We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay - thank you!”
Review of Eskulaap Hotel

Eskulaap Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polokwane
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eskulaap Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good stay - thank you!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very tired from our long drive, our welcome at the front desk was helpful and professional.

Our comfortable suite had plenty of room, a useful kitchenette with stove/oven, kettle and fridge. There was also a well furnished living room with a three piece lounge suite. In the two separate bedrooms there were a comfortable double bed and 2 single beds with TV's and air conditioners.

The hotel has a good restaurant and a well organised breakfast with good choices and excellent staff.

The housekeeping section of the hotel (the staff and room standards) was excellent.

There is a pool with luscious green and beautiful gardens. We enjoyed the Limpopo sun whilst viewing the Koi pond and other bird life in the garden.

One of the best memories of this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff, together with clean comfortable safe and secure accommodation.

Very good stay - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I booked a unit for my family at this hotel en route to the Kruger National Park. I booked it primarily due to it's very competitive tarrif.
We didn't expect much and were really just looking for a place to overnight.
To our surprise it offered a lot more than what you pay for.
We couldn't help but stay the whole day and booked another night on our return to Cape Town.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, neat and cleanliness is clearly a top priority.
The gardens are well kept and lush green and my children enjoyed a swim in the pool.
All the staff were so friendly and accommodating and the buffet breakfast was a big hit too!
I can't wait to stay there again on our next family trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful and friendly hospitality during our stay at your hotel. We were pleasantly surprised at how quite the neighborhood is and felt very safe during our stay. Excellent buffet breakfast served by friendly staff. Lovely comfortable spacious room for the whole family.I will definately and did in the past refer collegues and friends to your hotel. Lovely owners!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laomiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My business hosts put me up in this so-called hotel (which is more a motel than a hotel). I was initially allocated a small room near the exit gate. I was moved to a much better and larger only because I complained about the lack of wifi in first room (they suggested I walk with my laptop along the driveway towards the reception area to use the wifi).

The larger room was at best acceptable in that it was spacious. The basic bathroom was smelly and the basin had a clear dirty ring around it.

The 'restaurant' was horrendous. The serving area was a room that seemed to be added onto another since the windows of the other room just opened onto the buffet serving area. There was very little choice of food. Supper is strictly served from 6pm to 8pm. I went for dinner at 7:45 and suspect that all the food was just left out from 6pm. All the food was cold to lukewarm. The meat was overlooked and tough. I did not finish my meal and refused to have dinner there again.

Choices were also limited at breakfast with the fresh fruit salad the only saviour. The tea/coffee area was no better than a camp kitchen.

Other than a large swimming pool (which I did not use because of the weather), there seem to be no amenities such a decent garden furniture, lounge or pub.

Like another reviewer, I am baffled how this place received a 3-star rating. Standards are very low, the checking was not done properly or collusion was involved. If this indeed a 3-star hotel then South Africa cannot be the destination of choice for tourists.

If this were a joke the punch line is that my hosts are one of the biggest hotel and gambling chains in South Africa (they booked me into Eskulaap because their hotel or the one they usually use was fully booked).

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskulaap, Owner at Eskulaap Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
First of all, I am very sorry to hear that the biggest hotel and gambling chain made a mess-up with the booking of this guest. To trade a hotel adjacent to a casino for another hotel can be a disappointment. It was very clear that this guest was already negative about his situation on arrival.

There is a big difference between a Hotel and a Motel and we certainly do not fit the description of a Motel. The Tourism Grading Council of South Africa does not have a classification for Motels. Every year we are independently graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa with a very high 3 star rating as well as Highly Recommended by the AA. Their grading criteria can be found on their websites.

We do not claim that we have WiFi in every room. We are situated on one hectare of urban land with tropical gardens. Although we do have WiFi reception in most of our rooms, it is clearly stated in our information booklet that we have two dedicated hotspot areas namely: the Restaurant and the Reception. WiFi reception is very dependent on inter alia the quality of your equipment as well as the distance from the WiFi router. Never the less did we not hesitate to move this guest to a bigger suite with WiFi reception at no additional cost.

I don’t understand the complaint about a ‘basic’ bathroom. This guest could have been more specific on this issue. A smelly or dirty bathroom is a major concern and we will surely attend to such a complaint as an urgent matter. Strangely this guest did not report this issue during his stay. After we have received this review on Tripadvisor we inspected this room and could certainly not smell this bad odor that this guest referred to in his review.

We serve both AYCE Buffet as well as À la carte in our restaurant. The food from the Buffet is served in a ‘Bain-Marie’ and kept warm until the last guest has left. If a guest does not like the selection from the buffet, he/she is more than welcome to order a meal from the À la carte menu prepared to his/her liking. We also have room service, as well as a microwave oven and fridge in each room. If the restaurant’s serving times doesn’t suit a guest’s schedule – for example a late arrival – alternatives can surely be arranges on request.

We serve a full English breakfast. Our menu differ every day, but consists mainly of the following: choices of juice, four different cereals, eggs (prepared to your liking e.g. omelet, fried sunny-side-up etc.), at least three hot meats, sometimes fish and liver, vegetables, fruit salads, bread, fresh fruits, cheese, variety of jams and sources, yogurt and beverages (Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Hot and Cold Milk etc.). If a guest can’t eat same of the dishes because of biblical or medical reasons we will try our best to adhere to these requests on prior arrangement.

We sure do have amenities such as solid wood garden furniture with ‘braai’ facilities next to the swimming pool. We also have a second even larger swimming pool to the east with sun loungers.

We do have a lounge in the hotel but we don’t have a pub and for good reason. There are coffee and tea in every room as well as in the restaurant. Soft drinks can be obtained from the kiosk and if a guest needs anything else, there is a liquor store less than 100 meters from the hotel. We also don’t charge cork fees. We are located close to excellent pubs and restaurants.

If Eskulaap Hotel is such a ‘dump deluxe’, why did this guest choose to stay here for 2 more nights?

We strive to give every Guest an accommodation experience beyond expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Polokwane hotels

Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We visited eskulaap park hotel on the 29th September 2012. We wanted to rebond in a new environment away from everyday familiarities. I must say we enjoyed the stay. We spend a lot of time in the beautiful and well maintained garden, took photos and relaxed at the chairs next to the swimming pool. The weekend rate also suited our budget (R350), one thing that disappointed us was the fact that the curtains in the bedroom appeared to be dirty. Non the less we enjoyed the stay and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We chose this hotel primarily due to its low rates (only R350 for a standard room) and had no expectations whatsoever. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel's neat outside appearance and the spacious rooms. There was also mini fridge in the room, which was very convenient. The staff were friendly, and the checking in/out process easy. We will most definitely return, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Dreadful hotel. Very small and cold room. The heater did not work on the cold night I stayed there. The bed had dirty, smelly linen which clearly hasn't been washed for a long time. Mediocre restaurant. Poor security. Street entrance to hotel left open without any security guard on duty. I didn't feel safe. The cleaning staff were very noisy and were shouting at one another early in the morning. Lots of mosquitoes in the room and in the restaurant. This place doesn't deserve 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELGUEST07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskulaap, Owner at Eskulaap Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Eskulaap Hotel's rooms are very spacious and stylish.

Every room is equipped with a air conditioner with heating and cooling functionality. Extra heaters are also available at reception on request. No guest has reported a faulty heater during March 2011.

We have a onsite laundry service, and the linen gets changed daily during your stay. However, extra linen is available in every room and also at reception.

Eskulaap Hotel has 24 hour security guards, roaming guards as well as a state of the art surveillance camera system that is monitored by a security company. The gate closes electronically after a 20 second delay and was functional the whole of March.

The cleaning staff are well trained and professional. They do arrive at 9AM and are well aware that no noise and loud conversations will be tolerated. However if there are noisy staff, we would appreciate it if the customer report this at reception. This will enable us to address the problem with the relevant staff.

Mosquito repellant is available in the rooms, at reception (open 24hours) as well as the kiosk. A notice hereof is displayed in every room.

There is a information file in every room consisting of all the facilities and services available, as well as procedures on how to report any problem.

We are independently graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa (TGCSA) as a very high standard three star as well as Highly Recommended by the AA.

We strive to give every Guest an accommodation experience beyond expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Polokwane hotels
3.5 mi away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#12 of 17 in Polokwane
34 reviews
6.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
1.5 mi away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Polokwane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane
4.1 mi away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#5 of 17 in Polokwane
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskulaap Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskulaap Hotel

Property: Eskulaap Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 492, Polokwane 700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eskulaap Park is an exclusive Hotel set in one hectare of landscaped gardens.Highly personalized service is offered by our personnel combined with luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of rural tranquility. Located in the heart of Polokwane, close to shopping malls, hospitals, sport activities etc. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing