We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hazyview at it's best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were visiting Hazyview and the Kruger and came across Summerfields. We didn't stay but wish we had. We did enjoy several meals there - dinners in the main dining area, breakfasts & lunches on the deck by the Sabie River watching the hippos. We tried the spa too. It was great with the treatment rooms facing the river. We had a guided tour and this place features glamping ( glamour camping). At it's best. Will be going back to Hazyview but this time will stay at Summerfields.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have been a tour guide for a very reputable tour operator for 18 years. Summerfields is the newest addition to our tour and it is simply outstanding in all categories including service, location and food! A bid part of my work is critiquing and evaluating properties and I can assure you that Summerfields excels in ALL areas. No request was denied and every effort was made to accommodate our individual requests. Our 16 guests all raved about the Summerfields experience including all of the spa treatments and tour of the farm. Staff are full of smiles and the owners are passionate and hands on so that all that is promised is delivered. The location of the property is just superb and by far the most unique in the surrounding area. Make sure you partake in the outstanding Cuisine in the restaurant. This is not just a hotel in the area, but an entire experience. We hope to bringing our travelers to Summerfields for many years to come. A++

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 are right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was our anniversary weekend and we wanted something special. In my view, we had one of the best luxury tents next to the river. The only sound we could hear was the bubbling of the river, we loved it.They took special care of us, they set our dinner on a table outside on a patio where we had privacy. The food and wine was amazing, real quality chef food. We would recommend this place if you are looking for a peacefull and tranquil weekend.

Room Tip: The luxury tents next to the river is the best, especially tents 4-8.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fabulous, tranquil, one-of-a-kind setting to which other spa's aspire through their fake efforts in incorporating nature sounds via sound systems and images of nature and water. This place is it - located by the river in a dreamy haze of wooden pathways in a forest-like location which will strip you of everything and make you feel so relaxed and pure that you can't imagine its real. Or maybe its the lavender and roses on the pathway that intoxicates you in the heavy summer air.
The service is excellent, and our therapists just seem to materialise in thin air at just the right time without you having to find or do or ask for anything. It was quiet and peaceful throughout, even down to the therapists and their dream-like tranquil behaviour. The restaurant serves fabulous fresh food and the waiters are friendly. There should be more places like this that harness nature in such a way and works alongside it. We've never been any place like it and doubt we ever will again - it really felt like stepping into the Secret Garden or Narnia.
The products are all natural and raw - we had the yogurt, papaya and honey facials, and since then have hoarded the same ingredients at home in a feverish attempt to achieve the same magic. The shea oil was equally impressive and homemade (the proof is on your way out). We heartily recommend the day packages, one treatment is simply not enough time to enjoy this paradise. The pricing is fabulous value for money, or simply cheap if you're used to foreign currency. Thank you to Bongi, Anna and Priscilla for a fabulous trip, we look forward to coming again year after year. XXX

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelle_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in Summerfields for 2 nights in December 2013 to facilitate touring the Blythe River Canyon. Although we didn't avail of any spa treatments we found our visit completely relaxing. The accomodation was amazing and it was lovely to fall asleep by the sound of the river. Being birders we were thrilled by the birds we saw from our tented accomodation which included a pygmy kingfisher, a narina trogon, a thick-billed weaver, olive thrushes, purple crested turacos and plum-coloured starlings. We thought that the food was great and Sean Ward and his team in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful to us in choosing dishes and matching wines. We loved it and wished we could have stayed longer to be honest!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Your spa treatments and staff were amazing, me and a friend celebrated my birthday with a ladies day out on spa treatments and it was definitely the best choice. Amazing view, lying next to the Sabie river, water flowing giving you a break from your normal daily life style. After our treatment we went for a lunch at your restaurant, just as amazing as the treatment centre. Awesome view, nice food and great atmosphere. Would definition recommend it to anyone looking for a quick break away.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vurush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had our first night at Summerfields on our 16 days journey in South Africa.
We loved the setting, especially the lodge for breakfast and lunches at the river, can't get any better.
We had the stonehouse for ourself with stunning views, great for a family.
A perfect oasis for couples to go and stay in the luxurious cottages/tents at the river bed for ultimate relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarlgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
423 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#4 of 12 in Hazyview
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £230 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing