We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its the attention to detail that counts...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Ceres, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Its the attention to detail that counts...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The attention to detail and excellent service are two of the most outstanding aspects of Zwahili. Small details such as the addition of some leaves of the local flora carefully placed on the welcoming letter and towels adds a distinct bush-veld feel to the stay. A small card indicating the next days predicted weather adds a caring touch. One night its a chocolate on your pillow, the next night there is a small decanter of sherry next to your bed for a night cap. Staff treatment of the guests is as if you are the only person at the lodge and their desire to ensure your comfort and happiness is sincere. The sand in the parking area is even raked regularly to look need and presentable... no unsightly tyre tracks here!

Another interesting fact is the ability of the staff to multi-skill. Do not be surprised to find your waiter doubling as an informative game ranger or even a masseuse in the spa! This aspect indicates the passion with which the staff execute their duties.

Presentation of the food is always of a high standard and each presentation is a 'kodak moment'. Naturally, with that attention to detail the food is delicious. Table settings also differ depending on the occasion. From fancy folded napkins to paraffin lamps, each table setting is intended to create a specific atmosphere.

There are two games drives a day, each lasting around two hours. Game rangers are very informative with 'game trivia' which makes the drive very interesting. A hint: Look at both the fauna and flora, there are some beautiful 'veld flowers', although small, are beautiful down to the smallest detail.

The balance between pampered luxury but without derogating from the bush-veld experience is very well achieved.... well done Zwahili!

Of the 5 star lodges I have stayed at this was certainly one of the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Pierre,

Wow, thank you for the excellent review.
The photos you loaded are great.
Hope to see you soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    37
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
132
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

After booking 2 months in advance for my birthday treat and being overly excited to get away for the first time in 15 months AND to get a special rate I was really disappointed with Zwahili Private Game Lodge. My expectation and experience of 5 star is definitely not the same as the 5 star rating this lodge has. IN my opinion it was a very expensive stay :-( Luckily for the lodge the staff is very friendly and the service is good. Yet, unfortunately that is not enough to make me go back again. 5 star should not be average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Celeste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Celeste,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like royalty. The accomoation was really great. Nothing was too much to ask, and the staff were efficient and friendly. Big kudo's to the chef because the food was spectacular. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vadele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Vadele,

We are keeping your seat warm....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This special occasion for my wife was made even more special by the friendly staff! Dinner in our room, candles, flower bubble bath... The ranger taking us on the game drives was also outstanding. We could not have asked for more!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Johan,

Apology for the delayed response.

Thank you for choosing Zwahili to celebrate such a memorable occasion, I hope we see you again to celebrate your 61st.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner and I spent our anniversary at Zwahili and we could not have picked a better venue.

Charity and the team were simply wonderful and catered to our every need. The food was excellent. Special thanks also to Rudolph and Piet!

We would definitely visit again and can recommend Zwahili without any hesitation.

You made us feel very special, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Lourens,

Your kind words are highly appreciated and we are honoured that you chose our establishment to celebrate such a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently celebrated our 20th wedding anneversary at Zwahili. What an experiance it was! The staff were amazing, food exceptional, accommodation spectacular and they catered for our every whim. Awesome Experiance! Will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Marianne,

Celebrating 20yrs of marriage is a milestone and we are happy to know that we could add a little bit of magic to that !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent a weekend at Zwahili and it was absolutely amazing. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. The service, spa, food, game drives and our room were what you would expect from a five star lodge, but the surprise set up to celebrate our anniversary on return from our game drive on the first night, surpassed our expectations. We will definitely recommend Zwahili to friends and family and will hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGAST, Owner at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Tanya,

Thank you for the excellent review, we hope to see you again for your next celebratory occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
5.0 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
10.5 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
21.6 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 48 in Bela Bela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
7.3 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
23.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa

Property: Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Address: Farm 597, R33,Off the 2nd Boekenhout RD | Mooifontein, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace a true African experience; 3 luxurious main lodge rooms, 4 elegant Safari suites, 2 Executive suites and a Presidential suite await you. Immerse yourself in the tranquil sounds of nature with breathtaking views of the African Bush. Game viewing & guided walking safaris are conducted by experienced guides. Revive your body, mind and soul at the African Spa. Enjoy Masterful cuisine, personal exclusive experience. Superb attention to detail. 200 Kms North of Johannesburg in a malaria free area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing