We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diifficult to fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abangane Guest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kroonstad
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Diifficult to fault”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at Abangane, the lodge is situated close to Phabeni gate and Kruger gate, it is thus conveniently located for day visits to the Kruger National Park, It is also only a 5 km drive to Hazyview. It is difficult to fault Abangane, the location is good (The rather lengthy drive, on a dirt road after leaving the tar, to the lodge can possibly be difficult for some low vehicles to negotiate), the rooms are comfortable, my wife missed her bath (our room only had a shower), The hosts are friendly and they showed great trust in accommodating my request to settle my account via EFT after leaving, the bar facility is also available on a trust basis. I enjoyed the breakfasts on the verandah (The Mince monty was especially good and the coffee was great too). The views from the verandahs are great, the rim-flow pool is beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all our requests. Abangana Guest lodge can not be faulted, but for us it lacked that x-factor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooihoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    31
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
39
122
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Beautifully situated little treasure with amazing view and excellent service, finely decorated in everything till minimum detail. Quite scenic pool. Rarely found piece and quite. Charming and very helpful owners. We loved every single moment of our stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at this beautiful property for 2 days prior to our safari. If you are looking for a great place to relax and unwind, look no further that Abangane. Owners Klaus and Ridwaan look after your every need and took time from their day to drive us to local restaurants. We hope to visit again and we highly recommend staying here in Hazyview.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Hoek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We did enjoy 4 nights at this beautiful guest lodge. We loved the room with is access to a beautiful terrace and garden with pool area. It has a taste of 'out of Africa'.
Very good breakfast with lekker richful omeletts.
A big thank you to the hosts Klaus and Ridwaan, who offered a great service and warm hospitality.We will defently recommend you to the people here in Capetown!

Room Tip: honey moon room with it's spacious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My family stayed one night before our planned safari in Kruger. We had two rooms and I can't say enough about this little oasis. We arrived late in the day and were a little skeptical upon entering the front gate, given the fencing and the dirt driveway,but once we arrived and Klaus greeted us at the door, we felt quite welcome and right at home. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and IMMACULATELY kept. Klaus was a wonderful host and treated us like family. He even gave us a ride to and from dinner. Klaus and his partner really pay attention to the details and our only regret was that we could only stay one night. The surrounding area seemed to be pretty busy, but life at the lodge was tranquil and relaxing. Won't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We didn't stay there, but were kindly invited by Klaus and Ridwaan for drinks at sunset. Gorgeous place with beautiful views and the perfect swimming pool overlooking the valley. Hope to stay at Abangane next time. Thank you guys!
Hugs from Miami!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etaravay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A totally excellent place to stay! The rooms are the perfect balance of comfort and everything you could possibly need. Beautiful view, excellent breakfasts on the veranda, great service and hospitality. Attention to detail and total cleanliness was very much noticed and appreciated. You do need your own transport here as you need to drive down a long private driveway to get to Abagane and there are no shops close by. Thank you Klaus and Redwaan, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abagane and were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.9 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
1.2 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abangane Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abangane Guest Lodge

Property: Abangane Guest Lodge
Address: S10 Sabie Road | Port. 97 of de Rust 12 JU, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abangane Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The very prestigious Abangane Guest Lodge is located on a 22 hectare portion of the original “Farm de Rust” situated on the Sabie Road in Hazyview. Since opening, Abangane Guest Lodge continues to maintain its exclusive 4 star environment. The Lodge is highly regarded for its peaceful, tranquil surroundings and its ability to provide the highest quality of service. Guests marvel at the sheer expanse of the luscious surrounding bushveld, picturesque gardens, panoramic views across the valley, the majestic mountains in the distance and the promise of a glorious sunset. Abangane is an exceptional and exclusive lodge. At sunrise and sunset Zebras, Impalas, Giraffes and many more can be seen grazing on the neighboring private game farm. The sparkling blue infinity pool with its breathtaking view over the valley adds to the serene ambiance. Nighttime is magical with lanterns that invite you for a walk through the lush gardens while you take in the sounds of the evening. Most evenings you will be blessed with the haunting cry of the Fish Eagle heard high above the hilltops. Abangane Guest Lodge is the ideal gateway to the famous Kruger National Park. Three access gates are located nearby, the closest being the Phabeni Gate reachable within a leisurely 15 minute drive. The Blyde River Canyon with the famous God’s Window and other spectacular attractions are easily accessible from Abangane Lodge. All just a day trip away. Some of the best restaurants in the area are a short drive from the Lodge as well as a comprehensive, well equipped shopping centre a mere 2 km away. Discerning travelers will find quick access to most amenities and resources they may require. A wholesome continental or full English breakfast can be enjoyed in the Lodge dining room or on the open veranda. The abundant birdlife welcomes in the day as you plan your activities over freshly brewed coffee or tea. After a day of adventure and wonderment you are welcome to relax and enjoy a sundowner poolside, or relax under the gazebo in our tranquil surroundings. Should you not feel like dining out a delicious candlelight dinner could be prepared for you. This would be by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abangane Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing