We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Your spa treatments and staff were amazing, me and a friend celebrated my birthday with a ladies day out on spa treatments and it was definitely the best choice. Amazing view, lying next to the Sabie river, water flowing giving you a break from your normal daily life style. After our treatment we went for a lunch at your restaurant, just as amazing as the treatment centre. Awesome view, nice food and great atmosphere. Would definition recommend it to anyone looking for a quick break away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vurush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    65
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
35
248
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellerup
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had our first night at Summerfields on our 16 days journey in South Africa.
We loved the setting, especially the lodge for breakfast and lunches at the river, can't get any better.
We had the stonehouse for ourself with stunning views, great for a family.
A perfect oasis for couples to go and stay in the luxurious cottages/tents at the river bed for ultimate relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarlgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Too short stay. That's one thing we can say about our stay at Summerfields. We expected that already, but couldn't fit in another night this trip. However, next time we'll surely do so!
It's a beautiful hidden place, with lovely tents, which we recommend if you are individual couples, as these lay at the base of the river a little distance away from the main building, restaurant and "stone house". Need to say though that we cannot comment on the stone house, as we have not been in there. From the tents you have direct access to the Spa facilities, the swimming pool, the bar and the breakfast area. They serve dinner "above" in the restaurant at the main entrance. You can stroll along the Sabie river and when you'r lucky, see a hippo family going on with their daily routine! Don't forget to make a booking for one of their VERY GOOD massages or treatments.
And just ENJOY, whether it is a short stay or a long weekend, you can't go wrong I think.

Room Tip: We prefer the tents at the river, because of the proximity to the river and access to the Spa, swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogzoveel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The experience were wonderful. The welcome from the staff were very friendly and professional.
The treatments were out of this world and the products used is of high quality. The spa is tranquil and so relaxing. It was a great experience and i will definitely return at least once a year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at Summerfields. The accommodation was very nice and different (with the open shower facing the river), the food was great (the Chef, daughter of the owners, is doing a great job at the restaurant) and the staff was really nice and always ready to help. We will sure go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My best friend and I decided to give ourselves and ultimate girl weekend. We booked the Summerfields journey for Summer of 4.5 hours, The setting is absolutely beautiful and while you receive your treatment you hear the sounds of the flowing water and the birds and smell the plants. It was an absolute pleasure and we got what we came for, ultimate relaxation!

Included in the package was a lunch and that was very disappointing. We ordered a Ceasar salad, but they used old grey chicken with vet, not nice at all. The table next to us ordered hake and that looked much better. We also thought that having to pay for one bottle of water and a tea at lunch could have been included in the total price.

We booked an hotel near Hazyview and made reservation to ate at the Summerfield restaurant for dinner. With the experience of the lunch we hesitated a little bit, but the dinner was great. We liked the idea of different breads, opted for a started, main and dessert and loved it all. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

After having lunch there one week ago rating was good - one week later diabolical - will take a lot to get me back there again

Dishes served not as per the menu - condiments specified not available and staff could do nothing

No one in charge to help resolve the problem

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Property: Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing