We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No detail left undone!”
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we were self-driving in Kruger. Phil the owner and his wife Margi are excellent and inviting hosts. The welcome drink was a nice touch after our long drive from JNB and the breakfast was outstanding! The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated as well as VERY spacious. The bed was also very comfortable. The entire compound is like a little oasis. The steakhouse recommended by Phil was one of the best steaks I had ever eaten, so if you stay here, don't miss the steak! We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Jay Lodge and would very much like to visit there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mopps4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Blue Jay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just a great B&B . Lovely setting near Kruger National Park. The bedrooms are well appointed and the hosts make you feel most welcome. The garden and trees are just very special with amazing bird life.




  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice and friendly hosts which will provide all assistance as required. Comfortable and large rooms set in a separate house situated in a quite area closed to a gate to the Krüger National Park. An excellent breakfast is being served.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juergen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very clean, luxurious and spacious room with big bathroom and bath tub. It's a 8 to 10min drive to the Kruger National Park (Phabeni Gate). They organized all my Safari Tours and made wonderful fresh breakfast. They even packed a breakfast package in a cooler box when I left at 5am to the Kruger Park. A big supermarket and good restaurants are a 2min drive away. Really really glad that I stayed here and not in the Skukuza Camp within the park. In regards to the internet it was fast for me and also my own iphone had 3G connection (vodacom) in the room and garden.

Thank you Phil and Margi for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobman_surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good location near the Kruger Park. We were welcomed by the owner of the lodge. He gave us good advice about the Kruger Park and other issues such as good restaurants nearby. We had a delicious breakfast with our visit to the Kruger National Park. The rooms were very good, everything was there for a wonderful stay. Good beds!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great place, with friendly staff. The rooms are very well designed and would be ideal for couples. The bed is massive and the bathroom rocks! The breakfast is good too. Also helped organising a safari for us which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hussain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Excellent Excellent place!!! Phil and Margi are two of the nicest people we ever met. The Blue Jay Lodge is truly paradise. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet, and the surroundings are lush and tranquil. If I ever get back to visiting Kruger Park, I will absolutely stay there again. Great service and great surroundings--it doesn't get much better than that !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
4.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 39 in Hazyview
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: £98 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing