We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing service and location”
Review of Birdsong Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birdsong Cottages
Jhb
1 review
“Most amazing service and location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Many thanks to William ( care taker/ receptionist) for the brilliant service. The rooms were amazing as well. The overall property was breath- taking. We will definitely want to return for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Birdsong Cottages. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience at our property and we are delighted that William's customer service made your stay a memorable occasion. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thank you for the great service and hospitality, we really enjoyed the beautiful surrounds and views. The rooms were homely and very nicely decorated. There did seem to be a slight issue with the toilets though as they did not flush properly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Louise, many thanks for your review. We value your feedback and will investigate your remarks regarding the flushing system. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked the 8 sleeper cottage with friends. The living room is a bit small to accomadate all 8 people but cosy. The location of the cottage is beautiful, surrounded by a lake, allowing you to absorb the peaceful tranquility and wildlife. Joseph (general manager) and William (who I renamed Dr William after I fell and he attended to my ankle) were absolutely amazing! The service they provided was outstanding and I would give them 11 out of 10. It was my birthday and they went over and above and out of their way to make sure it was so so special for me. Has to be 1 of my best birthdays ever! A million and 1 thanks Joseph & (Dr) William!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duggoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your birthday at the Birdsong Cottages outside Modimolle. We appreciate your feedback and compliments and will be sure to share your message with the team, who will be thrilled. Joseph and William will be commended for their great service. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here overnight when we were attending a wedding at a nearby venue. Our cottage was neat and clean in a lovely setting on a little dam. Very peaceful and wonderful birdlife ..the restaurant wasn't open when we were there so can't comment on the food but it has a great view of the surrounding bush.An excellent stopover spot or alternative venue if the wedding venues nearby are full.Joseph the new manager is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Maureen, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The "restaurant" in question is our brand new Koi Pond Reception Venue, which we will soon be utilizing to offer breakfast and dinners. We look forward to sharing this exciting new addition to Birdsong with you. The new venue has been received extremely well by all guests and we are pleased that this is also to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Birdsong. Excellent service from the staff. Clean, neat and comfortable. Have already recommended it and will visit again...
This is one of the most relaxing places I have been. Loved it.

Thank you and see you soon.

Regards Gudrun

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gudrun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Gudrun, thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Birdsong. We are thrilled that you enjoyed it and that you are also recommending it to your friends. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
386 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Birdsong for 2 nights along with friends a week ago. It is located a few km off the main road and fairly easy to find. We took the Flycatcher suites which have 3 bedrooms along with a common sitting area, dining and kitchen. The rooms were nice and the rest of the place well laid out with gardens and pathways. The kitchen was a bit small and the sink was very poorly designed with no dish drying area near it. The bathroom in our suite was also quite odd with no shower curtain or door which meant that water spilled everywhere in the bathroom. The sink in the bathroom was placed so high I had trouble washing in it, and I am almost 6 feet tall. My wife and I couldn't sleep very well as there was a lot of noise on the cottage roof in the early hours, probably monkeys.

The people who service the place were helpful and polite. There was a birthday celebration on in the main dining area which is almost like a restaurant so we did not eat there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review of Birdsong Cottages. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The wildlife at Birdsong includes various monkeys and the noise on the roof is very likely to be these animals passing through. We are sorry if this was of inconvenience during your stay.

The Koi Pond Venue is a brand new addition to Birdsong Cottages, which is perfect for events, functions, and we will also be serving meals here. Your photographs of the venue shows it set up for a private event which took place during your stay.

The kitchen of the Flycatcher Villa will be revamped in the next two months. Thank you for your comments regarding this addition of our self-catering unit.

The showers have been designed us such that the water drains. We will investigate an alternate option as the way they have been built adds to their charm and romantic feel of the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A wonderful gem that really surprised us. Hidden away and pleasantly secluded - a wonderful weekend getaway! The accommodation was beautiful, the surroundings fantastic and something very special about the different offerings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Birdsong Cottages, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Vivienne, thank you for your marvellous review of Birdsong Cottages. We are extremely proud of our hidden jewel and are delighted that you found it to your liking. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
305 reviews
9.5 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
48 reviews
9.6 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Modimolle Funky Stay
Modimolle Funky Stay
#7 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
9 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
27 reviews
16.1 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 50 in Bela Bela
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdsong Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdsong Cottages

Property: Birdsong Cottages
Address: Farm Rietspruit, Driefontein, R101, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Birdsong Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy farm-life and warm hospitality in our overnight accommodation or self catering units. Choose from a self catered farm stay or enjoy lodgings in the rondavel or our beautiful guest house. This popular bird watching area is within close proximity of the Nylsvley wetlands. Hiking trails on the farm offer breathtaking views. Birdsong is ideal for small functions, conferences, weddings and parties, with a beautiful chapel with seating for 50-60 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birdsong Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birdsong Cottages South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing