We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hartenberg winetasting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bela Bela, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hartenberg winetasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The chef really outdone it this time with his magnificent food complimenting the extraordinary wines of Hartenberg. The evening was wonderful, filled with airomas of the food in the air being prepared whilst the fireplace makes the atmosphere so cozy in this time of winter. Myself and my family had such an awesome time enjoying the mood set up at Shangri-la and the staff so friendly. Thanks Ken, Joey and the waiters for the splendid evening and not to forget the good people of Hartenberg wines that made everything possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We appreciate and value your review Nadine! It's a thrill to have you visit us again, and we hope to see you again at our next wine tasting dinner. We are also excited to announce that we are in the process of building our very own spa! We know that you enjoyed a wonderful massage at Shangri-La before, and we can't wait to share this new addition with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    71
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
79
103
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful setting. Wonderful, friendly staff, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was lovely. My son and I really enjoyed ourselves. The location is convenient and only two hours from JHB.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Megan, thank you for writing on Trip Advisor. We welcome all our guests to submit their reviews on this great platform and we appreciate your compliments and feedback following your recent stay. Shangri-La is ideal for romantic couples and small families who enjoy nature. Our lovely gardens and variety of facilities offer guests several choice activities - be it lazing by the poolside, relaxing by the poolside or indulging in the cuisine. We hope to welcome you and your son back soon for another adventure at Shangri-La.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had an awesome Date Night, spending the night over at hotel, the rooms are totaly awesome and cozy, Had the Hartenberg Wine Tasting the evening with the most amaizing five coarse meal and devine combination of wine.
Breaki was breath taking with such a fantastic spread...

Managers and staff members are superb and always there to help

Thanx for everything...

Room Tip: They all excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 43Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Natalie, we appreciate your feedback following your recent stay at Shangri-La Country Hotel. The Hartenberg wine tasting dinner was a huge success and we are happy that you enjoyed the event. We hope to see you at our upcoming events on 17 May and 7 June. Your compliments will be shared with the team who will be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went to Shangri la for a wine tasting and dinner with friends to celebrate my husbands birthday and it was fantastic. Breakfast the next morning was great and the fireplace was a welcome site as it was a little chilli for the start of winter , the fire burning just added to the beautiful setting.

Room Tip: All rooms peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRoos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Julie for taking the time to write about your experience at Shangri-La. Celebrating birthdays is a special occasion, and we are thrilled that you chose Shangri-La for your husband's birthday. Our wine tasting dinners have become very popular and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the evening with us. With winter upon us, we love to light the fireplaces which not only adds to the charm, but also creates a cosy environment for all. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped for lunch en route further north, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has a laid back charm, with a mix of some beautiful landscaping and clever setting (in an area not known for either in its hotels !), and some gently faded colonial atmosphere. The staff could not have been more friendly, the lunch, while simple, was tasty and beautifully presented. The children had space to run on the deck and we all enjoyed the trees and running water

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest, we are delighted that you chose Shangri-La to have lunch on your way north. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal and that the setting and service was satisfactory. Feel free to visit us again in the nearby future - we have a superb winter package that we can highly recommend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I arrived at Shangri-La and immediately felt welcome and comfortable. The room was spotless, and the pricing for the room and meals were reasonable. Given our recent negative experience of another establishment in the same price range, we were very pleasantly surprised and certainly had our expectations exceeded.We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guests, thank you for your review on your stay at Shangri-La. We strive towards perfection and reading your comments is very flattering. Thank you! We hope to welcome you back soon for another restful escape at our jewel in the Waterberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Mapula at reception gave us the warmest welcome and escorted up to our room. The room we stayed in was a standard ajoining the child's room was basic but acceptable.

The magic happens when you step out of the room. Common areas are really beautiful, we spent most of our time in the pool area sipping on cocktails and savouring the exquisite gardens while listening to soothing music from outdoor speakers.

Both restaurants are gorgeous, breakfast was especially pleasant and the coffee is really good. Alfred was a true star, he organised a special dinner for us...bon fire, star gazing, beautiful set up which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We didn't feel rushed during mealtimes at any point. Staff was generally courtious and attentive to our every need.

Area of improvements:

I found Waiters to be really clumsy and lack adequate training, I realised they take on barister duties and cocktail making at the same time, this creates inconsistencies.

I recommend Xolani to be a dedicated barister/cocktail mixer as he is really good.

Overall, great experience and we are surely coming back!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oracl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our establishment in the heart of the Waterberg. Your compliments, feedback and comments are most welcome, as this shows us which areas require improvement, and where we are exceeding expectations. We have shared your review with our team and they are truly thrilled! We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
5.0 mi away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#2 of 24 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 49 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#18 of 49 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
9.4 mi away
Summerset Place Country House
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing