We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leeuwenhof Country Lodge & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gorgeous Gecko Guesthouse(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Abba Game Lodge(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$24
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Birdsong Cottages(Modimolle (Nylstroom))(Great Value!)
US$34
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Monate Game Lodge(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bateleur Nature Reserve(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Bush Lovers Lodge(Modimolle (Nylstroom))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
197
82
40
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
82
40
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomgardens are beautifulcouples retreatmanager on dutyfeel at homefriends and familymain buildinga wonderful stayattention to detailalfredweekendspachefwaitersrondavelweddingteam
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We checked in with my friends on 7 May and had a wonderful time. We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The staff is welcoming and makes sure you feel at home.

We were treated like royalty. The staff went an extra mile in all they did for us. The restaurant food is so delicious. We enjoyed the Boma on Saturday.

We literally had nothing to complain about. Thanks Joey, Johannes, Simon,Jacob and not forgetting the front desk Manager. We had such a blast and really enjoyed the tranquillity.

Shangrila staff is the best

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peggy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

We're delighted to hear that you had a brilliant time at Shangri-La. Thank you for your review. We'll be sure to share your compliments with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a really pleasant stay at the hotel. Rooms were wonderful, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was a real knockout - the variety was great and you couldn't as k for more. The service from the staff was excellent - especially from Peter and Johanna. They were thoughtful and went out of their way to meet our needs. i will definitely return again.
Tennis courts were an added bonus and my kids loved the space to ride their bikes.

Room Tip: rooms 1 - 4 are prime positions for me. close to the reception and restaurant and very quite. ample space for kids to play
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ThabisoSehloho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you Thabiso Sehloho for your lovely review. We're happy to hear that your family enjoyed Shangri-La and even happier to hear that your little ones approved of the space to ride their bikes. Shangri-La has a whole range of new facilities just for children, which include the colourful kiddies room, putt-putt course, giant outdoor chess set and of course a holiday programme with fun activities. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This is one hotel that I will remember for a very long time. Situated outside the town with tennis court and an absolutely lovely nature effect. I had the most excellent room of all the hotels I travelled to with antique furniture and spacious rooms. Separate reception room for guests visiting and separate small dining room. Had a front and back porch where I could sit and relax in privacy. I was impressed. Lots of animals to see and the restaurant was also one of the most pleasant experiences at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KirstenPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you KirstenPTA for reviewing your stay at Shangri-La. We are very proud of our unique location and we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our décor and bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at Shangri-la lodge and hotel!!! The service was excellent and everyone was very helpfull.
The rooms are absolutely stunning.
The food are delisious.
It's a absolute stressfree environment. So peaceful and relaxing.
We will defenitly visit soon again.
Thank you again
Regards
Feleschce and Seun Smuts

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Feleschce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Many thanks for your delightful review. We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful time and we couldn't agree more with your statement that Shangri-La is a stress-free environment. It's name doesn't mean "the place of eternal youth" for nothing! We will be sure to share your review with the team who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Shangri-la over the Easter Weekend. What was meant to be a nice break-away from the city turned out as a frustration. The first room we got (room 11) was smelling of damp, so we moved to room 31. Our first night we asked for cuppacino and was told that its not possible, settling for filter coffee we got given instant coffee. Second night, we ordered white wine off the menu, not available, eventually at the third attempt it was available and warmer than the paving. Our starters were served 1H30after we ordered it. Simple butternut soup. Main course was also not as per the menu. In short not what you expect from a 4 star venue.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Helgaard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

We're truly sorry to hear about your experience at Shangri-La. We value your feedback as this helps us tremendously in identifying areas that are lacking or in need of additional training. We will be addressing the points listed above to ensure that the service is of the high standards we have set.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews