We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for mid budget”
Review of Island Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Suites
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Arizona
Level Contributor
267 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great stay for mid budget”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Suites not rooms, with all the mod cons, our room had an old but fine TV set (not flat) and separate living/dining/kitchen area and a large bedroom. All was clean and worked. Outdoor pool for swimming and wifi. Booked with orbitz, check websites for promocodes for lower prices.

Room Tip: You CAN ASK for 'away from pool' or away from dining area to get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aladdin_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    52
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
66
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July when using Lake Havasu as a stop over when travelling from Palm Springs to Las Vegas. The hotel was easy to find, the free car park spacious and in a good location for eating out at night and a couple of minutes drive to the English village and London Bridge. Staff at checkin were polite and helpful, recommending places to eat as we arrived quite late which was useful. Our room was a spacious King room with an ensuite with a bath and separate seating and dining area. The surprise and big bonus of the room was the kitchenette with several cupboards, a sink, fridge, hob and microwave oven-perfect for longer stays or families! The was also a TV, plentiful storage and aircon. Complimentary toiletries were provided and the room had free wifi although it wasn't secured with a password. The room was spotlessly clean, but felt a little worn and old fashioned as did some of the corridors and breakfast room. The pool looked ok, situated at the front of the hotel, but it closed at 10pm so we didn't get a chance to use it. However, this didn't stop some guests staying in the pool until past midnight, making quite a bit of noise (we slept fine with our earplugs!) in response to which the staff did nothing which surprised us as they seemed very customer focused when we checked in. After a good nights sleep, we had a choice of waffles, muffins, cereal, orange juice, coffee and bagels for breakfast in our room as there were only two tables in the breakfast room.

Overall this hotel was fantastic value for money, we paid £47 for bed and breakfast, the location and facilities were excellent, the only cons we had were the noisy pool at night which (hopefully) isn't a regular occurrence and the slightly worn look and feel of the hotel and rooms, but it wouldn't deter us from staying here again if visiting Lake Havasu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the pool or you will have to keep the curtains closed for priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
756 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Pool is directly in the sun so don't plan on enjoying it during the hot day. Room was a good value with table and couch, etc. Very clean, service was good and there are plenty of restaurants nearby to eat in or take out. Not too far from the channel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I would give this property 3.5 stars but I'll rate on the higher side since our overall stay was very pleasant. We've been visiting Havasu for years and this is our first time staying at this property. While Heat is probably the nicest (and spendiest) hotel in Havasu, but we've noticed that LBR and Nautical have really gone downhill in recent years and for the money it just isn't worth it to stay at a higher rated property. So in the last couple of years we've explored other properties each time we go. Like another reviewer said, there are a ton of budget hotels in the LHC but this one is definitely the nicest we've stayed in and what a steal for $70 a night! There is no elevator at this property (we didn't know that) so when we checked in the front desk clerk offered us a room on the first floor which was really nice. Our suite was large, and clean. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, the water pressure was great and the A/C worked a little too well for my taste (since I tend to chill easily, next time I'll bring an extra blanket so my husband and I will both be happy). Having the kitchen was fantastic, and the wi-fi worked great. We don't get up early enough for the breakfast, so we can't review the continental breakfast. The only thing keeping me from giving the property 4 stars is the housekeeping and front desk staff. Housekeeping didn't change our bedding, just made our bed. :( It's fine during our stay I guess, but I'm going to keep telling myself that they do in fact actually change sheets and pillowcases between guests. And while our check-in clerk (don't recall her name but a younger woman) was super nice, the other lady we encountered during the other days of our visit had no personality. She wasn't rude, she just didn't make us feel particularly welcome. This won't be a dealbreaker for staying here in the future, but customer service may definitely impact a review if you don't bother cracking a smile for your guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brads_Wifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This place is much better than the current 3 star rating it has on trip advisor!
I've stayed at 3 different budget hotels in Havasu in the past 2 months and this one is my favorite so far.

Havasu has a lot of budget hotels. Most have horrible reviews.
Unless you want to pay big $$ to stay at London Bridge Resort, Heat Hotel or Hampton Inn... then this is probably one of the best bets for a 'budget' hotel.
Like most all the hotel-motels in Havasu, this place needs to be updated!

The good:
Large suite with small kitchen, fridge, dining table and small couch.
Room smelled fresh and clean.
Good value at $68 a night.
Ice cold A/C and 2 ceiling fans.
Friendly staff.
Large bathroom.
Great water pressure and high shower head.
Large, well lit and very clean parking lot.
Great location- close to bridge and town.
WiFi works good.
Clean room (except for items below).
Boat launch and slip included with your stay- WHAT?!..... a huge bonus!!!!

The bad:
Dirty old pillows with stains and hair! They need to replace ALL the pillows!
Dirty worn carpet in room and halls.
Tiny old school TV in our room. I noticed some other rooms had flat screen TVs
No room safe.
Cheap thin towels and they only give you 2 at a time!
No soft water.

In most cities this place would be a 3 star, but since it is hard to find a decent place in Havasu for some reason.... it is 4 star!

Room Tip: Rooms along the backside have the worst views because they look into the backyards of the homes that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Here for work, wouldn't have chosen this location personally based on my experience.

Check in girl was courteous and polite. Went down from there.

Room--college dorm-ish, industrial feel and hard bed. Curtains have little holes in them. There are smear marks on bathroom door and the tv. I had to clean them myself.

Maybe my expectations are too high, but, I'm stuck here 2 more days. And not thrilled. Seriously, who still has ugly hokey curtains and dorm deco? This place. And it's not even comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplealiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The staff at this hotel was very helpful and friendly, and they do keep the rooms very clean, but there were a couple of things that made this a less than stellar stay. First of all, the ice machine was down for our entire stay. Second, no in-room coffee, so you had to get dressed and trek to the breakfast room for really small cups of coffee in the morning. Third, the bed is very close to the window A/C unit, so the person on that side of the bed freezes, and since there was little in the way of bedding (2 sheets and 1 thin blanket), it was hard to regulate the comfort at night.

We did get a decent rate on this room, so I guess we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijustdontknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Havasu City hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
#1 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
874 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heat Hotel
Heat Hotel
#6 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiums
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiu...
#8 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Havasu Dunes
Havasu Dunes
#5 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Havasu Travelodge
Lake Havasu Travelodge
#2 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Suites

Property: Island Suites
Address: 236 Lake Havasu Ave S, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403-6501
Region: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Lake Havasu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Island Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Suites Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing