We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finding that sense of home in the universe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The standard of excellence from food, to service and warm attitudes and initiatives of the staff to the actual setting itself is beyond that which I could ever have expected. The beauty and tranquil atmosphere of this place, allows one to feel at home in this universe!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

What an outstanding surprise Summerfields was. I was taken there by my now fiancé, ( he propose this weekend) as a special getaway for us to do things we love, Summerfields is the most georgeous place the staff are wonderful, the food, delicious, in fact it is so wonderful we are planning our next getaway back to summerfields, Sean the head chef is just the most wonderful person and actualises your every dream and wish, the "tents" are 5 star with aircon and the most beautiful bathroom, I have nothing but compliments for this wonderful place, if you are planning a relaxing getaway and want to be spoilt GO TO SUMMERFIELDS you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: we stayed on the river and it was a bit noisy but the sound of the running water is so soothing I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My two girlfriends and I decided to treat ourselves to a spa day in hazyview and one that comes highly recommended is Summerfields! You start the morning relaxing in a hot glass steam room, you then make your way towards the deck in front of the river where you sip on tea or coffee while they soak your feet in rose water! The view is incredible and the ladies are warm and welcoming! The treatments are done in open small wooden villas where you ly in the fresh air, listening to the tranquility of the running river water. They offer various individual treatments as well as combined packages which are very well priced! If you keen to spend the day they have a pool, jacuzzi and a restaurant for lunches! If you are looking for a unique spa experience this is the place! It really was a treat!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chantelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

a screen shielding you from the wild, you can't, can you? You shouldn't, you should just go. To attempt to explain in words, just is not possible. From the food, to the atmosphere, to the luxury tents you sleep in, which are anything but tents! I mean yes, they are technically tents, and yes, dangerous wildlife abounds, but imagine a claw foot vintage tub filled with bubbles & a glass of champagne, now plop that into the middle of the jungle, with a view, no window separating you of the river where the rhinos are resting...hard to do, just go, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have been meaning to pay a visit to Summerfields for awhile now & as it was a few days in the area to celebrate a birthday, I made a breakfast booking at the River Cafe after looking at the menus on offer on their website. What a disappointment! The menu on the web is not what is on offer. We were given a menu with a choice of 2 hot breakfasts only& no fruit juices were available. The Eggs Benedict that most of us opted for was tasteless. The waitress had a "no care" attitude & the restroom was smelly. Will definitely not be choosing Summerfields as a stay over in future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stumbled across this place looking for a cup of coffee...turned out to be a fantastic spot and have been back every week since. The rooms were delightful in posh tents overlooking the Sabie river although only glimpsed a vacant room. Booked in for a post marathon massage. Overlooking the Sabie river with the rapids rather than usual dolphin music to accompany the massage was relaxing and enjoyable. Well looked after the staff who did a great job on my tight legs! After the massage the rain cloud showers were a welcome bonus. Heading back again before I go after the Parkrun they offer through the Macademia and Lychee plantations. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Summerfields after spending a night at various lodges in the area just outside Kruger, and this venue was the most beautiful relaxing place of all. The massage to the sound of the rushing Sabie river, quiet drinks at the pool, comfortable tented room in the trees, bathing in the moonlight, and the sound of birds - absolutely bliss. Amber.

Room Tip: The tented rooms along the river offer the sound of rushing water through the night, while the tents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberm009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
423 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £232 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing