We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You know what to expect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Serrano

Casa Serrano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Phoenix
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You know what to expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Part of the Serranos chain in Arizona, so you know the food will be good. The service was a little slow the last night we ate there. However, the restaurant is huge, and we have never had to wait for a table. The Fajita special was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnlswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Desert
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a party of 8 - service was iffy - when a customer questions "which tequila is used in your house margarita?" the answer should not be "I don't know" the customer should not have to ask the server if they could please check with the bartender! Food took a long time to arrive and although my plate was hot, my one lonely ala carte chile relleno should not have been lukewarm and dry! Others' food was ok but no one raved about how good it was! The place is gorgeous for a Mexican restaurant but the quality is no longer what we expect from the El Palacio/Casa Serrano family. Very disappointed and will probably never return. There are other choices for Mexican in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landylady50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic and Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My family enjoyed this restaurant. The chips and salsa were very good and we were served right away. They immediately followed up with ice water and our ordered drinks. They kept our glasses full.

Our food came in at a moderate pace. Our server spoke English nicely and he understood us as well. The food was very good and quite tasty! The tamales and tacos were delicious. My sister had fajitas which she had no complaints. Our other sister had tostada and it was huge. Thus, the portions are quite generous and we ended up taking home enough each for another meal.

The prices are reasonable, the atmosphere is authentic Mexican artifacts with bright colours. It's a big place; a happy place to visit with your family. Just a sidenote: Truly this place could have been a dive and because of the flavours and presentation of the foods, I'd go back again!

Best to you, Casa Serrano!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MYKY929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mexican”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The customer serivice is so slow. Saltiest food I have ever had. The food was very disappointing. Honestly Im suprised they have been in business so long. We have triend them several times. Hopefull that things have changed. But NOPE still so salty I could barely eat it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Nevadas, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spinach Enchiladas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a big restaurant! Their special spinach enchiladas are just incredibly good, and we'll return. My husband also likes the carne asada. Nice chips and dips. This is an affordable restaurant and is bound to have something you'd like. Margaritas are inexpensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Serrano also viewed

 
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Lake Havasu City, AZ
 
Lake Havasu City, AZ
Lake Havasu City, AZ
 

Been to Casa Serrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing