We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H12 Leshiba
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
US$132
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cuckoos Nest Guest House(Louis Trichardt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Grande Lodge(Louis Trichardt)
Booking.com
View Deal
93 on Celliers(Louis Trichardt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Avoca Vale Country Hotel(Louis Trichardt)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
131
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenda villagethe reserveluxury suitebush campon foottwo night staywild animalsheaven on earthpiece of heavenmorning walkoverlooking the valleysteep mountainmagical experiencewhite rhinowatering holetouch with naturecentral kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We are so blessed to have had this wonderful place as our honeymoon destination. Completely cut off from the rest of the world. We were so very lucky to have been the only guests there at that time and were so spoilt by Joyce and Nancy and the rest of the team there. Lovely home cooking! Most wonderful and relaxing massages! Most lovely guided walking tour and the most amazing game drive we have ever been on. Not the type of luxury you might find in the city but surely something very special and unique that makes you feel like you experienced a piece of heaven!
The two honeymoon private cottages/ suites has the most amazing views over the valley and animals, private splash pool, own little kitchen, huge bath, inside shower and outside shower and a huge bed covered with mosquito nets. This Venda village has earned a very special place in our hearts and we hope to someday have the opportunity to visit again. (Just one thing, if you do not have a proper off road 4x4, please do not attempt the drive up the mountain yourself. Rather make use of their transportation as advertised. Even though the attempt up the mountain, in the rain, in our little hatch back, was very exciting and adventurous - we only made it to the sign that says "10 bumps till Leshiba", - and had to be picked up in any ways. Lots of fun and laughter but not recommended for any cars other than big 4x4's.). This piece of heaven, definitely is also a "bucket list" item.

Room Tip: The two honeymoon suits are amazing!!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed two nights in the Leshiba Venda village. The whole style of this place is unique. The rooms in traditional style, combined with the nice decoration designed by an artist give this place something special. Rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious.
There is a central room which serves as a 'living room' where we enjoyed the warm fireplace, because of the chilly weather. From there, and also from the deck, you have a great view down the valley, where during our stay always animals could be observed. Meals are served in the restaurant, where also a burning wood-fire was adding to the nice atmosphere which was created by the great staff. They are really friendly, and provide excellent service and a warm smile. Food was also very good, we enjoyed every meal.
My wife had a massage, which she enjoyed a lot.
One of the nice things of Leshiba is the fact that you can do walks, even without an armed guard, because of the absence of dangerous animals. We did a walk with one of the guides, and loved to see bushman paintings, and got lots of information about traditional uses of many plants. We also did a game drive, where the highlight was for sure the presence of 7 rhino in the reserve. We came really close to three, very relaxed, with really spectacularly long horns. We also saw impala, zebra, giraffe, warthog. Except rhino, do not expect to see the more spectacular stuff, for that you better go to Big 5 reserves like Kruger. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our stay at Leshiba in the beginning of our two week trip, it was a very good start, and would not hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-Tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Not really far from Louis Trichardt ( 1.5 hour drive) , not easy to reach when you leave the main road ( bumpy, a steep dirt track) and certainly not in case of rain. But when you are.....you forget everything. It's not luxurious, certainly not, but the feeling of confort is greater than in a 5 stars hotel. You are somewhere magic. We had the nuptial room: 3 bungalows together with 2 terraces. A kitchen (don't forget the stuff, the nearest shop is 1 hour by drive). The team is fantastic, the restaurant is great. The nature is there and you are in....with your dream. Only one regret: we stay there in stopover....opt to stay here a few days

Room Tip: nuptial room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We enjoyed our 2day stay very very much because of: Joyce her excellent management of the lodge and the lovely food, her beautiful smile all day round. Tremors his very very good guiding at high level ( and we've had many many guides before so we can compare). He knows so much about the bush, the traditional medicins and the world in general. Also because of the beauty of the reserve, the close encounters with wildlife on foot, the birdlife, the stunning views, etc. The vision behind this lodge is so empowering and genuine that we will remember this forever.
Please John, Peter and all the staff : keep on doing this great job. Maryse and Geert from Belgium, yes where they make those chocolates :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Already the pick-up at the parking lot and the drive up to the lodge was unique.Our little house and the surrounding and the whole camp was simply marvelous. The dinners in the evenings and the brunches were something I never experienced for or after the Leshiba. We happened to be the only guests except the first evening, and felt like home with the personell. How we were taken care of is simply outstanding. It is impossible to describe Leshiba - you have to experience it yourself. My pictures are to be found in Google earth.
We did visit Leshiba in Nov. 2009 and I´m sorry for not writing earlier.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaj Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews