We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at Abangane and it is just wonderful. The place has a genteel ambience about it and it's just so nice to "come home" to after a hard day out in the heat.

First stop is the well-stocked bar to collect a beer then sit on the veranda and gaze at the view whilst enjoying the peace and quiet. Next stop is a refreshing shower with plenty of high quality toiletries. Maybe a quick doze in the comfortable bed and then out to one of the many nearby restaurants. Note that a car is essential as the restaurants aren't really within walking distance, though the drive takes only 5 or 10 minutes.

In the morning, a wide selection of hot and cold breakfast goodies awaits along with plenty of fruit juice and freshly brewed coffee and tea.

Klaus and Ridwaan's attention to detail at the lodge is superb. All the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated and the communal lounge area is comfortable and welcoming.

There is also an infinity pool and sundeck. That's not really our thing, but I can confirm that it is all kept spotlessly clean with constant attention from the "Earwig" (pool cleaning gizmo) and at least daily attendance by the grounds staff.

11/10

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The rooms overlooking the pool have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobra_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
38
118
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay - Ridwaan and Klaus were excellent hosts and very helpful. The room was very clean and well furnished. The breakfasts were excellent and the views spectacular. On our first morning we also saw zebras, ostriches, impala, wildebeest and giraffes in the field next door which was a fabulous start! We had a guide to take us to Kruger which is only a short drive away - it is worth noting that being in an open topped vehicle can get very chilly so wrap up! Klaus and Ridwaan supplied us with a fabulous "picnic" breakfast for our early morning safari and also for our onward trip as we were leaving early. All in all, we had a fabulous stay - and it was lovely being greeted by the dogs whenever we returned after a trip out!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be of equal quality - they are all on ground level and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon and John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

The dirt drive through the gates made me a little nervous. But once we arrived at the guest house, it was a magnificent surprise. With 8 rooms decorated beautifully in Out of Africa style, we had a beautiful view. We spent a lazy day on the patio, catching our breath after several fast paced days in Cape Town. Klaus and Renwaan are warm and genuine hosts. We had a bit of a dental emergency and Klaus made arrangements for a local dentist visit. Our hosts transported us to dinner each evening. The restaurant suggestions were excellent. Breakfasts were excellent and the service impecable. Thank you for a lovely visit and your warm hospitality

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Had an amazing time at Abangane. Klaus and Ridwaan were wonderful hosts. There is a lot of privacy, but they are always on hand if you need something. The location is ideal and has a spectacular view. You feel like you're miles away from everything else and can only enjoy the view and relax. The room we stayed in was beautifully presented and had everything we needed. Very close to Kruger and easy to get to the shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room is divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniAds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I'm traveling a lot for business and really can say that I wish some of the high priced hotels would offer the service I received at Abangane.

The first morning I got up and made a picture out of the bed. I posted it on facebook. A friend was replying that he knew this picture from the movie "Out of Africa". -Well. Actually that's not a bad comparison. After one week in Cape Town and Joburg I felt just arrived Africa when I reached Abangane.

I was staying for one week at Abangane and enjoyed every minute. With the car it's just a couple of minutes to go to one of the beautiful sceneries of Northern South Africa. -The Panorama Road is amazing! So as the Kruger Park which is also just a couple of minutes away. Perfect location for a lodge: Close to everything and still far enough from the city to have the full experience of a relaxing space.
It is the perfect spot for people who appreciate beeing alone and get pampered on request. The room was clean and very good equipped compared with other luxury lodges I've seen. The breakfast... oh, the breakfast. Cold meat from a German butchery, full or mince monty and on top a buffet with good selection on cheese, fruits, joghurt. I didn't had to wait for my coffee: I could just do it myself on a fully automatic coffee. Again and again.

I do not understand how visitors at Abangane can say they read reviews and "assumed" there would be Dinner served. Checking the website makes it clear! Reading rather then assuming would save some people from being disappointed and some friendly and nice lodge managers from beeing dismissed! I was attending two chats between Klaus and some guests and I am convinced that I would not be that patient on some questions he got asked and which he answered polite.

Actually I don't write reviews as I unfortunately do not have time. While I was checking the website (for booking my next stay there in 2013) and checked Tripadvisor I read the negative review and felt sorry for Klaus. He really does not deserve to be called roude!

Here some final hints to summarize:
- Have a car if you're in Hazyview
- Read the Website of Abangane to know what you're going to expect
- Arrive during the day, then you get immediately rewarded with giraffes, ostriches or impala on the dirt track that leads to the lodge
- Check out where you want to go for Dinner

Thank you Klaus, Ridwan & Abangane staff for making my stay at your lodge a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had the misfortune of reaching Albanians on aug 2nd after nearly 20 hours of travelling. It was dark at 6 pm when our driver dropped us off at Abangane. This was the first day of our 2 week vacation in south Africa. We had reviews of the place and were spending at first two nights there on the recommendation of our tour operator. First there was a minor mix up because the owner Klaus had misread the email and was expecting 3 not 4 of us. This was thankfully quickly sorted.

Checked in and klaus asked us what our dinner plans were. We had read reviews which recommended the dinner at abangane so naturally we were looking forward to a nice dinner before we retired for the night. Unfortunately, either klaus is an ill tempered man or he had had a rough day but he very condescendingly informed us that they no longer do dinners and all their guests normally get their own cars so what were we planning to do?

Then he said well, since you are in a soup I can take you and bring you back from a restaurant 2 Km down the road, for a price of course! No problem. We were all just very upset at his tone of voice and sheer rudeness.

Throughout our stay he was extremely uppity with us. In fact one of the other guests staying at the lodge were also upset with him because their bed broke in the middle of the night and he was most unconcerned.

Reading all the other reviews I can only presume that klaus was in one of his moods. Well you know what, you can't afford to have them during working hours!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank damebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abangane, Owner at Abangane Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay, although a terrifying one.
We would like to clarify certain aspects of your "facts":
Your booking was processed via a third party travel agent and we had no direct contact or details before your arrival.
Your booking was B&B only and dinner was never requested.
We were not informed that you are not making use of a hired car as we ALWAYS strongly recommend having a car because the location is not suitable when not mobile.
Unfortunately a lot of previous reviews mention dinners, which we have stopped serving in April already. Not everything that an establishment offered in the past is always still available. Our website and all other booking engines make special note of the fact. Information is always given to guests that booked directly.
We offered taking you for both nights to the restaurants and fetch you to accommodate your unique situation, which you made use of on one night of your stay
The fact about not worrying about a concern of other guests is simply a wrong and misconstrued observation. The carpenter was called in immediately and the issue was resolved the same morning to the satisfaction of the guests. The complimentary champagne we supplied to those guests was seen as a pleasant surprise but unnecessary (by the guests themselves) and surplus to be mentioned by you as you were not affected.

We are rather disappointed that our efforts to accommodate your misinformation about our lodge and the dinner service is now perceived as condescending and “since you are in the soup” is a saying we don’t know and would never use, neither in those or any other words. Transfers in our private cars are not our business and we have offered it purely to suit your needs. This furthermore also has got an insurance risk.
We are sorry that this was obviously not good enough.

We nevertheless hope, that the rest of your stay in South Africa was more pleasant than your time with us and we regret that your dissatisfaction is seen as “one of his moods” as we otherwise do not know each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Absolutely wonderful experience. The hosts are super friendly, Klaus is a very good cook, the ambient is just extremely cozy. It's a very nice property, very well maintained and decorated. You feel like you're miles away from everything else and can only enjoy the view and relax. The pool and garden are very well maintained and the view can make you travel far far away while seated under the porch. Their 4 legged friends are also very friendly and always ready to cuddle and running around. Feels like the rich grandmothers house where all the family gets together. The rooms are nice, simple but comfortable and spacious. Although its a bit pricey relating to others, I would definitely recommend this lodge if you want to really relax and enjoy a quality accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NunoCaldeiraOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Property: Abangane Guest Lodge
Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing