We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Been to Summerfields many times for dinner and have had lovely gourmet meals but booked to go last week for a special occasion and the Dinner menu was a pub menu. Very very disappointed as when we booked no mention was made of the fact
that they would only have a limited choice. The pub meals although very resonable were of very poor quality.Extremely disappointed would definitely put us off ever going again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank vickyanddave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    68
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
260
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As a couple, my wife and I have eaten at summer fields restaurant and raved about it every time. We have always wanted to experience their accommodation on the riverbanks which is rather expensive and finally decided to treat ourselves. The individual stilt houses are quaint but rustic and to be fair could use a good scrub and a spring clean. The spa was acceptable although kept one waiting. The staff and management are average to say the least and in an effort to get out of your way, disappear all together making this more like a self service facility.

Personally my biggest disappointments where; the dirty public pool that made it impossible to escape the heat as river swimming is not recommended due to wildlife, croc's and the poor food offered in the retreat not keeping with the food offered in the roadside restaurant.

I can definitely say I will not be returning to any of their facilities in the future, some times it is better to aspire than to partake.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We loved every moment of our second visit to Summerfields. WOW! You can really feel the hard work & dedication given by each and everyone to the comfort of the guest. Attention to detail is wonderful. From Charlie and his welcoming smile at the gate, to Karin who greets you at the start of the lodge. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the location is just perfect. Thank you to everyone at Summerfields who made our stay just magical.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had passed Summerfields Roste Retreat & Spa the day before and thought it would be nice to go to the restaurant. We had such an unfortunate experience due to poor signposting, communications and an aggressive manager/proprietor.
There is a man at the bottom of the drive-way with an antiquated walkey-talkey who informs the restaurant and spa people that there are people are on the way up. Unfortunately, there were no clear signposts indicating parking or saying no vehicles allowed past this point. We drove down this single cement driveway, only to come to a dead-end near the spa. The very kind spa beauty therapist, tried to assist us in reversing back. The proprietor/manager came thundering screamed at us, and shaking her head asking how did we get there, didn't we see the parking which (consist of wooden poles) and said that she didn't know we were going to get out. Whilst I was directing and my co-traveller reversing her car, a couple came down the hill and said that they nearly made the same mistake. They were going to try and help us, until the raging bull came tearing round the corner. She ordered the driver out the car and reversed it, she drove over own plants, I will say though that she is an excellent driver. She then proceeded to say well you had to open the gate to get down here, which we hadn't. If the gate had been closed we wouldn't have driven down the path. Needless to say we didn't bother to look anymore. It is such a pity, because the fields are beautiful. With a welcoming committee such as the one we experienced, I would not recommend it at all. This maybe an isolaated incident, but it certainly did not make a good impression.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jozi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrevanHeerden, Owner at Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are very aware of this unfortunate incident. The facts are as follows:

- Directions are given at the main gate, and the road is clearly signposted as is the parking area;
- At the entrance to the hotel is a circle, typically for drop-off of luggage. Two large iron gates, one which is always kept closed, marks the start of a narrow walkway to reception, some 60m around a right-hand dogleg. A large sign indicates parking to the right, another to reception through the gates;
- Our staff and security are all in radio communication (with state of the art two-way radios), and every guest's arrival is radioed to the lodge, spa or River Café;
- Jozi and her driver did make a right turn for the parking area, then proceeded to drive through the parking area, made a U-turn at the laundry, drove past the parking again, which is a shade-netted construction with parking bays, lights and disclaimers, back to the entrance gate of the Lodge/Spa/River Café. They stopped to open the gate, which is purposefully kept closed to dissuade vehicular traffic, and drove down the narrow pathway towards reception;
- There is no turn-around at reception, without going into the flower beds, and when Jozi realised this, they tried to reverse but ended in to flowers;
- A senior manager who overheard the radio, proceeded to assist Jozi, and offered to assist getting the vehicle out.

While this was the first incident of this nature in the past six years, we regret Jozi's unfortunate experience, and have now affix more signs to make it clear that only pedestrians should enter through the reception gates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My first thought when I read that i will be staying in a tent was "I'm not trying to go to a camp, I want a holiday with the same luxuries I have at home..." I was pleasantly surprised because the place far exceeded my expectations. Not only did they consider everything a guest would like for a special and private gettaway but they even thought of things that you would not expect as a guest; like the complimentary car wash on the day we left. James, Karin and Audrey attended to our every need from wifi code requests for our room to arranging our trip to the Kruger National Park. For all prospective guests - you will find it hard to not stay within the establishment as it's situated in a farm (rose, litchi and macadamia nuts) so I would suggest you factor in an extra day because just by being there you will not be keen to venture out - the place is sooo exclusive and beautiful!!! The official pictures do not do the place justice and the comfort and serenity it offers is out of this world! I WILL do it all over again with more days...Thank you for a memorable trip xxx

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on the Sabie river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We recently stayed at Summerfields Rose retreat and Spa, and were very impressed. Every staff member was exceptionally pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay very special. We found the restaurant staff, especially the waiters ( Innocent, Pieterson and Alec) to be very attentive. Thank you to Shawn and his kitchen staff for the excellent food as well, and the spa treatments were very relaxing and in the most beautiful setting. The accommodation was lovely and we would most definitely recommend that people needing a place to unwind consider a few nights stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynisJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was our second stay at Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa. Both times, it has been such an amazing experience! The impeccable services starts with the booking and follows through to check out and payment. The luxury tents are private with gorgeous views of the river and the bush. Attention is paid to every minute detail, to make one's stay as opulent as possible. I've been to the Summerfields Spa many times before and every time I come away saying that it was the best massage I've ever had. This time I had the hot stone massage which I highly recommend. Karen has looked after us on both our visits and her friendly helpfulness and personal service is hard to beat anywhere. We had absolutely amazing fine dining meals in the restaurant which I reviewed separately under Summerfields Kitchen. Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is worthy in every respect of each of it's five stars. Summerfields is a great place to relax and unwind, but be warned, once you arrive, you'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: We love the river view rooms. The other rooms are private, but in my opinion, the view isn't as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon22Sandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Property: Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing