We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
198
84
40
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
84
40
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager on dutymain buildingattention to detailalfredweekendchefweddingrondavelsettingestablishmentbreathtranquildecklimpopobirthdaybushveldanimals
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This is one hotel that I will remember for a very long time. Situated outside the town with tennis court and an absolutely lovely nature effect. I had the most excellent room of all the hotels I travelled to with antique furniture and spacious rooms. Separate reception room for guests visiting and separate small dining room. Had a front and back porch where I could sit and relax in privacy. I was impressed. Lots of animals to see and the restaurant was also one of the most pleasant experiences at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KirstenPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you KirstenPTA for reviewing your stay at Shangri-La. We are very proud of our unique location and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our décor and bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at Shangri-la lodge and hotel!!! The service was excellent and everyone was very helpfull.
The rooms are absolutely stunning.
The food are delisious.
It's a absolute stressfree environment. So peaceful and relaxing.
We will defenitly visit soon again.
Thank you again
Regards
Feleschce and Seun Smuts

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Feleschce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Many thanks for your delightful review. We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and we couldn't agree more with your statement that Shangri-La is a stress-free environment. It's name doesn't mean "the place of eternal youth" for nothing! We will be sure to share your review with the team who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-la over the Easter Weekend. What was meant to be a nice break-away from the city turned out as a frustration. The first room we got (room 11) was smelling of damp, so we moved to room 31. Our first night we asked for cuppacino and was told that its not possible, settling for filter coffee we got given instant coffee. Second night, we ordered white wine off the menu, not available, eventually at the third attempt it was available and warmer than the paving. Our starters were served 1H30after we ordered it. Simple butternut soup. Main course was also not as per the menu. In short not what you expect from a 4 star venue.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helgaard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

We're truly sorry to hear about your experience at Shangri-La. We value your feedback as this helps us tremendously in identifying areas that are lacking or in need of additional training. We will be addressing the points listed above to ensure that the service is of the high standards we have set.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review based on my poor experience at Shangri-La Hotel.

It seems like there system is offline or not working they did not respond to any of their emails. I had to call and confirm whether the rooms are actually booked. When we arrived we received a different room then we actually booked.

When we checked in the room was not properly cleaned.The room needs A LOT of MAINTENANCE.The toilet in the bathroom is leaking water on the floor with a broken handle,very dark rooms,with dirty carpets and couches.

In the mornings there was hot water at certain times and sometimes had a cold shower.I left today with no water in the shower at all.We could not spend a day at the pool during our stay due to the fact that there is only 6 pool chairs available.

The Restaurant seriously needs to improve on their food.Sunday Night I ordered a Fillet steak and waited more than an hour for my food the veggies tasted a bit soggy(Frozen packs) but was ok not great.The morning breakfasts was also OKAYISH. The protein was served cold every morning with not a big variety, and stingy on certain foods like salmon.I decided to eat out instead on the last day.I asked for an omlette and the lady told me there is no more ham sorry.I have had much better experiences before!

There is a few postives though there gardens is pretty and gives you the quiteness and peace one would expect.

Would I visit again?NO

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Reino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you for your review. We invite you to please get in touch with our guest relations department by e-mail (shangrila@southofafrica.com). We are truly sorry to hear about your experience and apologise profusely that your stay was not enjoyable. We have very high standards for Shangri-La, and will address the above mentioned points in all earnest with management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We had the most stunning restful peaceful few days in this beautiful place not so far from home. Just 2 hours from Joburg. It almost felt like we were in another country. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. Also very child friendly and we felt at home. The gardens are exceptionally beautiful and this is what makes this destination so relaxing. Also good value for money. Would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciayilmaz1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you Luciayilmaz1971 for your review. We are elated to hear that you think Shangri-La is the most beautiful place in South Africa. We are truly blessed to have our piece of haven in such a wonderful setting in our beautiful country and its an honour to share this with you, our guests. We have recently put a lot of effort into making Shangri-La a child and family-friendly destination, and it's wonderful to hear that our guests are seeing this. Being just a short drive from Johannesburg makes it the ideal getaway destination and we look forward to being your "escape-to" venue of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews