We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have received exactly what I was looking for : total quiteness ...except for the birds and the river flow, very romantic tent, very nice service, delicious massages, beautiful location for breakfast and lunch. I higly recommand.

Room Tip: I like the "noise" of the litle river..... but if you do not.. ask for a room on the big r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our first visit to Summerfields and it was a truly amazing experience. The friendliness and excellent service of all the people at Summerfields stood out for us. The food was amazing particularly the dinners at the main restaurant. The overall experience was beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The setting of Summerfields is simply spectacular and sets the tone for the rest of your experience. I have visited on a number of occasions and each time the experience hugely exceeds expectations.
Roses and petals scattered everywhere; wonderfully professional staff; a great selection of treatments; a stunning relaxation area with a pool, bar, and lounge area, this spa is breathtaking.
The restaurant and rose shop aren't to be missed either - both are a wonderful experience and I defy you not to come out with bundles of rare and beautiful home-grown roses. The restaurant is run by the owner's daughter who spent time in the kitchens of The Trip Kitchen in Cape Town and the food is absolutely exquisite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

If you want to spoil yourself, or a loved one, this is the place to go. The setting is superb, with the luxury tents and spa overlooking the Sabie rivier, raging after all the recent rains. The tents are very private, nestling in the riverine bush. The stoep and bath both overlook the river. What bliss to have an early morning coffee and a late afternoon bath with such a view in such a setting.
A hippo mom and baby visited while we were having a nourishing breakfast on the deck overlooking the river, after a long night of celebrating with friends. The food and service both excellent as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiesbethBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It was a wonderful experience spending the night at the "Stone House" cabin at Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa. The nature is beautiful with trees, flowers, a little lake and the big mountains far away. At the restaurant you will experience amazing food and desert, and a great service. At the spa you get really nice massage and the peaceful sound of the river flowing in the background.

Room Tip: Stone house is a nice and big cabin for six people. I recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We arrived at Summerfields early yesterday afternoon and were shown to our tented suite overlooking the Sabie River, just amazing. We are right on the rapids and the noise is quite intense, although also very therapeutic. The room is something else, open air bathroom with a huge bath looking straight out at the river. A great deck to sit and relax, where I'm writing this actually.

After a freshen up we headed out to the River Cafe for lunch. This is a great spot to sit and watch the river while enjoying great food. The staff are so friendly they make your time a joy. We booked dinner at the main restaurant and as we don't have a car here Sean, who runs front of house, also arranged to pick us up and take us to dinner. The gardens and pathways are spectacular, the array of flora is just mind-blowing.

Dinner was just brilliant, we were shown to a table on the verandah overlooking the gardens. They grow all their own produce here on the grounds, so you know it is all fresh and organic. Again the staff were great. After dinner Sean drove us back to the lodge, they don't like guests walking as hippo have been known to wander the grounds and have in the past scared staff or guests who were unaware of their presence.

We settled in for an early night, when you close up the tent and switch the lights off it is pitch black. The sounds of the river is so soothing so sleep was just around the corner. As I mentioned in a separate blog post ballooning the next morning was not a huge success, but nothing to do with Summerfields. It did give us chance though for a 'sleep in' and then breakfast. How magical was this, breakfast overlooking the river while hippo played in the water below.

Today we have just chilled out! After breakfast we went and sat by the pool, it was a little cool in the water, but very invigorating. It's a great spot to read and relax, which we did over a G&T. Then after a little walk and a rest it was time for lunch.

Lunch was brilliant! Not just the food but being entertained by James and Peterson, two of the staff. These two are just good fun, they feed off the guests sense of humour and just add to your experience. They know when to step in and what to say to make you feel special. Then when Sean joins them it just is great fun. We haven't laughed so much at lunch for ages. Helen wanted to bring James home with us, Peterson was all for helping him pack, but we can't spoil such a good double act. Just a great way to spend an afternoon. We've got dinner tonight here as well, what will James and Peterson have in store this evening?

Tomorrow we have an early start for the airport in Nelspruit, then off to Mauritius for the last part if our adventure. Africa is just amazing, we will have to start planning a return trip, and soon..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grabman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were visiting Hazyview and the Kruger and came across Summerfields. We didn't stay but wish we had. We did enjoy several meals there - dinners in the main dining area, breakfasts & lunches on the deck by the Sabie River watching the hippos. We tried the spa too. It was great with the treatment rooms facing the river. We had a guided tour and this place features glamping ( glamour camping). At it's best. Will be going back to Hazyview but this time will stay at Summerfields.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#4 of 13 in Hazyview
883 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £253 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing