We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuklivari is a must, even for a stopover night.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Louis Trichardt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louis Trichardt
Reviewed 24 August 2008

What a graceful and peaceful place for a stay! Local art adorns the lodge, it is definitely he best we saw. The cultural and historical tours in the area give a specific dimension to SA reality, difficult to catch elsewhere, commending the lodge's efforts towards sustainable tourism. A walk in the bush or morning sunrise yoga in front of the lake and the Soutpansberg Mountains is wonderful. And, last but not least, Bettie and the staff treated us with the utmost hospitality, the cooking being absolutely superb.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiluvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2008

Shiluvari was our first stop and was the perfect place to recuperate from an 11 hour flight and 4 hours drive!

The room was a typical rondavel style, furnished simply and using all local crafts. It was large enough for two people, we had our own basic kitchenette (not for cooking), bathroom (with indoor and outdoor shower and a bathtub) and veranda with a beautiful view of Albasini Dam.

The restaurant food was simple, but very good; we thoroughly enjoyed going for meals!

Is one our drive from the Punda Maria gate, Kruger Park which I would recommend visiting as it is less frequented than in the south of the park.

We would recommend this lodge to those who want some peace and quiet in which to relax and enjoy being surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archpim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Stayed at this lodge recently and loved the understated sophistication and impeccable service. The tranquility is amazing and the environment feels very safe.
The food was good home cooking, but deliciously so.
The only problem is that the local tourism industry in the area doesn't appear to be jacked up at all, and we struggled to find anything to see or do.
You can visit local craftspeople at their homes, but this entails driving over some very rough offroad terrain so a 4x4 is pretty much mandatory.
If you want to get away from the city bustle, and you have time to travel, this lodge comes recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mpumalindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Okay, so this is not your average 5 star Lodge in South Africa.....forget landscaped gardens and white gloves, instead be prepared for one of the most authentic places we stayed at. We stopped here en-route from Botswana and on the way to the Kruger National Park, and were not disappointed!! The rooms were charming - all decorated with local arts and crafts, but still with some 'luxury' - think feather duvets, overhead fans, good tea & coffee facilities, hairdryers etc.....Nothing over the time, but certainly suited us...We went out with one of the local guides - Daniel, who took us along the arts route - what wonderful hospitality, we were truly humbled!! The food was fantastic , the staff very friendly, and we would certainly be back!! Loved the swimming pool overlooking the Dam......oh, and great birding too for those interested....thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flyingdutchman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2007

I have to say I was extremely disappointed in this place.
The things I went there for seemed to be not there, eg the sunset cruise(water is down 40% due to drought), the hippos (locals said they hadn't seen or heard hippos for years), and the myths and legends tour, which I booked, but got taken on the crafts tour, and though I complained, no recompense or new tour booked. The other things are advertised on the lodge site, but are not available and may have not been for quite some time.
All accommodation has thatched roofs, which, I discovered on this trip, is basically just a home for every crawling and slithering thing alive. I had more kinds of insect life inside my room than I saw outside. Four kinds of spiders, some white flying things, things that looked like big ticks, beetles, millipedes and some flying things that sounded like mozzies but didn't look like them. Sheesh!
AS for the food, it was great in concept, but failed in execution due to the SA love for overcooking and salt. And while the salt level in other places was generally too high for any other taste to be left, the salt content here actually brought tears to my eyes.

On the positive side, the staff were pleasant, the birds and flowers around the grounds were gorgeous, and the peace and quiet were soothing. The views were lovely. The owners kindly made an appointment for me with their family doctor as I arrived ill with a respiratory infection. So, not all bad, but not sure I'd recommend it to anyone who was not at home with sharing their space with crawlies, having their bookings mangled and extremely high salt content in the food.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cybercrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girardin, Owner at Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2009

Dear Cybercrone,
Thank you for you valued feedback....All comments are always welcome and we endeavour to use these to improve our product.....In response to your comments, all we can say is that we are really sorry you were so disappointed...Had you voiced your concerns (to me - as I did meet you...??) we would of done our utmost to rectify the situation whilst you were still at the Lodge....especially with rgds the food - as we pride ourselves on the exceptionally high quality of our food, we were quite surprised to hear that you did not enjoy this at all, especially with rgds the high salt content!! Shiluvari is best suited for the more culturally minded person, who is mobile and is either part of a guided tour or has their own vehicle...I think in this case your expectations as to what exactly we were were a bit misguided...either from our side or yours, either way, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, maybe one day you'll give us another try and we'll make it up to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2006

If you're looking for 5 star, luxury Big5 lodges - then Shiluvari is probably not the place for you. It's a small, intimate, family-run lodge situated on the banks of the Albasini Dam. Although it's fairly close to the Kruger Park, their focus isn't really on the typical African safari thing. Shiluvari is geared more towards peaceful relaxation, bird watching, walking trails and a fantastic local arts and crafts route which takes you into the homes and work places of rural artists, potters, sculptors, etc. We stayed in a cute little thatched cottage with great views (especially from the bathtub!). Lots of spiders, bugs and monkeys - which comes with bush territory, obviously. Great attention to detail...and FANTASTIC food - especially the 3 course supper. Hosts are friendly and helpful and arranged a sundowner cruise on the river where we saw crocodile and a fascinating variety of bird species. Probably not the best place for small children as there's not that much for them to do. There are no TV's or phones in rooms which forced us to relax and just enjoy the sounds of nature and of the owls and bushbabies while we lay in bed at night.

2  Thank Hatpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dragonfly hat eine sehr romantische Badewanne mit Blick auf den See
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louis Trichardt
24.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
Peermont Metcourt at Khoroni
#1 of 3 in Thohoyandou
92 reviews
23.1 mi away
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
Mashovhela Bush Lodge
#5 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
57 reviews
18.7 mi away
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
Madi a Thavha Mountain Lodge
#1 of 20 in Louis Trichardt
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Misty Mountains
Misty Mountains
#2 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
77 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Ultimate Guesthouse
The Ultimate Guesthouse
#3 of 20 in Louis Trichardt
41 reviews
35.6 mi away
Leshiba Wilderness
Leshiba Wilderness
#1 of 18 in Louis Trichardt
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge

Address: Louis Trichardt, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Louis Trichardt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Louis Trichardt
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiluvari Lakeside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiluvari Lodge is set on the Banks of the Albasini Dam and overlooks the picturesque Soutpansberg Mountains...the cool, thatched chalets form the perfect base from which to explore 'this land of legend'. On site facilities include the award winning wood-owl country restaurant, the Hog & hound pub and fireplace, wrap-around al-fresco terrace, lakeside swimming pool and motorized raft for sunset cruises. One of the first properties worldwide to be accreddited with the FTTSA trademark (Fair trade and tourism south africa) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shiluvari Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing