visit!!! Lisa and Clarke, Kingston, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarke I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were at the lodge in the middle of April and enjoyed a wonderful stay. Having been at various other private lodges within Kruger Park we are able to compare and are of the opinion that Lukimbi is highly recommendable. The quality/price ratio puts this place amongst the top ones of Krugers luxury lodges. Spacious rooms, excellent service, firendly and knowledgable rangers and trackers, good food turned our stay into a permanent pleasure. We enjoyed the competent and well organized management and experienced again their perfect service when we were delayed on our way to the airport by a stuck truck in a riverbed we had to cross.

Sean, Shelley and the whole team, you will see us again!

Room Tip: The rooms with lower numbers (east and west) are surrounded by more trees which is nice during the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here in late January and were hooked. The staff were fantastic, the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The food was delicious - we liked the buffet lunch concept as it perfectly suited our eating style (don't overdo it at lunch because supper is a big meal!).

We were very fortunate on our game drives. The wildlife cooperated and we saw everything one could hope for - Big 5 plus wild dogs and cheetahs along with a plethora of impala, kudu, etc. We took some extremely memorable photos that will be classics for a long time.

The true strong point of this lodge is its people. We were treated incredibly well throughout our visit and would stay at Lukimbi again without reservation. Go!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1E, close to the lodge. It is right under a Marula tree, which attracts all kinds of wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ducimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#34 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukimbi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukimbi Safari Lodge

Property: Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park | Malelane Area, Kruger National Park 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lukimbi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lukimbi Safari Lodge is a stunning luxury safari lodge situated in the easily accessible southern portion of the Kruger National Park, South Africa. Kruger is home to the Big Five and a wide variety of other animals and birds, which roam freely in their natural habitat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lukimbi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukimbi Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing