We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly, highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Managers Helena and Kobus and their staff organized the most wonderful wedding for us in the beautiful garden of the Leeuwenhof! Their enthusiasm, helpfulness and eye for detail made us feel very welcome and special. From the beginning till the end, we had an unforgettable stay: Guesthouse and garden are stunningly beautiful, the ostriches and the blesbok were drinking just meters away from the terrace of our comfortable and cosy house and the food was delicious with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. We went for a romantic champagne picnic close to the river, had a relaxing massage-with-a-view in the garden and went on a nice game drive on the 210 hectare grounds of the guesthouse. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    35
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
80
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our second visit Easter weekend (first was June 2011). Was in the same fabulous room as before with friends in the next room (both with outside jacuzzi's which were so relaxing as we enjoyed the view and the sound of the birds or other wildlife). Enjoyed daily walks amongst the game. Food was delicious. Spa treatments were really nice. Being so easy to get to from Joburg is a real plus as a weekend (or longer) getaway. Look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Suites with outside jacuzzi's are a great choice for space, privacy, and a romantic accommodatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoebeMJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lephalale
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place is just too amazing for words. You need pictures - I will choose one to include. The service is unbeatable, the food is healthy, tasty and beautifully plated. This is a worldclass resort. I have very high standards and were not let down once during my stay. The ladies in the spa do excellent treatments. I can highly recommend the chalets away from the guest house close to the watering hole where you can view the animals while sipping on a drink, sitting in your private jacuzzi. One night too short - I suggest a minimum stay of at least two nights. Kobus (the host) - you are the BEST! Mwa!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites away from the main building near the watering hole - it is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Spent the weekend at this Country House with a girlfriend. We had 2 separate rooms next to each other. Very spacious, with sitting area and jacuzzi out on the porch. Kobus was a great host and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast and dinner was great, the mini bar stocked and filled to the brim! We did feel that the bathrooms were very basic in comparison to the plush feeling of the bedrooms, but it still satisfied all our needs. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff friendly and helpful. We had complimentary body massages in the Spa - excellent! The floatation pool is to die for, we spent all our free time in there. The weekend was much to short, we recommend a 3 night stay to truly unwind and make the best of all the facilities on offer.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have a luxury, old world charm. The newer rooms are quieter since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Leeuwenhof is truly amazing!
It has the fantastic combination of a incredible landscape, great property, outstanding service (well above what one gets in south africa), gourmet food and a 5 star spa!
The rooms are magnificent - we stayed at one with a jacuzzi and the staff made sure our stay was super special and we had champagne waiting for us, chocolates, fruit, etc.
The food is outstanding. Breakfast starts with a great fruit plate with over 10 different fruits, followed by a buffet of cheeses, granolas, cold cuts, juices and then a full hot breakfast one can order.
Their 5 course dinners were phenomenal and the fact that you get a menu with choices for each course is a great thing especially for a small place as in most lodges you simply get what the chef cooked that day and not here. From celery soup to duck to ostrich, to leg of lamb or fish its an amazing selection.
We used their spa and got different treatments and the staff (who doubles up to serve you during the day) was fantastically trained to give different spa treatments and massages of superior top quality in an amazing surrounding! They also have a flotation pool and a nice hot tub in the spa as well as sauna and steam room!
This place is a hidden gem only 2-2.5 hrs outside of johannesburg and a place to really get away from things and relax.

Room Tip: The units with jacuzzis were phenomenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Leeuwenhof is a treasure one is glad to find after hours of roadworks on the way. The welcome was warm and friendly with a complimentary drink by a log fire. The Tao suite was pure luxury - indlcuding a jacuzzi. The hospitality tray was of a higher standard than most and the room set awqay from the main house. There is also a spa set amongst the garden where I enjoyed an excellent massge (included in the room price).
The food is tasty, well prepared and generously proportioned - almost to the point of being too much! The chef cares about her work and it comes through in the meals. Altogether a place to savour and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamakalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Kobus was at the front door to meet us after we had 'buzzed' the intercom system at the gate. So commenced the start of the attention that we were to receive throughout the weekend. A welcome drink, followed by help with our suitcases.
Our room was delightful and opened up onto manicured grounds. Boxed bars of full sized Dove soap in the bathrooms together with other usual sized toiletries. The only disappointment here was the single ply loo paper.
Kobus liked to serrve dinner at 7pm so that all guests ate together and latecomers delay the start. The food was wonderful and dinner is always a 4 course meal with sorbet served at inbetween.
Breakfast, on the other hand, is served at your leisure and in your own time and this made a change for us as we no longer needed to rush into the dinigroom to eat before it closed.
The lodge provides an evening, open side car ride around the borders of the lodge to view the animals and although we did not take advantage of this, we were able to walk around the property and saw zebra, deer, ostriches and even a hare at close quaters.
Kobus provided the walking sticks and sunhats for the journey.
although we visited in November, I am writing my review in January and can only add that I have fond memories of our stay and recommend it to those looking to get away from it all and to be well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
15.3 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
185 reviews
6.8 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
79 reviews
19.8 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
119 reviews
29.1 mi away
Monate Game Lodge
Monate Game Lodge
#1 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa

Property: Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Address: Loubad Road | Waterberg Limpopo, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Garden Spa is a small romantic Country Lodge in the Waterberg mountains near Modimolle in Limpopo. The property is situated on a 746ha farm with a timeless tranquility that emanates from the exuberance of birdsong, mature trees and the presence of red hartebeest and zebra grazing nearby. Each of the bedrooms has air-conditioning, a garden entrance and the comforts of pure cotton linen and a choice of pillows. There are also two giant luxury tents on the river bank and four new luxury suites with sweeping mountain views. A fusion of country and contemporary cuisine is complemented by fine wines. The Garden Spa offers a wide range of treatments and receives compliments from visitors who come from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing