We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
312
80
22
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
80
22
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbeautiful rosesmacadamia nutswedish massagefarm to tabletented suiterelaxing massagetreatment roomsout of this worldpure blissluxury tentsmain restaurantromantic weekendfull body massagebath and showervery special placedinner menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My first experience staying in a tented suite, and was thoroughly impressed, the suite was situated steps away from the river bank where crocodiles and hippos wander freely and spotted in the evening.

A butler runs you a bath in the outdoor bathroom, with champagne and treats.

The food wasn't the best iv had but it was good.

And the spa treatment is very professional and relaxing.

Recommended for couples who want to escape hustle and bustle of city life to serene nature.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorothyMokale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Talk about an opportunity to get away from the city rush! Sleeping in an air-conditioned tent with nothing but the roar of the Sabie River in your ears! Staff are extremely attentive such as discretely making up the room while you are at breakfast, to closing the flaps at night whilst you are at dinner. Also, on the last morning, the kitchen was closing early so the waiter came to find us with the menu so that we didnt miss out! Carwash was a very nice touch as well.

Room Tip: Tent 5 is so close to the river you almost feel the spray!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We spent two nights at this idyllic lodge near Hazyview. The luxury tents were fabulous - we loved the bath overlooking the river, and also enjoyed the open-air shower. What a pleasure! Our tent was very private and we truly felt that we were on our own in these beautiful surroundings. We took advantage of the tasty meals prepared in the restaurant which also had a wonderful view of the river. To our delight the hippos passed by on both evenings - a real treat! The spa treatments were well worth it, and left us feeling quite relaxed. We look forward to our next visit to Summerfields!

Room Tip: Request a tent on the river
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There's something about a luxury tent, in the bush, on the edge of a beautiful river, that just hit the right spot with us. The open air shower, facing the river, is a highlight. If you take Monday off work and stay Sunday night you will save over 30% off the weekend rate and of course it's lovely and quiet. Took a walk through the macadamia orchard before dinner. We had a hippo splashing around the river during our lovely dinner at the River Cafe! Had a wonderful pedicure and massage Monday morning, took a tour through the rose house and went home entirely relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamandsamTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights; and although it is quite a distance to drive from Johannesburg; it truly was worth it. The service was outstanding; food was gourment and every meal was delicious. The wine list was not extensive but catered for all tastes; and prices were very fair. The tents are spacious and well appointed; with the scent of roses always in the air. The spa treatments were top notch. All in all a 5 star weekend; a real spoil! Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews