We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Allrounder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Allrounder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are looking at getting pampered & spoilt, this is the place. Freindliness of staff, and the awesome food add to the great experience of being in the bush at a fantastic lodge. No malaria medication is a bonus.

Room Tip: Seperate chalets, more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Tony,

Thank you for your review and kind words, we really appreciate it and we are glad that we could assist in making your trip memorable. Hope to welcome you back to the lodge again soon,

Warm bushveld regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    37
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
132
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had the most amazing, most romantic weekend of our lives here!
From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty and felt so special.
The Presidential Suite was probably the most amazing room we have ever stayed in and is bigger than our whole apartment. We did not want to leave.
From the smallest details, the beautiful bed and bathroom and romantic bath to our own VERY romantic pool on our private deck. This was a ROMANCE paradise!
The Food was straight from heaven, every single course and we LOVED the turn down service with private dinner on our deck, romantic bed and bubble bath with candles! We loved the Game Drives and staff and everyone was So friendly and always striving to help and serve! This was the BEST weekend of our lives and we would go back anytime and refer EVERYONE to go here.

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite is Private, Spacious, Romantic and Truly special and Unique and has a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuiteleweMeisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. It was lovely to have you and your husband as guests at the lodge. We are glad that we were able to spoil you to some Zwahili hospitality and that we could assist in creating happy romantic memories for you.
The Royal African Presidential Suite is a very special suite, and definitely the perfect back drop for a romantic week-end. We hope to welcome you back to the lodge again soon.

Warm bushveld regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My fiance and I spent 2 days at Zwahili over the weekend of the 10th July.
The experience was amazing, along with the accommodation, which was incredible.

The staff were brilliant and we were always made to feel welcome and special with all of them paying a great deal of attention to every detail!
Charity and Basil deserve a special mention, with Charity making sure we were comfortable and catered for at all times and Basil with his enthusiasm and knowledge on the game drives.

In all, it was a weekend that will forever be in our memories and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Royal African is the perfect room, luxurious and peaceful away from the other units and close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart8520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we appreciate it. We feel privileged that we could share this special week-end with you and your fiancé and that we could do our share to ensure that it was most memorable for you both.

We wish you all the best with your wedding arrangements and look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Warm bushveld regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The experience was 5 star! Charity and her staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. The accommodation is luxurious and chef Salamina's food - simply brilliant! Basil was a treat on the game drives and John made sure that we were satisfied with everything at all times. They really do try and make your stay as memorable as possible with little nuances in between.

The variety of game is good and with the lions being introduced now this a must destination if you want to spoil yourself. Being only 2hours from the City makes it even more worth wile.

Thank you Zwahili!

Room Tip: One of the Safari suits is great value for money and if you can afford it - The Royal African suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacusG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Jacus,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could spoil you a bit with Zwahili hospitality.
We fully agree with you, to have a true bushveld experience so close to the city is definitely a bonus. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm bushveld regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My eldest son and I were looking for accommodation near Jubaweni, where my youngest son was participating in a rugby tournament. During my search for accommodation I came across Zwahilli Private Game Lodge. Zwahilli is perfectly situated for anyone who is looking for accommodation near Jubaweni! We had a fabulous time in between the rugby matches!! The service, food, accommodation and beautiful surroundings were outstanding. A bit pricy for our purposes, but for a romantic weekend get-away for couples, it would be worth every penny!! Ideal place to celebrate a wedding anniversary or special occasion!! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The tented suites are gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Elize

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.

Yes, Zwahili is a great destination for a romantic getaway but also perfect for parents who have kids playing sport next door.

We hope you will return soon for your own romantic getaway, we would love to welcome you back!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Situated just over 2 hours from Johannesburg Zwahili Lodge was ideal for a short break from the stresses of city living. It was quiet and peaceful and the bushveld sounds were just what we needed. The staff were efficient and friendly and made sure our stay was something we would remember. The tented suites have stunning views and are well appointed. Well done to Charity and her staff on a job well done. Forget about diets and eating plans - the food was amazing. Although they do not have big game, the game drives (which are included) are worth going on. Basil, our guide, was informative and entertaining. We left the Lodge after 2 nights feeling well rested and a couple of kilos heavier. Thank you.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile spending a little extra and getting one of the suites situated away from the Main L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Wendy

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review!

I'm very happy to hear that you had a great time at the lodge and that despite us not having the big 5 you still enjoyed the game drives and the knowledge that Basil has to share.

Diets can always be resumed on a Monday although we do strive to cater to your needs accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were a group of 12 people (2/room) and they were definitely not geared for group staying there. We stayed for 3 days and 3 nights and not once was one of us asked to sign for the drinks ordered. Therefore on the morning of departure, sorting out your bill was a nightmare. The drinks bill was extremely high and most people complained that they had liquor on their bills that they hadn't ordered. Our bill we were charged for 15 Zwahili caps and I actually just bought 1. We had to call back and ask for a refund!!! Food was good but would have preferred choices for lunch, as you only had 1 choice and if you didn't want that then you had to just wait for dinner at 19h30. There was no price list for the in-room snacks and bar facility and boy did we get a huge shock when we were given our bill!!! Be carefull of that and make sure you sign for every drink that you order from the bar at the main area's.
No TV or Airconditioner in your bedroom. No Internet of WiFi. ???? Surely not in a 5 star lodge. Dinner and breakfast was very nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. On the Saturday evening we were actually asked to go and sit outside the bar area, we told to order last round of drinks, and the manager actually closed all the stacking doors behind us to close up. This is unacceptable to me. Not sure that I will recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZwahiliGameLodge, Front Office Manager at Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Debbie

As we are a small game lodge, only sleeping a maximum of 20 people, we've never seen a need to print receipts for guests to sign after every drink ordered. This is mainly done in large hotels where staff cannot give personal attention to guests or remember guests and which room they are in.

With regards to the caps on your bill, that was an invoicing error which was fixed before your card was processed for your bar bill. We recently re-evaluated all our drinks prices and found them to be in accordance with the majority of other establishments. We also provide a list of drinks at the bar with prices. The minibar list is also in the cupboard next to the minibar in the room. Clearly stating all prices.

We have taken note on providing options for lunch which will be implemented as soon as possible. In the mean time we publish the menu at the bar in the morning, had you not been satisfied with what was on offer we would have gladly prepared something else for you. In future we'll ensure that staff carry this message across to our guests.

The weather and lightning strikes have been very frequent this year which unfortunately damaged our internet and WiFi more than once. This is a troublesome problem for us as we can only use a satellite to provide the lodge with an internet connection. We always try to resolve this as soon as possible.

The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa does not require TV's or AC's for a 5 star grading for a game lodge.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff do their utmost to ensure that all guests have an amazing time at the lodge. We have taken your comments to heart and will investigate alternative options with some of the issues you mentioned.

Warm Bushveld Regards
Liane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
5.0 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
10.5 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
21.6 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 48 in Bela Bela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
7.3 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
23.5 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa

Property: Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Address: Farm 597, R33,Off the 2nd Boekenhout RD | Mooifontein, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace a true African experience; 3 luxurious main lodge rooms, 4 elegant Safari suites, 2 Executive suites and a Presidential suite await you. Immerse yourself in the tranquil sounds of nature with breathtaking views of the African Bush. Game viewing & guided walking safaris are conducted by experienced guides. Revive your body, mind and soul at the African Spa. Enjoy Masterful cuisine, personal exclusive experience. Superb attention to detail. 200 Kms North of Johannesburg in a malaria free area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing