We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful environment and very friendly owners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gecko Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful environment and very friendly owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

It is my 3rd time staying at this beautiful establishment and every time has been great! Its setting is superb, with beautiful gardens and a stunning walk through indigenous forest leading to the tranquil Sabie river.

The food is great, the service I find unbeatable...from helping you plan your next day to making sure you relax while taking in the beautiful surroundings! I can highly recommend and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and some rooms has there own unique theme :) There are quite a few to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaTravelerblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    64
    26
    11
    0
See reviews for
48
71
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

The price is rather steep for the type of room. But Anja & Gideon, the new owners of the place, make it more then up for. They were extremely friendly and more than happy to share their knowledge of the area and the things to do with us.
Breakfast was very nice too.
Anja & Gideon have only just taken over the Gecko Lodge a few months ago and one can already tell that they will do great things with the place.
Would definetly go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaHaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Gecko lodge, settled in the most beautiful parts of the pretty Hazyview is a must visit! It is settled very close to the river, for those, like me who likes nature and long walks, this is a must visit! Food and service was great! Thank you to the Barnards who made the stay great!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but try for ones closer to the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miggie45830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The accommodation itself is quite basic with no view but comfortable beds. The food here is lovely, we ate at the lodge every night and it was very reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and told us the best time to set off to get to Kruger, as it is a bed and breakfast they even provided us a breakfast bag to take with us as we were heading out early. We drove into the phabeni gate which was only 10/15 mins from the lodge, since we were travelling with our one year old we stuck to the main route and saw plenty of animals (lion, elephant, hippo, giraffe)
After a long day driving it was great to come back to a sumptuous meal and not to have to worry about trying to find somewhere to eat. Id recommend it as a cheap and cheerful base for Kruger.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 82Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We live in Maputo and recently stayed at Gecko Lodge with a large group of family and a friends who were visiting from overseas. All of our visitors loved the accomodation and incredible hospitality of the new owners and their staff. The location is particularly good for families, with the Skytrails zipline and good walking trails right on the property. The lodge is just minutes from Hazyview with easy access to Kruger and the many wonderful attractions in the area. The new owners have already made some significant improvements -- very comfortable rooms, great food and wine, wi-fi service, cultural connections to local communities and exceptional hospitality. We have stayed in many fine guest houses in Hazyview, but this has to be the best value for a wonderful and relaxing family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmrMaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I recently spent 10 days enjoying the extensive grounds around the lodge and using it as a base to visit Kruger National Park which has entraces that are 15 minutes away.The lodge has 23 tastefully decorated rooms,serves a great breakfast and can prepare meals at night.It is 3 kilometers outside of town set in native vegetation with many birds and some monkeys.You can walk down to the river and perhaps see hippos or small crocodiles.The bush is much more lush than in Kruger.The longest zip line in South Africa is just outside the door and there is a backpacker lodge 2 minutes away on the same property. The lodge has recently reopened with new owners who have much experience with lodges in Botswana-very interesting stories.The staff was great and I could relax and just watch the birds between trips to Kruger.

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtartaruga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champery, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Gecko is a nice and non expensive lodge with comfortable rooms.
All the staff has been very nice with us.
The restaurant is good.
For us, Hazyview is a good location if you want to go to Pilgrim Rest, Graskop and Blyde River Canyon but also Kruger park.
We stayed there 2 night and unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors the second night ,-(

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.4 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko Lodge

Property: Gecko Lodge
Address: 536 Farm 13, Sabie Road Route, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gecko Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gecko Lodge is situated 3 Km from Hazyview in Mpumalanga, South Africa, on a 35ha Farm with Sabie River Frontage. It is the ideal base from which to explore the Kruger National Park (12km from Phabeni Gate) and the Lowveld Panorama Route including Blyde River Canyon (89km), God's Window (50km) and Pilgrim's Rest (54km) This owner managed lodge has its emphasis on tranquillity, comfort, quality service and good food. Gecko Lodge offers the guest an escape from modern urban living. We, Anja (German) and Gideon Barnard (South African) the owners at Gecko Lodge, offer personal attention and service with a smile in short, "Value for money" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gecko Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko Hotel Hazyview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing