We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundance of wildlife!”
Review of Olifants Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olifants Rest Camp
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in a bungalow for 2 people which had a fridge, braai area & a lovely little pateo. The views from the new restaurant (brand new Mugg & Bean) are undoubtedly the best in the park so it's a relief to finally have a decent restaurant to eat at while enjoying the view. We booked a night drive which did not disappoint, came across a female leopard lying right next to the main road (3 meters away from us), also came across the lesser spotted genet, buffalo, black-backed jackal, kudu, nyala and some other wildlife. The staff were super friendly and the accommodation (little maintenance required) was comfortable & relaxing.

Room Tip: Bungalows 88-111 are best situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although we had a wonderful view from our rondavel our stay was not as it could have been because the restaurant was being renovated. And also in the closest other rest camp the restaurant was closed.

The value is is greatly diminished if the restaurant is closed at any rest camp.

So check and await the completion of the renovation of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and check the situation with the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Double wow really for the view and we had 13 twice, best river view. This room has the braai located behind the rondavel next to the car and although had prob the best view 10 to 12 have braai next to outside area. If you can't get these then 16 of the river view chalets is top although 2 to 4 look pretty amazing.
The usual Sanparks rondavel, maybe newly tiled but a bit run down. Clean enough and a bargain. Great game viewing at the c of d and just the drive over the Olifants bridge is enough to make you want to come.
The Boskombuis was pretty awful. Role on the new restaurant. Reasonable shop though and very friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location on top of the hill overlooking the Olifants River is absolutely stunning. However, the cottages are known to be rustic and basic but where lacking maintenance in general. When asked to replace the lights on the patio so we could braai the next day nothing happened.
I had great experiences with games drives in the Kruger in the past - humble, very knowledgeable rangers. This time all SAN park camps have changed their range rover 10 seater game vehicles to 20 seater buses. There is no more interaction with the ranger. Vusi would not share his knowledge of the bush with us. He would stop for a sighting and pull off as soon as possible. With the buses there are no more off roads possible. There is no spotter, the rangers are not reading tracks anymore to find game. To say it bluntly - it is a 3 hour bush drive in an elevated vehicle on the tarred roads that one drives through the day anyway and not a game drive. Around us were mostly tourists - it seems that South Africans are doing self-drives only these days. Nevertheless the Kruger and especially this camp is located in an incredible location so always worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the cottages which are facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaHadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Olifants rest camp rightfully has a reputation for the most beautiful and serene views in all of Kruger. The accommodation we stayed in was quite basic, but clean and comfortable. Showers nice and hot. Game drives were reasonably priced and had some great opportunities to see animals up close and our driver was excellent!

Room Tip: Try to book a place with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed at Oliphants for 5 days twice a year for the past ten years always in a best river view rondavel. In all this time there does not appear to have been any renovation or improvement. According to the receptionist there is nothing planned for these units in the forseeable future. The accommodation may have been ok ten years ago but is now tired and in desperate need of renovation. The fridge has obviously been replaced, the old one was under a shelf the new one being larger does not fit under the shelf and consequently takes up a lot of room in the small kitchen area. It would take a couple of hours to remove the shelf and give more room. The only hut with a best river view which has been renovated in number 5 and only because there was a fire, maybe they need to set fire to the rest of them. Kruger is no longer cheap, the prices have continued to rise but the accommodation deteriorates every year, Sadly for the first time in ten years we will not return to Oliphants, the management seem to have become too complacent., reception was civil at best and less than helpfull when we tried to make further bookings. We will go instead to Shingwedzi where we received a warm welcome and clean modern accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolineportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed two nights in olifants camp and it was the best stay in the kruger. We were booked in a hut that only provided beds, you have to use the communal kitchens. All those huts are being renovated. We were given a nice renovated bungalow. The only camp that had a paper that asked to report any faulty equipment in accommodation.
The staff very friendly. The shop fantastic, very stocked. The restaurant had limited food choices as they are going to be renovated. But even with that very good and friendly staff.
We booked for a sunset drive and it was excellent. I really recommend that.
We again had to do laundry. The laundry room was great. They had two new washing machines and two new dryers with staff to help you and look after the new machines.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Marelu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
67.5 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
94.5 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
126 reviews
59.8 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#80 of 178 in Kruger National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
114.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#39 of 178 in Kruger National Park
203 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17 reviews
39.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#124 of 178 in Kruger National Park
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olifants Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olifants Rest Camp

Address: 83 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Olifants River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests that visit Olifants will be exposed to an unforgettable window of Africa. The camp is situated a top a hill which towers several hundred feet over the Olifants river. Views from the lookout platforms allow one to see the river below, just as a soaring eagle would survey it, as it hunts from the skies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olifants Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing