We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff”

Sand Point Marina RV Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Havasu City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Point Marina RV Resort
Redding, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

This has to be the worst place in AZ! The campground is half empty now, you used to need reservations just to get in. If you pay for a month and leave a couple of days early then they revert to a daily charge that will cost you hundreds, even though you have paid for a month.
They don't care if you ever come back. The staff is extremely rude if you complain about anything, they just don't care.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBallerina, General Manager at Sand Point Marina RV Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2009
Sandpoint offers nightly, weekly and monthly rates. If you make a reservation for a month and then choose to leave early, it is perfectly reasonable that your rates would revert to weekly and/or daily to best fit your actual stay and that you would be expected to pay the rate that applied. Many of our guests choose to stay for a month because of the discounted rate and it wouldn't be fair to them if we allowed some guests to "leave early" and still receive the discount. If any member of our staff is considered "rude" because they upheld our company policy when a guest is insistant on not-complying with them, I apologise. Our staff does try to be as accommodating as possible. As far as our occupancy being "half" of what it used to be, I think our current ecomony explains that. Statistic for both local and national vacation and recreation based businesses have shown a decline in business for the past three years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

We wanted to get away form it all and do nothing.
This is a hidden gem with a great view of the water. loved taking pictures and just kicking back.

warm weather, good bergers, cool beer and a brilliant view. just what the doctor ordered
if I had a boat this would be the place to launch it.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uscato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Sand Point Marina has played a major role in our family camping trips for over 2 decades. This is a place to go if your looking for serenity and beautify sceneries!!! The staff has been wonderful each and every year. We have been camping here year after year since I was about 7 years old. The boating and fishing are always good. The scenery is magnificent and a short walking distance to the waterfront makes it all worth while. The campsite is a little old, but we like it that way. We always know what we are coming back to with no surprises.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank msmarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2006

here is a little bit about sandpoint resort to start with their prices for campsites are very cheap in fact the cheapest on the lake however when you go to check in you are greeted by the rudest staff you have ever delt with and depending on what mood they are in is how much your stay will cost you i have stayed there 4 times this summer alone not by choice but they were the only one that had space all four trips i had the same family with me same boat and same rv same amount of nites unfortunatelly i was charged four different prices ie. pet electricity people etc, etc. etc. of which all four trips was the exact same stay weather people pets etc. upon asking at the "window" about the price differences i was told that i dont have to stay and there is other places to go of which i had already paid and they refused to give me my money..... now as far as maintence staff we had a water leak at the hose hook up and was told they were extremely busy with work couldnt get to it till later and 4 maintence guys were still sitting in there office for 3 hours straight..... i do not recommend that anybody stay at this location....

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBallerina, General Manager at Sand Point Marina RV Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2009
As the new General Manager for Sandpoint Marina & RV Park, I was disturbed to see that anyone visiting our facility felt that they had been treated rudely by any member of our staff. Being a concession of Arizona State Parks, our rules are very strict and often guests will disagree with them and not wish to comply. This, unfortunately, causes the occasional argument and often hard feelings between staff members and guests. These rules are not negotiable, however forcing the staff to be very steadfast in assuring their compliance. It is never our intention to be rude, nor does our staff make a habit of it. I apologize if you feel you were treated rudely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Havasu City hotels

San Diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2006

This was the kick off to hopefully a long summer of boating and camping. We stayed here from May 16th-19th. We planned on camping in our tents so we launched the boats from Cattail. It is right next to Sandpoint. My dad parked his RV there. Expect to pay $13/day to leave your car/trailer in the lot. $10/day to occupy a campsite on the lake. We boated approx. 1mi. north to our site. First come/first serve. Our site had ample trash cans, picnic table, and there is a common outhouse. A brick structure suprisingly clean and did not smell. Bring your own TP. This was EXCELLENT camping. Beautiful view of the lake from the site and you can beach or moor the boat. Recomended if there is wind as the boat can hit softball size rocks like mine did. Caused some pretty good gouges in the bottom. We had a blast pulling everyone around on water tubes. The fishing was great right from the shoreline. Stripper, small-mouth bass, and one 8lb catfish. Bring anchovie. It is getting hot already. Avg was 95. Lots of sunscreen required. If you're into people watching, cruise up to London Bridge. Very crowded, but lively. A lot of drinking and drunks, but didn't see anything inappropriate for my 6 yr old. The Sandpoint Marina had everything you needed in case you forgot to pack it. 20lb ice for $5. There is also campsites that offer AC/DC, water, etc, to hook up whatever you want, but those spaces are cramped. We enjoyed the solitude of our lakeside retreat away from everyone. Enjoy! Take pics/leave footprints

Helpful?
6 Thank bhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San DIego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2005

A marina on a nice part of the lake with horrible customer service. It would seem that the staff of Sandpoint could care less if you stay there or not. We were greeted by a rude reservations office, told that we were the wrong one's for their mistake and generally treated very poorly. Try Havasu Springs or Black Meadow Landing if you are looking for just as nice places with much better customer service.

Helpful?
9 Thank eheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarinaBallerina, General Manager at Sand Point Marina RV Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2009
Sandpoint and its staff very much care that our guests are comfortable, safe and happy while staying at our facility. We are proud to say that we have guests that have been visiting us for over 25 years and are now bringing their great grandchildren to stay. Our staff does not make being rude to our customers a common practice and I am sorry if you feel you were treated in such a manner during your stay. Sandpoint is a very small and quiet Park that has strict Arizona State Park rules. We appreciate all of our customers whether it be for one night or 180 nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Havasu City hotels
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
Hampton Inn Lake Havasu City
#2 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
12.9 mi away
Heat Hotel
Heat Hotel
#4 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
11.4 mi away
Havasu Dunes
Havasu Dunes
#5 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiums
Hidden Palms Resort & Condominiu...
#8 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Nautical Beachfront Resort
The Nautical Beachfront Resort
#6 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
12.8 mi away
London Bridge Resort
London Bridge Resort
#3 of 24 in Lake Havasu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Point Marina RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Point Marina RV Resort

Property: Sand Point Marina RV Resort
Address: 7952 S. Sandpoint Rd., Cattail Cove Exit, P.O. Box 1469, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86405
Region: United States > Arizona > Lake Havasu City
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Lake Havasu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 173
Also Known As:
Sand Point Marina Rv Hotel Lake Havasu City
Sand Point Marina RV Resort Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing