We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LUXURY IN THE HEART OF THE BUSH!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LUXURY IN THE HEART OF THE BUSH!”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What an amazing place! You are treated like royalty!! The owners, the staff, all top notch! The game drive is exceptional, the animals we saw were amazing! The highlight for me was being able to touch and bottle feed the baby rhino!!! The room we had was tastefully decorated, it was surreal lying in bed, listening to the lions roar, it felt like they were outside the bedroom! We awoke to the sounds of baboons barking, we watched them playing in the trees from our patio! What more could you ask for! We saw the white lion lying about 5 metres away from the car! I wish i could've stayed longer!!! Thanks to Rocco and Yvonne for the experience of a lifetime, it was unforgettable and we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was ideal as we had 2 children with us had a good view of the morning babo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    37
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
91
191
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have visited a half dozen game reserves throughout Southern Africa and Elandela is the best in terms of comfort and service. The staff were very friendly and informative, especially Jacques and Coleman. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the grounds are immaculate and tasteful. The only drawback was small lunches. I burn a lot of calories in the heat, so I would like bigger meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandersnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Elandela in November 2011 and were treated as though we were special, all of the staff, bar none, were determined to make our stay there pleasant and enjoyable. During our stay my husband was feeling ill and genuine concern was shown to us both so that we did not feel as though we were a nuisance. Although our stay was short we will remember it forever.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilymary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at Elandela Lodge in mid December.Our stay was fantastic in every way.Rocco and Yvonne picked us up and our guides Jaques and Juan were great.The staff at Elandela made us feel completely at home.Thank you Rocco and Yvonne for your hospitality.Reval and Cristina

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reval11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Unfortunately the time we sepent at Elandela was far too short. I have spent three days as Elandela. Fortunately my sister, one of my best freinds and me were the only guests at the Lodge and that was something absolutely special. Elandela is a privately owned Game Reserve just outside Kruger National Park and it was the best experince I have ever made. The staff ist extremely friendly and the knowledge of the Rangers was impressive. I would always prefer a private game reserve as we got to discover the African Wildlife a different way. Getting to know the owners and being so close to Roccy (a little rhino whos mother was shot because of her horn) and the rare white lions was so special to us. Over all it was an extremely awsome time we had and we would like to go back. There is not enough space to describe everything just go and see it yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi_80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We chose the small game reserve in order to enjoy nature in a private and comfortable setting. We were treated to both. Our rooms were in the superior section, and they were large and comfortable, overlooking a beautiful gorge. There were never more than 9 people on our drives. The guides and staff were extremely vigilant about our safety around dangerous animals. We got to enjoy the company of Rocky, the baby rhino, who was cared for by one of the staff. They were careful to watch him but allowed us to get close. We went on 2 drives a day. Since we were there for 5 days,we saw many birds, animals (including the illusive leopard) and plants that one might not have seen on a shorter stay. Jacques planned our drives so that we could learn something new each day. There are no elephants at Elandela so they include a half-day at Kruger. Since 5 days were maybe one day too many at one reserve, we took a full day tour of the Panoramic Route. Even though I thought it was too expensive, the scenery was breathtaking, and I am glad that we got to do that. We loved our safari guide, Coleman. He did great interpretations of bird sounds, and he was warm, funny and knowledgeable. The staff, especialy Sipwe, Precious and Luckie, could not do enough, and they always had warm smiles. If I have one complaint, it is that they charge for all drinks, except coffee and tea. The wines were extremely expensive. I would have been much more comfortable with the cost of water, juice and sodas built into the price rather then be charged for each drink. Their explanation of their cost didn't make sense when we could buy the same beverages for much much less in town and good South African wines are very inexpensive. Other than that, we were extremely happy campers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxalpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

When considering a safari vacation, the best advice I can give is to chose a small resort. The less people the more personal the experience. We were fortunate to be the only guests at Elandela Private Game Reserve, which only accommodates up to 16 or 20 guests, when we visited. We were treated like friends and afforded rare experiences that would never be possible at a large resort. We were invited to go on a giraffe capture and visit with their baby rino "Rocky", who had just returned from the rehabilitation center after enduring the poaching of his mother. The owners, Yvonne and Rocco, were beyond cordial and accommodating. The staff were fabulous and the resort was great. The field guides, Jacques and Cameron, were extremely knowledgeable and genuinely friendly. We were lucky to have them to ourselves during our stay to go on the safari excursions. The animals, of course, were magnificent and we had the rare opportunity to see the white lions after a kill. The owners truly respect and care for the animals. There are no TVs in the rooms (only in the lounge area) so bring something to read, but your days are quite full with the safaris. This is a great choice for a safari at Kruger National Park. Thanks to everyone there for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_Andersons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
8.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
135.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#53 of 174 in Kruger National Park
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
103 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
614 reviews
21.8 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Property: Elandela Private Game Reserve
Address: Casketts KU 65 Portion 35, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed Private Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park.This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wild life and bird life from up close! Very Private Elandela Game Reserve has no incursions from other game drive vehicles and this makes for undisturbed game viewing! The Elandela free roaming White Lion prides - in the area from whence all White Lions originate - as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allow our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. Elandela is fast becoming famous for incredibly relaxed Leopard sightings! Elandela Lake View and Elandela River View Lodges are sculptured on the game rich banks of the Klaserie River and offers spectacular sunset views of the nearby Blyde River Canyon! Our 20 different rooms cater for all different tastes, demands and pockets. The purpose designed River View Family Rooms, with more beds per room and huge lawns, confirm our child friendly reputation! For the discerning adult visitor Elandela Lake View Lodge offers immaculate and luxurious Honeymoon Suites with five star quality and comfort. The Deluxe Suites are priced in between the Honeymoon and Standard Suites but all rooms receive the same warm, friendly, Elandela service! The mouthwatering fine dining cuisine and traditional Boma barbecues are prepared from the freshest local in-season produce! Included in your stay of two days or longer is one free afternoon visit to adjacent world famous Kruger National Park. Elandela Lodge is the right choice for those visitors who have game viewing and a love for nature as deciding factor to determine their South African photo safari destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Elandela Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing