We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I cannot recommend this place enough. Simply one of the most romantic, beautiful settings I have stayed in. Summerfields Rose retreat and Spa is such a well oiled machine and the attention to detail in this establishment is unparallelled.
The front of house staff are great, Shaun is an absolute keeper, Zandra incredibly helpful, Spa therapists are friendly and experienced, and every staff member on the property made us feel welcome.
We had a host of activities planned whilst in Hazyview, but when we were shown to our beautiful Tented Room, we cancelled them all. Summerfields has this ability to make you truly relax and unwind.
The whole story of this place makes you fall in love with it, and the van Heerden family are passionate about their property.
The food was DELICIOUS. The organic vegetable garden on site made our meals taste even better. The rabbit cannelloni, and fresh Line fish were our favorites. The property also has a very impressive and well selected wine list.
Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable! We cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrissCrossAddo .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really amazing location, very tastefully decorated room right on the river. Service was phenomenal, very friendly and helpful staff. Food at the restaurant was great, good wine menu. Spa treatment rooms are right on the river, the best I've been to. Very quiet and secluded resort. One of the most relaxing, romantic weekends we've done. I would definitely recommend staying at least 2 nights for the full experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nighteyes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked the entire camp for our group and after the manager Sean very efficiently sorted out our problem of getting the bus to the resort. We were bowled over with the beauty of the resort. The tents are fantastic! Extremely comfortable and absolutely every smallest detail catered for. Breakfast the best we've had on the entire trip! My only wish is that I could stay longer next time! Don't miss this resort, even go out of you way to get there. It's worth it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is by far one of the best spas that I have been at.

You feel special from the moment you enter the gates.

The couples massage area is next to the river with the sound of rapids in the background.

Therapists makes you feel like a million dollars.
Thanks SO much for being part of an absolutely fantastic memory!

We will most definitely be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CdeKoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A friend and I went for a spa treatment on 15 June 2014, we had the most wonderful treatment ever. We booked for the 90min Swedish massage and where treated like queens. While busy with our treatment, you are not only relaxed by the wonderful massage but also with the sound of the Sabie River flowing right in-front of you, you can not help but to doze-off while being pampered. Truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are a group of attorneys/ candidate attorneys who try to have a team-building Ladies’ Day once a year, and this year we visited Summerfields for a Ladies’ Spa Day !
The gardens are beautiful and it was so peaceful with the clear clean air, the calming sounds of the Sabi River and the rustle of the trees, and of course the most beautiful roses of every colour.
On arrival we enjoyed delicious cappuccinos at the poolside with the amazing view of the river. Small groups of ladies then had their treatments in 45 minute intervals, while the others relaxed at the lapa or explored the grounds and other facilities.
After the blissful pampering we made use of the lounge where we played some games and chatted, and then we enjoyed a delicious lunch at the River Café.
We enjoyed the day and the staff were all friendly and the atmosphere was very welcoming. We left feeling very relaxed. We had a wonderful time and must complement you on a lovely establishment. It’s the perfect place to de-stress and we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khadija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

my husband and i went to Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa on honeymoon for a treatment and thoroughly enjoyed it that we decided to go back! The service was impeccible, and the staff were extremely courteous. We loved the facilities and highly recommend it. The scenery is unbelievable. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#4 of 13 in Hazyview
882 reviews
1.2 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#4 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: £253 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sanctuary of Roses and Luxury. A fusion of African sensibilities with notions of romance and luxury everywhere, Summerfields Rose Retreat and Spa is a true sanctuary for the senses. An extraordinary place of gourmet country-chic cuisine under the stars, spa treatments alongside the Sabie River, rose baths prepared by your personal butler and the soft scent of roses following your every move, allows for a renewed sense of spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerfields Rose Retreat And Spa
Summerfields Rose Retreat Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing