We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As two 60 something old travellers from Australia we had planned this trip for a long time, and we were not disappointed. We were collected from Hoedsprite airport by the handsome Nico and that started our love affair with Elandela. We were welcomed warmly by staff and the owners, Yvonne and Rocco your delightful hosts who are excited to share their life's work with you. The peacefulness, environmental delights and the general ambiance of the place is first class. Nico was also our guide for the five days we spent at Elandela. His intimate knowledge of animals and the bush was extremely informative. He is also a fun guy to have on the many safaris we did every day, he knows all the secret spots and hidey holes of the very elusive animals. We saw leopards and white lions every day we were there. Don't miss the nigh safari. No you don't want elephant in Elandela they will destroy the pristine park.
Meals were a delightful surprise each day by the bubbly Steven. We were thoroughly spoilt.
We are thankful for time spent at Elandela, we will definite go back again, soon we hope.
Those wanting the experience of a lifetime with animals galore, you don't want to miss Elandela .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elandela, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It is always a great pleasure to hear that the staff and animal residents of Elandela have contributed to make dreams come true!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    37
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
86
186
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had the pleasure visiting Elandela Private Game Reserve over the Easter Weekend in April 2014 and wow - this was an exceptional experience!

Personal service - and service with a smile, attention to detail, very high standards of cleanliness and always going the extra mile... this is what we experienced at this beautiful place in the bush.

From our arrival at Elandela with the most heartfelt welcome throughout our entire stay up to our departure with a very sad goodbye... we were treated like royalty!

It was so much appreciated to have a six-course dinner served and not (just) a buffet - this(a six-course dinner) is certainly not the norm in a lot of reserves. Steve, your passion for food is clearly presented on the plate and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal you prepared, thank you so much!

Carina, our guide is most definitely one of the best ranger-drivers I have come across! No situation is too difficult for her to manage. Her knowledge of animals, her love for the bush and going the extra mile to search for what we would like to see - incredible, and thank you Carina.

Precious - well, I have seldom seen somebody smile so much when serving guests - such a great feeling of being welcomed at the dining-table, thank you!

And most certainly thank you to the two people who manage everything that works like clock-work.... Yvonne and Rocco Gioia, the owners of Elandela, thank you for your kindness, for your hospitality, for being the personality of this beautiful place... We appreciate everything that you did for us, everything that you did to make this visit simply unforgettable and for being the heart and soul of Elandela. I believe that true and good management is seen with the service and happiness of staff - and I have seen it every day at your beautiful lodge and is only because of brilliant management.

On a personal note: I could simply sit for hours and watch this beautiful surrounding and enjoy the tranquility of this beautiful place called Elandela... THANK YOU!

We will certainly return soon.

Tanja West

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaWSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elandela, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Elandela Private Game Reserve is paradise for all of us and we feel ourselves fortunate to be able to share it with our visitors - especially our repeat guests! Thank you for noticing that to be able to share this haven for wildlife with so many visitors one has to abide by a program that works like clock work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The lodge is perfectly positioned, but it is the quality of the rangers and the staff that make this lodge outstanding, you can never guarantee seeing animals, but you have a fantastic chance of seeing what you want, while everyone here try's their best to ensure you see what you came for. I cannot
praise this enough

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaunm_robson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elandela, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your uplifting comments - we will convey your message to all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have recently returned from Elandela and were so impressed it has lead me to write my first ever travel review! We travelled to SA as part of our honeymoon at the end of March, and I cannot speak highly enough of the lodge and its staff. We were picked up from Hoedspruit airport and driven the short journey to Elandela, and after a warm welcome involving drumming and a welcome drink, and a brief but informative talk about the reserve, it was lunch and then out on our first drive. Between this drive and the second one the following morning, we had seen everything we were hoping for, barring the leopard. Because of this, on subsequent drives our guides were happy to listen to anything in particular we would like to see and literally go looking for them, in our case the leopard and we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of one. As for the other animals, it was so much more than a glimpse, they were literally right next to the vehicle, no need for cameras with big zooms! One bit of advice would be to make sure you go on a night-time drive. There are no guarantees you will see anything, and because of that and the fact we were so tired from the early starts, we didn't do this. We really wished we had though because there was one night where the other guests had seen leopards, hyenas and all sorts of other nocturnal animals - we really missed out on that one, our only regret :-(
The food was fantastic, I cannot understand how some people have their complaints about it. Steven the chef took the time every single meal to go around each table and explain what would be served. I am vegetarian and as long as you mention upon checking in he will cater for you. For the meat-eaters there was often a local delicacy - my husband said the impala was fantastic.
We were in the honeymoon suite which had its own private courtyard, jacuzzi, outdoor shower and 4 poster bed. I don't know about the other rooms but ours was lovely.
All in all this was an amazing place, and one of the only ones I've stayed at where you really do see staff going above and beyond their duties to make you feel welcome. As we left to the sound and sight of the staff drumming and singing a goodbye song I had a tear in my eye!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elandela, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It is truly an honour to know that we at Elandela will forever be part of happy fantastic times such as a honeymoon! Thank you for noticing that all of us at Elandela care! Yes, we do cater and prepare vegetarian meals with love! Thank you Steven!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Heaven: That is the first word that comes to my mind while I am sited in front of this magnificent ocean of green velvet, surrounded only by exotic animals like zebras, impalas, giraffes, leopards and monkys. Nothing else is needed. the silence is only interrupted by the animals, the river and the wind between the leaves of the trees. The night is also an amazing moment. The only things you need are a good guide and an ultraviolet light. Then you are ready to observe the glowing scorpions. when these creatures receive the light they glow like the ceiling of a disco. and if you want to enjoy Christmas the whole year the only thing you have to do is focusing the eyes of the impalas with the lights of the car and they will shine like thousands of fireflies. That is only the beginning. The food is the pleasure of the gods. Steven, the cheff, is a jewel of culinary surprises. And the amiability of all the people (Ivonne, Rocco, Nicola, Precious, Steven, Titi) is incomparable, they make you feel like home, even if you are far away from your country like me. Elandela, a refuge far away from the city, not only for the animals, but also for people. An infinite paradise despite the fences.

Room Tip: The suits for three are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneGioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Our aim is to make our guests feel like friends and as if in their own homes, not only for you to enjoy your own holiday here at Elandela but also for the mutual enjoyment of all the other guests sharing Elandela Lodge with you at that moment! Thank you to all our fantastic visitors who help make being at Elandela an "infinite paradise" !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were really looking forward to this two night stay as part of our trip to SA and Zambia yet it has to go down as the lowlight of our holiday. Yes the staff are friendly, informative and helpful, (not the owners who appeared not to care), and the evening storm meant we were unable to visit/see the white lions, but our biggest disappointment was the food! Steven the chef is a bubbly, passionate character but this does not transfer to the meals presented on a take it or leave it basis. Please give at least one alternative choice rather just present breakfast, lunch and dinner without an option, one evening it was a cheese presence with every course! I wouldn't mind if the food was good but sadly it was average at best.
The trip to Kruger was also a waste of time - thousands of elephants and we saw just one, even then it was when we left the park and were on the way back to the reserve.
The rooms are OK but very dark, not sure how it gets 4 stars, probably because of the pool?
I do think it could be a lot better if the owners bothered themselves to actually talk to the customers - they had dinner in the dining room with us and another couple yet failed to say anything other than 'good night'

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneGioia, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 7 May 2015
We respect the time spent travelling to a destination you have looked forward to visit and understand it is a huge let down if you have not been able to see the magnificent pride of Elandela White Lions because of circumstances beyond our control! Kruger Park is huge and as many guests have noted in their reviews such a vast reserve is always unpredictable in terms of what you will view! Steven was very proud that dinner of his cheese based menu and one of the reasons why dinner has six courses is to provide something for almost all tastes and according to the vast majority of reviews we succeed in that, most of the dinners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Having been in the tourist industry for over 15 years we are very critical when we holiday and hard to impress. From the moment we were collected from the airport surprise followed surprise. We wouldn't want to spoil the delights for other visitors but we have never stayed anywhere where there was such attention to detail and the staff and owners did everything possible to make our stay unforgettable. The game drives were spectacular, the thoughtfulness and knowledge of our guides were second to none. The food exciting, varied and plentiful. We came away with amazing photographs and memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1. From what we saw all rooms were equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 452ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elandela, Owner at Elandela Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We rate the opinions of hospitality establishment owners and staff very highly because they know what makes such an establishment tick and also understand the boundaries wherein you can work to keep every guest "happy". They know where to look and what really matters to create a memorable and enjoyable stay. Thank you for the taking the time to rate our services objectively and concisely! Pardon me to add that hospitality industry comrades rate our services highly - thanks, it makes the many challenges we experience in order to offer a huge reserve to others to enjoy, worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
19.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
255 reviews
135.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
101 reviews
9.3 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
231 reviews
21.8 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elandela Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elandela Private Game Reserve

Property: Elandela Private Game Reserve
Address: Casketts KU 65 Portion 35, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elandela Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elandela Lodge is an owner managed Private Game Lodge adjacent to Kruger National Park.This is big 5 country and we offer you opportunities to view African wild life and bird life from up close! Very Private Elandela Game Reserve has no incursions from other game drive vehicles and this makes for undisturbed game viewing! The Elandela free roaming White Lion prides - in the area from whence all White Lions originate - as well as our project to care for young Rhino orphans, allow our visitors an unique opportunity to experience an environment where animals are all important. Elandela is fast becoming famous for incredibly relaxed Leopard sightings! Elandela Lake View and Elandela River View Lodges are sculptured on the game rich banks of the Klaserie River and offers spectacular sunset views of the nearby Blyde River Canyon! Our 20 different rooms cater for all different tastes, demands and pockets. The purpose designed River View Family Rooms, with more beds per room and huge lawns, confirm our child friendly reputation! For the discerning adult visitor Elandela Lake View Lodge offers immaculate and luxurious Honeymoon Suites with five star quality and comfort. The Deluxe Suites are priced in between the Honeymoon and Standard Suites but all rooms receive the same warm, friendly, Elandela service! The mouthwatering fine dining cuisine and traditional Boma barbecues are prepared from the freshest local in-season produce! Included in your stay of two days or longer is one free afternoon visit to adjacent world famous Kruger National Park. Elandela Lodge is the right choice for those visitors who have game viewing and a love for nature as deciding factor to determine their South African photo safari destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Elandela Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elandela Private Game Reserve Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing