We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Jay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Jay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 19 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuhr, Germany
1 review
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our first and best accomodation in South Africa. Stayed there for 4 nights and everything was perfect but the weather. We can higly recomment the Lodge; beautiful garden, perfect rooms, amazing intelligent architecture / interieur... last but not least lovely Phil&Margi and their great breakfast!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
257
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My lexicon of superlatives and adjectives is insufficient to adequately describe this stay and previous stays at the Blue Jay. It is safe to say that we felt totally at home and Margi and Phillip could not do enough for us. Our heartfelt thanks to you both. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left was an unbelievable experience. Beverley and Norman Dean

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norman D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we were self-driving in Kruger. Phil the owner and his wife Margi are excellent and inviting hosts. The welcome drink was a nice touch after our long drive from JNB and the breakfast was outstanding! The rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated as well as VERY spacious. The bed was also very comfortable. The entire compound is like a little oasis. The steakhouse recommended by Phil was one of the best steaks I had ever eaten, so if you stay here, don't miss the steak! We really enjoyed our stay at Blue Jay Lodge and would very much like to visit there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mopps4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just a great B&B . Lovely setting near Kruger National Park. The bedrooms are well appointed and the hosts make you feel most welcome. The garden and trees are just very special with amazing bird life.




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starnberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice and friendly hosts which will provide all assistance as required. Comfortable and large rooms set in a separate house situated in a quite area closed to a gate to the Krüger National Park. An excellent breakfast is being served.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juergen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Very clean, luxurious and spacious room with big bathroom and bath tub. It's a 8 to 10min drive to the Kruger National Park (Phabeni Gate). They organized all my Safari Tours and made wonderful fresh breakfast. They even packed a breakfast package in a cooler box when I left at 5am to the Kruger Park. A big supermarket and good restaurants are a 2min drive away. Really really glad that I stayed here and not in the Skukuza Camp within the park. In regards to the internet it was fast for me and also my own iphone had 3G connection (vodacom) in the room and garden.

Thank you Phil and Margi for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobman_surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennep, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good location near the Kruger Park. We were welcomed by the owner of the lodge. He gave us good advice about the Kruger Park and other issues such as good restaurants nearby. We had a delicious breakfast with our visit to the Kruger National Park. The rooms were very good, everything was there for a wonderful stay. Good beds!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.9 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 19 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Jay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Lodge

Property: Blue Jay Lodge
Address: 645-647 Bluejay Street | P.O. Box 822, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Jay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Game Lodge Style Accommodation in Hazyview - 4 Star Graded B&B and Self Catering - 10kms from Kruger National Park entering through Phabeni Gate - 40kms from God's Window, Blyde River Canyon, Sabie & Pilgrims Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Jay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing