We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Druiwe Fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Was fantastic to have a place to stay with great air con rooms stunning gardens, refreshing pool and picture perfect restaurant. The room we stayed in was very nice great comfy bed and luxurious pillows. Breakfast was great what you would expect in a country hotel.Joey the manager on duty really knows how to communicate with guests she is a asset to Shangri la

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoeR121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Druiwe Fees. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Shangri-La. We are extremely proud of Joey and her service to our guests have brought in many compliments over the past year. Joey is part of our unique family at Shangri-La that lives to give you, our valued guest, the time of their lives, and we look forward to welcoming you back in our midst.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I was at this hotel before and wasn't very impressed, but I was wrong. This is an awesome place! The staff are friendly and very helpful, the views are spectacular and the rooms are great! This is a wonderful place to bring family or friends to for a break away. Thanks to the management and staff for making my stay this time round a wonderful experience...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Theunis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest, we are delighted that you returned to Shangri-La and allowed us the opportunity to offer you the experience intended. Thank you for your many compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The head chef at the hotel made our stay even more enjoyable and worthwhile. He's friendly, accomodating and more than willing to go the extra mile for guests (even picky children). He's food is wonderful and beatifully presented! He's an absolute star and made our stay all the more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear guest, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Shangri-La. It's wonderful to hear that chef Nicholas spoilt you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is an add-on to Robert Albers review of December 2013.
What another awesome visit to Shangri-La Country Hotel again, this time over Christmas 2013. Again we were blown away with the excellent reception. The rooms were terrific as always. The gardens had a revamp adding a brand new Labyrinth, which we enjoy thoroughly. The meals where magnificent, special mention to all the desserts enjoyed. The wild fig tree was amazing to view. We booked again to come back within a week for a birthday celebration.
Thanks again to Ken, Joey and all staff.
Elzaan Albers, Centurion

Room Tip: You must just book and come and see for yourself, to believe our stories.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzaan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your additional review and photographs. We are thrilled to see your picture gallery. Thank you for sharing this with us on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

What another awesome visit to Shangri-La Country Hotel again, this time over Christmas 2013. Again we were blown away with the excellent reception. The rooms were terrific as always. The gardens had a revamp adding a brand new Labyrinth, which we enjoy thoroughly. The meals where magnificent, special mention to all the desserts enjoyed. The wild fig tree was amazing to view. We booked again to come back within a week for a birthday celebration.

Thanks again to Ken, Joey and all staff.

Fam Albers, Centurion

Room Tip: You must just book and come and see for yourself, to believe our stories.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We thank you for posting your review of our hotel in the heart of the Waterberg. The photographs are lovely. It is always such an honour to host you at Shangri-La, and we look forward to spoiling you again soon. Wishing you a most significant 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel has been slowly rennovated over the last few years with excellent results. The communal areas and restaurants are lovely, and the gardens are gorgeous. The rooms are very well presented and everything in the hotel was clean and tidy. The food was a good standard and the staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Whilst we were there a wedding was going on - a wonderful place to get married (whether in the chapel or in the jacoranda-lined driveway).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our renovations and are delighted that you approve of the changes that we have brought to Shangri-La. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I believe it was Stewie Griffin who said, "Rustic - just another term for hovel". Please take a look at the photos I have uploaded to this post as proof of just how appallingly dirty this place really is.

I stayed in room 34 with my wife while attending a wedding. We booked the "luxury" room planning to spoil ourselves a bit, this cost us over ZAR 1200 per night. I suppose that it should have been a warning bell that, when booking, after paying them and then not hearing anything back for over 2 weeks, I had to contact the General Manager in order to get a confirmation of my booking.

My wife and I work in the hotel industry so have a very good idea how things work, so I was astonished to find a flooded bathroom due to a leaking pipe, dirt everywhere, light bulbs not working, air conditioning not working and just a generally disheveled look to the place. I provided the following list to the management while I was there. I did not hear anything back from them, although someone did come a second time and carry out another halfhearted cleaning.

"1. There is a leaking pipe somewhere in the bathroom which means that there is always water on the floor.
2. The edges along the walls of the bathroom are really dirty.
3. There is a rust stain from a leaking pipe running into the bath. I found that the stain is easy to clean, so this shows that the staff have simply chosen not to clean it. In fact the toilet paper that I was using to clean it was still sitting on the side of the bath even after the room was serviced this morning.
4. There is a light bulb not working in the bathroom.
5. The toilet roll holder is falling off the wall.
6. There are missing / cracked tiles on the bathroom floor.
7. (and most importantly) the AC system is barely working."

I must reemphasize that NOTHING was done to resolve these issues and I did not hear anything back from the management. I would not be so harsh in this review if they had only Mr. Ken Strydom, the General Manager, had bothered to respond to my written complaint.

The only good points were that the breakfasts were excellent and the waiters were very attentive.

In summary, if you enjoy spending long hot nights in filth and getting wet feet every time you go to the bathroom this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We have put an immense amount of effort into our facilities, standards and service you receive, but ultimately, it all comes down to your experience. We appreciate your compliments, suggestions and feedback regarding your stay. Your views are important to us as this helps us prioritize our efforts to offer guests the experience they expect. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at Shangri-La.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
70 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
121 reviews
9.4 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi
Thaba Pitsi
#8 of 51 in Bela Bela
51 reviews
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#19 of 51 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: £37 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing