We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures taken at Shangri-la”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The location is breath-taking and well suited. The atmosphere is totally relaxing and tranquil. The plants and trees are well taken care off. The staff ensures a pleasant and wonderful stay and the smiles are plentiful.

Room Tip: I stayed in a family suite with my parents and had a room of my own, with an en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elzaan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you Elzaan for sharing your experience at Shangri-La with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your compliments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience our brand new Spa opening on 1 July 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the perfect day and venue to spoil my hubby. We have enjoyed so many previous visits and never doubted to come back again. We stayed in a family room and enjoyed room service on request, just for fun.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and fully air-con equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you Liz for your beautiful review of your recent stay during our Father's Day celebrations. We are happy to hear that you had no doubt to visit us again and we hope to remain your number one getaway destination of choice. We look forward to sharing our new SPA with you, which opens on 1 July 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Alfred and his team is an asset to your establishment. They made our stay very relaxing and definitely knows how to make guest feel at home. Please pass our appreciation to them. Your food was excellent and the ambiance of the place is very good. I will tell my friends about our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Shangri-La. What a thrill to read your lovely feedback. Alfred certainly is one of our brightest stars, and our guests adore him (as do we!). We look forward to having you back and trust that your feedback to your friends will also entice them to come and see our paradise in the Waterberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Thanks for the great service guys!
Its a great place with beautiful grounds!
The rooms were clean and well kept!
The food was delicious!
The staff was very friendly and overall we had a wonderful time

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oteng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. What a wonderful review indeed! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Shangri-La Country Hotel and we can't wait to welcome you back. We will be opening our very own Spa on the 1st of July. We look forward to sharing this new addition with you and all future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

this is a truely breath taking place with excellent staff. Joey will always go out of her way with geusts and that was greatly appreaciated. a memorable experience with even more memorable cuisine. i for one will definetly make a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you visit us and we look forward welcoming you back soon. We have put an immense amount of effort into our facilities, standards and service you receive, but ultimately, it all comes down to your experience. We appreciate your compliments and feedback regarding your stay. We will share your review with Joey and the team who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We visited your amazing hotel again during the wine-tasting event on 17-05-2014. We stayed in a family-room, which was amazing as expected. Dinner around the fire place created a romantic atmosphere. We want to highlight a few amazing staff members; Ken, Joey and Alfred from management, Jacob from reception, Johanna, Lizzy and Ruth from housekeeping and last but not the least Ephraim the waiter, all for exceptional services rendered. Most amazing is your newly built spa. Also thanks to Alfred for the arrangements of the star gazing.

Room Tip: This is very difficult because all the rooms that we have stayed in thus far were exceptional, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shangri-La. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a memorable experience. Our successful wine tasting dinners will continue and we hope to welcome you back again when we host our next event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

had another awesome weekend at Shangri-la!
enjoyed saturday evening with the wine tasting presented by place in the sun.(not a wine drinker...but this was good!)
food was out of this world! Thanks Ken!
to ALL the staff....thanks for everything you made me feel so welcome!
Joey its always nice to do a booking with you.
Chris taking care of the rooms...well done.(thanks for the extra sugar/milk and coffee :-) )
Lawrence you are the best ever waiter i came across! i sleep out 5-6 days of the week...i wish i could take you with everywhere!
thabo and jackson...guys you rock! never had such a nice weekend with all the helpful staff.
i cant wait for my next visit!
Thank you guys!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 10! nice and warm :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickeyVict0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South O, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your welcome review. It is because of guests such as yourself, sharing their experiences on Trip Advisor, that we have just received our 2nd consecutive Trip Advisor Award of Excellence. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We will gladly share your review with our team who will be delighted. We hope to welcome you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
10.7 mi away
Abba Game Lodge
Abba Game Lodge
#4 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi
Thaba Pitsi
#8 of 51 in Bela Bela
52 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#5 of 51 in Bela Bela
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Linga-Longa
Linga-Longa
#20 of 51 in Bela Bela
3 reviews
15.3 mi away
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa
#3 of 25 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
112 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
Thaba Monate Game Lodge
#30 of 51 in Bela Bela
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: £36 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa South Africa/Modimolle (Nylstroom)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing