We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking with lions... scary yet awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walking with lions... scary yet awesome”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My partner and I visited the Ranch to do a walking with lions experience - it really is quite an experience. We were in a group of six, walking with two 18 month old females, and a 9 month old. During the walk you have the opportunity to walk alongside the lions, and to pose for photos with them lying down. The guides (who are unarmed) took very good photos with our own cameras which was a nice freebie. The experience is a little unsettling but very interesting and fun.

Afterwards we had breakfast in the hotel which was excellent. Very friendly and helpful staff. Overall a great, family-run business.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    90
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
52
8
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just didn't fancy a long drive so we broke the journey at The Ranch.
Room and bathroom very comfortable, we ate in the family restaurant for dinner and breakfast which was very clean, and reasonable with good service.
A slight downside , I felt, was a frosty reply to what I felt was a reasonable question at reception - buy hey it was early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the restaurants and main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After 18 days on the road, many nights camping under the stars we ended our trip with a night at The Protea Ranch Hotel breaking up the journey before heading home. The family suites were fantastic, the food and service was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My only negative is the price of breakfast at R155 per person which was more expensive than the buffet dinner which decided to skip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgBretski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked by mistake by my company and it was a good mistake, Comfortable spacious rooms with friendly staff. Food, and wine, all good and in comparison with European prices very good value. Would use again if ever in the area. Would have liked to stay longer and enjoy the peaceful setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms very spacious and clean, the layput is not apartment style but rather single level units with own car port. The grounds beautifully manicured and the setting very welcoming. In room tea and coffee but no mini bar or fridge. Is the best accommodation in the area if you are going to stop over but be ware not to get it mixed with the other protea hotel which is a roadside motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Exceptional gardens, very well mainted and tastefully decorated hotel. As this was a business trip we did not have time to enjoy the grounds, golf course or the lions.
The buffet dinner was not a good option- as the quality of the food was disappointing. Kept heated for too long and not fresh. The a la carte restaurant definately looked like a better option in terms of ambiance and choise. Breakfast was fine with the normal full english breakfast.
Stayed at the golf course units- very spacious, big modern bathroom with all the amenities supplied (soap etc) and very good bedding making for a good nights sleep.
With arrangements and assistance of the front desk staff a hired car can be left at the hotel for the agency pick it up later as the car hire firms (Avis) are only located at the airport. This was of great assistance to us. As the hotel is approx 15-20km from town, this will need to be taken into account if you have business in town the next day.

Room Tip: The rooms at the golf club are a distance away for the main hotel- and these rooms have a step that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretoriamariev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days with my wife at this hotel.A truly great experience!Spacious rooms set in wonderful gardens.The steak at Basils' restaurant the best in South Africa.The walk with lions as well as the game drives are well worth it.Compliments to the staff as well,always friendly and attentive.
A great place to stay!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polokwane
9.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Polokwane Landmark
19.1 mi away
Bolivia Lodge
Bolivia Lodge
#12 of 17 in Polokwane
34 reviews
11.6 mi away
Town Lodge Polokwane
Town Lodge Polokwane
#5 of 17 in Polokwane
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fusion Boutique Hotel
Fusion Boutique Hotel
#3 of 17 in Polokwane
92 reviews
14.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane
18.4 mi away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
Address: Ranch Resort, Farm Hollandsdrift | 25km South of Polokwane on R101/ N1, Polokwane 0699, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Polokwane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Polokwane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort established in 1960, is the leading conference, leisure and sports resort in Limpopo. The hotel is situated within a 1000ha nature conservancy and offers 150 hotel bedrooms and self-catering chalets which boasts all modern conveniences. Our Preseidential and Executive suites feature their own private courtyard and spa pool. The 20 luxury two bedroom self-catering golf chalets can accommodate upto 4 adults and two children. Our superior culinary TEAM offers unequaled quality, creativity in local and international cuisines. Take the pleasure of experiencing the ambiance of Basil's fine dining restaurant, or enjoy all meals in the Buttery family restaurant or at our day time clubhouse restaurant. Awaken to the sound of roaring lions and experience these majestic animals on a game drive. Make sure that you meet the cheetahs which have been hand raised and get your camera ready to spot over 200 bird species and 25 antelope species, including Sable antelope, Golden wildebeest, Giraffes, Zebras and Buffalo. Our Facilities and services include, horseback safaris, 4 sparkling pools (2 heated), landing strip, tennis court, fitness centre, steam room, games room, the NEW Kolobe tented camp and TEAM building activities. Our state of the art sports academy offers a magnificent 12-hole par 3 golf course and has launched 2 multi purpose sports pitches which is ideal for professional sports teams to carry out their training camps. 12-well appointed and air-conditioned conference venues seat upto 1200 delegates, with adequate WIFI access through out the property as well as a back-up generator to ensure the hotel is self reliant. We are the ideal wedding destination venue - featuring bush weddings, contemporary weddings, intimate weddings and garden weddings. "COME EXPERIENCE OUR PRIDE, WHERE HOSPITALITY IS A LONG TRADITION" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing