We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best personalised I have experienced to date!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Summerfields on the weekend of 8th-10th June 2012. We previously visited for a half day Spa package in June 2008, and we were given a peak of the rooms overlooking the Sabie River. Since then, I have always wanted to stay at the Summerfields Rose Retreat.

From the time we arrived on Friday at 11am (check-in is generally 2pm), we experienced the warmth of all working at Summerfields. We had a lovely lunch at the Riverside cafe, and the owner Andre came over to introduce himself to us, lovely gesture.

We were then taken to our rooms, which delightful, from the roses on the bedside table to the hot water bottles, outdoor shower and huge bath tub with views of the river below. This is not just any type of tent! There is sufficient plug points, aircon/heater (heater certainly came in handy for the chilly mornings and evenings in Winter). The bathroom also has a range of products to use, all made with roses from the Summerfields rose farm. The scent is amazing! I tried a shower and it was such an amazing feeling to be standing outside in complete privacy.

We had a couples aromatherapy massage at the spa, I maintain that Summerfields massages are the best I have ever experienced!! It is the only massage where I was able to fall asleep (both now and in 2008). Whether it is the heated massage beds, the pure aroma oils that smell like Heaven or the soothing sound of the Sabie River, Summerfields has the prefect recipe for an enjoyable massage.

The food at Summerfields is definitely first-class. They do not have a big menu, however whatever they do make is absolutely delicious. I advise for you to enquire about the menu prior to visiting, if you have specific dietary requirements.

I did enquire about the Rose farm tour, which we were not able to go on since it is on weekdays only. I can imagine what a gorgeous sight (and smell) it would be. Summerfields also grows their own organic veg, which is used in all of their dishes - very refreshing to know. Another thing I was extremely impressed with was the fact the in order to use the outdoor Jacuzzi, you have to make a booking. the Water is fresh for each guest, and prepared with roses, bubbles etc. I tried this in 2008 and it was great.

I really cannot fault Summerfields on anything in particular. The only downside is that in Winter, it is rather cold to be showering outside - it would be good if the outdoor bathroom section can be closed off in the same manner as the tent. Also, the Restaurant area is very nice with a marvellous view, however definitely chilly in Winter. They do have many outdoor gas heaters but this could be a problem on the bitterly cold days, where heaters are just not good enough. I also wonder what the lodge is like during rainy weather. Summerfields would be, in my opinion, PERFECT for warmer weather. Nonetheless, if I were given an opportunity to go back in Winter, I WOULD!

Thanks to Precious, Jameela, Audrey and the rest of the team at Summerfields.

Room Tip: Summerfields has 12 River lodges, all with a view of the Sabie River. From what I have seen, lodges...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights having a perfect base to do all the trips to God`s window, Pilgrim`s rest, etc. Also ideal place for a day trip to the Kruger or to take a tour at Chimp Eden in Nelspruit. Food was delicious, special kids`menu in the evening and if you asked twice there was even pancakes for breakfast. One night they had dinner down at the river where we were unexpectedly greeted by a wild rhino grazing around just a few meters away from us! We were more fascinated than frightened honestly ...
Also recommenden as a couples` getaway to spend in romantic river tents with an amazing spa.

Room Tip: Family stone house is excellent for families!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staying on a Rose Farm is romantic and Summerfields is something special. The tents are eco chic, gorgeous and tranquil with baths overlooking the rushing sabie river and fresh roses on the bed side table. My husband and I are not a fan of crocs but were delighted to receive some to where while wear while we there and thought they were a cool and practical alternative.

We were only there for one night and it rained while we there, but this added to the romance and cosiness of the place. There were beautiful silver tea sets in the room and hotwater bottles in the bed when we returned from dinner. The bath amenities are made using macadamia oil and roses on the farm - buy some to take home!

We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and breakfast overlooking the sabie the next day. The highlight for me of Summerfields were the roses, they grew the most beautiful roses I have ever seen in gorgeous colours and variations with beautiful scents.Make sure you pick your own bunch before you leave. Summerfields is perfect for a romantic weekend, proposal, a special birthday or mother's day.

The one area where Summerfields can improve on is consistency in service and training, some of the staff were great and warm and friendly but others didn't really know what was potting, Management needs to rectify this to make it truly 5 star

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MG050211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The website just didn't do justice. The permanent tented luxury accommodation is set in an enveloping cacoon of forrest. The sound of running water, which the tents overlook, near and distant birdsong and silence, is all you hear. Relax in the bath looking into the forrest and absorb the serentiy of the setting. Winding wooden walkways bring you to the spa, open air covered bar, fire pit, and further along, to the conference venue and restuarant. While we sat in the conference room the hippos played in the river, a stonesthrow away. The spa is divine and there are roses, roses everywhere.....awesome! Go there - drop out, even if only for a while.

Room Tip: They are all overlooking the river but the last one overlooks a small tributary - quieter water nois...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was surprised by having a weekend away at this lovely retreat.
The food, service and spa treatments were all first rate.
I don't think this is suitable for a whole family but as a couples retreat definitely! The staff are friendly and helpful and Lienkie , the head chef was excellent! She also uses some of her own "home grown" herbs etc. from the garden at the restaurant, she studied at Spier in the Cape, so how can one not marvel at her creations on a plate!
This is a "spoil you" retreat as it is pricy, but worth it!

Room Tip: Tented suites are super luxurious and each one named after a rose that is cultivated on the premises...
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Jetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I stayed in this heavenly retreat this summer (winter season in South Africa). We only stayed for 3 days and in hindsight would have stayed longer. Note the prices are 50% cheaper during this period.

An amazing overall experience;, a deck above a free flowing river, 5 star tent room/cabin, a shower position above the river with no doors and yet privacy so no other can see, a huge bath tub for two looking into the forest, hotel is part of a rose and macadamia farm so large that it takes a 5min journey to drive from the gate to your room, welcomed with a million fresh roses in your room, and a refreshing rose and sparkling water drink (which we are still trying to recreate) upon arrival.

Owners are very polite and charming. However the rest of the staff stood out for us ESPECIALLY Steve. He assisted us in every detail going the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed South Africa and our experience. The localness of Hazyview was truly felt with the kindness and and welcome from Linda (Steve's partner) who is the head chef of Kuka's in town a few mins away. Try her food it was lovely (and Halal, but please request in advance)

We would love to go back and would certainly stay in Summerfields.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Went first to casa do Sol in Hazyview, didn't like that accommodation and went to Summerfields, a little distance down the road. They had a midweek special of R995 per tent per night room only instead of R1395 DBB pp. The tents are really nice safaristyle tents with outdoor shower/bath and toilet but fully private right on the Sabie river. Very comfortable with all the luxurys you need. They have a lovelly bar and small lunch restaurant on the river and at night a proper restaurant at the entrance of the resort (not walking distance). In the evening they bring you to the restaurant and back. The restaurant is of a decent standard, disadvantage is that the menu and winelist are a bit restricted, maybe this is because it was low season.
They have a spa but we didn't have time to enjoy this.
we loved the setting and friendliness of the lodge and the very comfortable tent rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £253 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing