We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“African Paradise”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our trip began (5 days/4 nights in early June 2013) by a personal pick up by Carina, reserve ranger. After we were welcomed by drum and song - led by Precious (a woman whom has the sweetest smile which fills her entire face), we were shown our room (we had rooms #1 & #2) - elegant, cooled by the thatched roof, and lit to fit the occasion (we were on safari...), we were offered a 3 course "light lunch" and whisked away for our first photo safari. There, we met JV (the lodge's new hire - "guide"). He is absolutely amazing and a wealth of knowledge and has a great respect for the bush and everything that it offers its observers - from the ground to the sky - he is able to provide insight that draws you in and wanting more ....! We were never without delicious food (Steven is a wonderful ambassador for the kitchen) from the 4 course breakfasts, to the 3 course light lunches, to the 6 course dinners. Carina was so thoughtful and always provided us attention during her myriad of responsibilities, even when my 8 year old son was crying - she made sure to help meet his needs and focus on the "bright side of life." She also helped to capture a Gecko, who entered into his room and wanted to sleep with him, so that he would not be worried during his sleep that the Gecko would get too cozy in his bed. The outside path was well lit (in fact - I wish there was less light outside at night). My son enjoyed the pool on an especially warm day. At the watering hole just outside our room - we had a magical experience where 3 giraffe came to enjoy a drink in the afternoon son - INCREDIBLE! We also could hear the hippo in the evening enjoy the solidarity of the watering hole. Rose was quiet and sweet and always free to offer a drink at the bar. On safari, we enjoyed a rest for coffee/biscotti in the AM and soda/water/adult beverages in the PM. We saw too many animals to count - most favorite by my family were the warthogs, impala/water buck, giraffe, white lions, cape buffalo, zebras, and rhino. We also had a, once in a lifetime experience, where we participated in a medical intervention for a female rhino who had been shot during an attempted poaching for her horn. To feel the rhino breath on me is a feeling I will never forget and being there with my 2 children and husband is something that will bond us together forever! Lastly, I had a personal desire to see the baobab tree and Carina allowed us time at the tree that is 2000 years old during our evening safari trip - it was absolutely wonderful! Thanks to Elandela for these memories - I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms closer to the main lodge as a septic system is used and the lower rooms do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    36
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
86
183
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We travelled as a couple and spend 3 nights at Elandela. The hospitality of all the staff was fantastic and the food was amazing.
We enoyed all the additional extras which were avalible which included riding on elephants!
We couldn't rate the staff more highly for their attentiveness and the knowledge of the guides.
Getting to meet Roccy and Clover (two baby rhinos) and feed them was a real once in a life time event.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Personal pick up from the airport by Carina.Absolutely fabulous establishment! The rooms are beautiful and give you a real rustic safari feel. The lodge has a watering hole so you can see the animals coming to drink whilst sitting by the pool. The safari trips with Carina were great so munch enthusiasm and energy! Now the food was the equal to how good the safari was....Steven is a total diamond! a 5 course dinner each dish tailor made to perfection it was a truly gastronomical experience which was totally unexpected for an all inclusive. The white lion pride were the showstoppers absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pretty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

You start your journey with a warm welcome from the staff, with beating drums, chanting and a shot of amarula, it really is a lovely way to arrive to such a beautiful lodge. We arrived early in the afternoon and were met by Carina, a real gem who makes the trip so enjoyable, she is the main guide and really knows her stuff. We were taken to her 'office' by the pool and told all about our trip and what we would experience, we were immediately made to feel welcome on the beautiful lodge, taking a tour of the dining room where we met the chef, Stephen who checks dietary requirements, followed by the magnificent bar and then shown to our fantastic room, complete with 4 poster bed. During our stay we were treated to amazing 6 course dinners, 4 course breakfasts and lovely lunches when out and about. Stephen is a master in the kitchen and the food really is something to behold both in taste and presentation. We were lucky enough to have a boma one evening too which is a great experience food wise. Game drives are done twice a day, one first thing and another in the evening. Carina took us around the park and showed us every inch, we were spoilt to be on our own for the first 2 of our drives and she is an excellent tracker as well as being very knowledgeable and passionate about the animals she looks after so it really was an amazing experience. Carina also gets guests involved so we were lucky enough to help with rhino darting on our last morning so the vets could clean wounds. I would recommend the additional excursions the lodge provides too, especially moholoholo which also assists with animal conservation. Carina is very friendly with the guides and knows the animals well so again you have a wonderful personal touch. The owners Yvonne and Rocco are both lovely too and very welcoming to their lodge, they are very lucky to have such a wonderful bunch of staff again I have to highlight Carina here as she really makes the place as special as it is. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriaEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The staff at Elandela were exceptional. We were truly looked after and everyone had a smile. The food ( 5 course dinner!) was fabulous and would make it worth the visit alone. We enjoyed our game drives and would love the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Elandela on a visit to South Africa. We had the most fantastic time there. The accommodation was lovely as was the food prepared by the Chef. Steven.
All the staff were very pleasant and made our trip very memorable.
It was so exciting to see the White Lions and also due to unfortunate circumstances involving Rhino poachers we were able to see what is involved in providing vet treatment and moving large animals.

All the Rhinos were treated and will survive

One of the best experiences ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was our first experience of Africa and a Game Lodge. We had expectations but Elandela exceeded them by a long way. Accommodation and staff. Very welcoming and friendly, polite staff who clearly loved the ethos of the lodge,(conservation) nothing was too much trouble if you had a concern or question. They made you feel special. Personal welcome by the owners.
Food.
Only one thing to say. Superb! Beautifully presented, charming authentic setting, cooked and prepared on the premises and each dish described in person by the chef who visited your table each mealtime.
High standard of accommodation, attractive communal areas and grounds. Wonderful views of the distant mountains and veldt.
Game drives.
We had 2 a day and the guides were very knowledgeable and informative.
A terrific mix of wildlife including six white lions. The lodge doesn't have elephants though.
Plenty of photo opportunities and the guides were always willing to stop and let you take a photo. I would recommend that you take a good quality long zoom lens as the animals are not always that close. We were lucky in that on our last day were feet away from the feeding white lions. that was a highlight.
Conservation and anti poaching is a high priority of this lodge.
Would we return to this lodge?
I would love to!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuLu186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
8.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
19.1 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.0 mi away
KwaMbili Game Lodge
KwaMbili Game Lodge
#11 of 102 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Property: Elandela Private Game Reserve
Address: Casketts KU 65 Portion 35, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed Private Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park.This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wild life and bird life from up close! Very Private Elandela Game Reserve has no incursions from other game drive vehicles and this makes for undisturbed game viewing! The Elandela free roaming White Lion prides - in the area from whence all White Lions originate - as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allow our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. Elandela is fast becoming famous for incredibly relaxed Leopard sightings! Elandela Lake View and Elandela River View Lodges are sculptured on the game rich banks of the Klaserie River and offers spectacular sunset views of the nearby Blyde River Canyon! Our 20 different rooms cater for all different tastes, demands and pockets. The purpose designed River View Family Rooms, with more beds per room and huge lawns, confirm our child friendly reputation! For the discerning adult visitor Elandela Lake View Lodge offers immaculate and luxurious Honeymoon Suites with five star quality and comfort. The Deluxe Suites are priced in between the Honeymoon and Standard Suites but all rooms receive the same warm, friendly, Elandela service! The mouthwatering fine dining cuisine and traditional Boma barbecues are prepared from the freshest local in-season produce! Included in your stay of two days or longer is one free afternoon visit to adjacent world famous Kruger National Park. Elandela Lodge is the right choice for those visitors who have game viewing and a love for nature as deciding factor to determine their South African photo safari destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elandela Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing