We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Quirky and charming”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped for lunch en route further north, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a laid back charm, with a mix of some beautiful landscaping and clever setting (in an area not known for either in its hotels !), and some gently faded colonial atmosphere. The staff could not have been more friendly, the lunch, while simple, was tasty and beautifully presented. The children had space to run on the deck and we all enjoyed the trees and running water

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest, we are delighted that you chose Shangri-La to have lunch on your way north. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal and that the setting and service was satisfactory. Feel free to visit us again in the nearby future - we have a superb winter package that we can highly recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    71
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
80
107
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I arrived at Shangri-La and immediately felt welcome and comfortable. The room was spotless, and the pricing for the room and meals were reasonable. Given our recent negative experience of another establishment in the same price range, we were very pleasantly surprised and certainly had our expectations exceeded.We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your review on your stay at Shangri-La. We strive towards perfection and reading your comments is very flattering. Thank you! We hope to welcome you back soon for another restful escape at our jewel in the Waterberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Mapula at reception gave us the warmest welcome and escorted up to our room. The room we stayed in was a standard ajoining the child's room was basic but acceptable.

The magic happens when you step out of the room. Common areas are really beautiful, we spent most of our time in the pool area sipping on cocktails and savouring the exquisite gardens while listening to soothing music from outdoor speakers.

Both restaurants are gorgeous, breakfast was especially pleasant and the coffee is really good. Alfred was a true star, he organised a special dinner for us...bon fire, star gazing, beautiful set up which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We didn't feel rushed during mealtimes at any point. Staff was generally courtious and attentive to our every need.

Area of improvements:

I found Waiters to be really clumsy and lack adequate training, I realised they take on barister duties and cocktail making at the same time, this creates inconsistencies.

I recommend Xolani to be a dedicated barister/cocktail mixer as he is really good.

Overall, great experience and we are surely coming back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our establishment in the heart of the Waterberg. Your compliments, feedback and comments are most welcome, as this shows us which areas require improvement, and where we are exceeding expectations. We have shared your review with our team and they are truly thrilled! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

To Whom It May Concern

I would personally like to commend the service we received at Shangrila Modimolle, All staff including the Chefs, waiters etc made our stay very welcome and went out their way to satisfy us during our stay. Mapula at reception was also excellent, friendly and welcoming, Thank you.

However Alfred was brilliant, his attention to detail and the way he catered to our every need or request was excellent, i would come back to Shangrila just because of his service and politeness, guests that were with us a;lso enjoyed the experience. I hope this email will get him recognized in some way. From what i observed he has shown such great managerial aptitude. Thats how a manager of a customer orientated business should conduct himself.

Thank you Shangrila staff and Alfred for a lovely time, much appreciated. Hope to see Alfred as a GM at one of your other establishments in the near future.

Regards

Nomalan Pillay

Room Tip: Speak to friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Nomalan, many thanks for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is always such a thrill to hear from our guests and your sincere and heart warming review is very touching. Thank you for your lovely compliments. Your feedback on Alfred is appreciated. He will be commended for his great service. Alfred is a true star and we are certainly investing a lot of effort and training in him. He has recently spent a month at our 5-star establishment in Paternoster called Abalone House & Spa, which he thoroughly enjoyed, and our guests at Shangri-La are most certainly benefitting from the time he has spent there. We see a bright future for Alfred within our chain! Once again, thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a great place to go to for a weekend get away, we where 2 couples and found the hotel perfectly situated to explore the surrounds of Modimolle and using the hotel as a base. The restaurant was a pleasant surprise stunning décor and ambiance and all meals we had where great. We had lunch and dinner on Saturday and a fab breakfast on Sunday. The staff where helpful and Ken and Joey are a asset to this property. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a get away from jhb and especially Pretoria due to it being so close and the luxurious rooms are just a added bonus .

Room Tip: Rooms are all well placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeR121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest, we'd like to thank you for taking the time and write about your time at Shangri-La Country Hotel near Modimolle. Our hotel certainly is conveniently located. Not only is it an easy drive from Pretoria, but also close to the nearby towns Modimolle and Bela Bela with its various facilities and activities for young and old. We are very proud of our restaurants and hearing your praise is most welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was the most unforgettable experience. Driving through the gates you can feel the absolute tranquillity and peace. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and can't do enough for their guests. The food is awesome - ten out of ten!!! Rooms spacious and clean.

Staff is friendly, passionate and extremely proud of "their" property. I will definitely be back. This is the best place for family and friends to get together for a weekend of rest and good food.

Room Tip: "Family rooms spacious and all you need when traveling with children."
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santie_visagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear guest, thank you for sharing your unforgettable experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are most welcome. We look forward to hosting you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On arrival we were allocated a room with a bath only and no shower(even hand). It took about an hour to re-allocate us to another room. The new room had the following defects. The door lock did not work properly and required a special twist to open. The toilet mechanism was defective and had to be hand operated. The desk reading lamp needed a new bulb. The shower outlet was blocked. Some of these defects were attended to the next day. The bathroom condiments were partly used. On the first night we were awoken by noisy staff at 1 am. The hotel advertised a Sunday carvery which did not materialize. The a la carte menu was limited, expensive and uninspiring. There was no wine per glass available at the bar. The wine list is priced for a five star establishment while this place will struggle to reach 3. The rooms had no means of communication even though things like room service is (apparently) available. There is no fridge in the room and special (inconvenient) arrangements had to be made for storing things like insulin. The "double bed" consisted of two singles pushed together and which did not match in height. The check out took about 30 minutes due to the front desk being manned by new inexperienced staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Francis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you Francis for your review of Shangri-La. We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We take note of your complaints and will attend to these accordingly. Please note that not all of our rooms offer a bar fridge and that our rooms are also advertised as having either a bath or shower or both. It's good to know that you were offered an alternate room. We do offer handheld shower heads that fit to the baths at reception. We have received rave reviews for our food and we are disappointed that you did not find our menu to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
114 reviews
10.7 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
184 reviews
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
106 reviews
21.9 mi away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 51 in Bela Bela
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing