We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monate Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Legend Golf and Safari Resort(Entabeni Game Reserve)
US$221
US$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
333
70
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
70
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscave dinnerclay pigeon shootingboma dinnerbush walkamazing weekendfood was amazingthank you very muchstaff went out of their wayattention to detailtreated like royaltywonderful experiencewedding weekendputt puttgame lodgeteam buildingbush experienceblown away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited Monate Lodge on a visit from London and it made me feel proud to be South African and to experience the warm South African hospitality. Ruby and her team made us feel welcome while Willard and his team took care of our culinary needs. During numerous game drives we had the chance to get up and close with the Cheetah, Rhino and various game. It was a surprise to find a complimentary cap in the post! I highly recommend the Monate Game Lodge, we will be back! David & Liza London UK

Room Tip: All rooms great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a very wonderfull and relaxed weekend at Monate.We were upgraded to one of the luxury lodge houses "Ruston" which was an exceptional experience with our own pool, waterhole and very private in the bush. From the moment we arrived Ruby and her team made us feel welcome and treated us like royalty. Everthing was just perfect, the food excellent and the dinner in the cave was truely enjoyable.The game drives were excellent and our guide Solly was a pleasure and we were lucky to see all the animals but the leopard.
We can highly recommend Monate Game Lodge to anyone for the best bush experience ever and the best managed lodge with Ruby, Nico and well trained and skilled staff to make it a unforgetable experience. We arrived as strangers but leave as friends. Will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Normal rooms are luxury but the two Lodge houses are super luxury and very private
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Perfect place for weekend stay over. Spectacular views and super friendly staff. Swimming pools could be heated as well as the Jacuzzi. Cave dining is a must. We also made new friends. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a peaceful breakaway for the third time at the Lodge, each time a new experience where you feel welcome and treated as a royal celebrity. The food excellent especially the potjies and Ruby and her team are well in tune with the guests requirements. We truly can recommend Monate lodge for a quick breakaway weekend, because not to far from Jhb and you get spoiled with nature and nice accommodation and lots of food. Thank you very much

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights at Monatelodge Lodge. On arrival, we had no hot water (geysers were not switched on) and the air on did not work. Both were resolved quite quickly.

We had two children with us and a baby - the kitchen served them pasta for every lunch and dinner until we asked to something else.

The main lodge and rooms were very clean but needs a facelift. Some of the cushions in the main lounge were full of stains and torn.

Having said that, the staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. Solly, the game ranger was the highlight of the weekend. Anna did a great job baby sitting for us.

Dinner in the cave was also great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaF1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews